We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at The Palms Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palms Hotel- Key West
Ranked #47 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 January 2008

We stayed at The Palms Hotel on White Street in Key West from January 9-11. Our stay was great! The rooms have everything you need, and given the age of the property, everything is well maintained. Most of the rooms also had direct pool access in addition to the main entry door. A continental breakfast bar was provided in the morning poolside.

The hotel staff gave us great recommendations on restaurants and excursions. They made reservations and called cabs for us and were extremely helpful. We had to check out in the morning but were not leaving until later in the day, so we needed somewhere to keep our bags. The staff kept all of them for us in the office, and let us use a bathroom for showering after our morning snorkel trip.

The location on White Street was easy to find and centrally located. If you don't feel like walking a few blocks to Duval Street, they have bikes you can rent on site.

I would definitely stay here again, primarily because the staff was so accommodating and pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank todcyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2007

We stayed in Suite 20, it is an attic-type room, the bathroom was very small and the celing was very pitched. We banged our head continuously.

However, the pool area and bar was great. They served a great continental breakfast which was included in the stay.

The location was good, only a few blocks from Duval Street but we had to drive to the beach. Rent mopeds, if possible, they get you around pretty quickly and easily. Parking was a bit of a problem though.

From what I have seen from the Palms Hotel website, there have been many new updates and furnishings!!

All in all, we really enjoyed Key West and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: April 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Take_me_away7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

I was embarrassed that I brought 4 friends here, and we paid a healthy amount of money ($150 per night) for rooms that were dirty, old, and had paper thin walls where you were subjected to everything going on in your neighbors rooms on all sides. There is an old part of the property and a newer part located over by the pool. While they will tell you the older portion is quaint and historic, it is filled with bugs and the floorboards are broken. The ceiling was collapsing in the first room we checked into and there were chunks of the plaster from the ceiling sitting on our bedspread. There was a hair in the bed when we pulled the bedspread down, and the rug was an indoor/outdoor - the type used at a mini golf course. The rug was also soaken wet and stunk of mildew. We wanted to check out of the hotel but all else was booked in Key West as far as we could determine. The only reason we attempted to stay here to begin with was in an effort to save some $ as our friends were budget-conscious. We normally stay at the Westin, the Inn at Key West, and wanted to try the Hyatt. Never again will we opt for a Key West Bed & Breakfast where there is no way of knowing what the rooms look like, smell like and what is lurking inside! Everything felt dirty .We wouldn't cover ourselves with the bedspread, because it stunk. We spoke with the General Manager who said they are "thinking" of renovating the "old" portion of the property. We felt like we were robbed of $150 per night and then tortured by having to sleep in filth. Finally, they do not clean the rooms, they throw you new towels, but do not change the bedding. Absolutely Awful!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank alaineyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2007

Stayed at The Palms March 5th, 6th, and 7th.
The hotel does not look like the picture on the pamphlet, or online.
Check in was pretty easy, rooms need a remodeling, showers were pitiful, no pressure, and we needed instructions on which way to turn the dial to get hot water. Floors very dirty, my socks were black on the bottoms. Staff was friendly and nice, only most speak Spanish.
If you like early morning coffee, bring your own coffeemaker, the continental breakfast is not available until 8 a.m. sharp. Only one toaster and people gather like buzzards waiting.
Pool was clean and just the right temperature.

This hotel is about 5 or 6 blocks from Duval, so there is ALOT of walking. We rented scooters the last day.

Also the hotel is under new management, so the prices were lower than when we booked, which they changed AFTER I mentioned it.

This is not somewhere I would have booked, we went with friends who booked it for us, they were traveling with a dog, so they were restricted to pet friendly hotels.

Stayed: March 2007
3  Thank mooselips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2006

If you are the type that only enjoys the ultra clean, modern room i.e.anal, stay away, you will ruin my stay! Sure the rooms are old, (I prefer historic), but the setting and ambiance is Key West charm.

The staff were fabulous, the complimentary breakfast unexpected. We felt our stay was a very good value. Check out the "packages" if you want to bike, sail and snorkel.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gatornairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2006

there were bed bugs....

with that said, i've heard that up to 11 employees a day are leaving key west due to hurricanes and who knows what else, and that there's en epidemic of bed bugs infesting the US for the first time in ages. please note that bed bugs aren't due to uncleanliness but are brought in from international travelers, which key west sees a lot of. a lot of these reports have come up in similar tourist cities, like new york.

i'm sure that the palms will do it's job to clean up. it has been a great hotel for years. family and friends from all over have stayed there for their reasonable prices and cute surroundings. the distance from the duval crawlers is perfect and service is always friendly.

i feel it was my duty to report this because it is a terrible experience but i want to also point out that the hotel staff handled it correctly and appreciated the notice. i trust that with the proper spraying and cleaning, this hotel should be back to normal soon. just call before you book.

Stayed: September 2006
5  Thank ladyspryte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2006

I wish I'd had a computer nearby before I reserved a room at the Palms. I did like being out of the hubbub of Duval street, and the ability to rent bikes at the hotel was great. Otherwise, the hotel was a great disappointment. The clerk sounded great on the phone, and told us that the rooms were "beautifu!" - I'm sorry to say I couldn't agree. We were four - two children and two adults and the room was woefully tiny. The sheets barely fit the beds, and the bathroom was microscopic. Nothing felt really clean to me. Even the pool water did not have that clean feeling, and the place itself seemed rundown overall, the peeling paint on the building and stairs and dead plants hanging all around the pool area contributing to that feeling. My husband loved all the nice folks we met around the pool, but that couldn't overcome for me the generally dirty and rundown appearance of the place. The rate was very reasonable, so if you must stay, be sure to avoid the building in the back by the pool. And don't expect much!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yesyesyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.7 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#23 of 77 in Key West
1,614 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#18 of 77 in Key West
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Azul Key West
Azul Key West
#43 of 77 in Key West
536 reviews
0.4 mi away
NYAH Key West
NYAH Key West
#24 of 77 in Key West
1,561 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel- Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel- Key West

Address: 820 White St, Key West, FL 33040-7157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £130 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Hotel- Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms Hotel is the perfect hybrid of a quaint historically built guesthouse with all the amenities of a modern hotel in the historic district of Key West, 8 short blocks to Duval. Complimentary breakfast, seasonally heated pool, WI-FI property wide, guest computer, bicycle rental ($), BBQ picnic spot and lounge areas around the porches of the property. Concierge service is available to plan your Key West adventures and activities. Will you be here for a special event? Let us know and we can make your event even more memorable. Each of our guest rooms is equipped with a TV, telephone, individually controlled air conditioner and ceiling fans. Children and pets are welcome. IMPORTANT NOTE: Our front desk is open form 8am -10 pm. If you are going to be arriving after 10pm please contact us to make special arrangements for your arrival. Our after hours late check-in/emergency contact number is: 305.293.9815 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Palms Hotel- Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel- Key West Hotel Key West
Palms Hotel Key West
The Palms Hotel- Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing