We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty smell in the room but pet friendly :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palms Hotel- Key West
Ranked #46 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here because our original reservation at another hotel got cancelled due to a mix-up with another person with a similar name. Because we needed something pet friendly at the last minute we stayed at the Palms in Room #11. We had a nice comfy king size bed and the room was clean with a bit of a tropical feel. They seriously need to get an exhaust fan in the bathroom, the room smelled musty the entire four days we were there. After you take a shower the room stays humid. We hung up things that got wet and they never dried. We opened the bathroom window to help air it out whenever we were in the room. We heard the footsteps of the people above us too. The room next door was being worked on the entire time as well, the workers are not very considerate of other guests - in addition to the work noise, they were talking loudly. Breakfast was OK - just a simple continental style. The pool was OK - needs cleaned or painted at the one end and it had cracked tiles. The buildings in general look a little tired. The office lady was not overly friendly, she just did her job. I would not plan to go there again - only as a last resort.

Room Tip: Pet friendly if you need something in the lower Key West area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joywampler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

Enjoyed our stay,love the birds too.The pool was refreshing, breakfast was awesome. Beds were comfortable .Nice and quite location but close enough to Duval St.we will definitely stay there again. we may go back again sometime this year
.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onlyyoujesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel has about 35 rooms that was probably originally 2 homes. Located in a residential area, which has other inns too is about 1/2 mile from Duval St. Key West is a safe island so walking at night isn't an issue. We booked the smallest room, which is small but it had it's own bathroom which is a requirement for us. Frankly, we are out most of the day and night, so we just need a place to crash. Staff is very friendly and includes continental breakfast. If I had to do it again, I may choose a closer hotel but the reasonable rates at Palms will entice me to return.

Room Tip: When booking make sure the room has a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Palms. We like the location and the reviews seemed good. Unfortunately, the hotel was neither quaint, charming, well-situated, or quiet, comfortable or very clean. Any of these would have helped redeem the place. The breakfast seemed to come directly from Costco; the room was not very clean or well kept, the bed and especially the pillow not comfortable. I am making it sound horrible, which is a little unfair, because I have stayed in far worse hotels. In truth the managers were very nice and helpful, and helped us change rooms because ours was too noisy. The upper floor was nicer than the first floor. The rooms were private, though not quiet, and the expectation is that if you want quiet either 1) don't go to Key West or 2) crank up the AC and let that drown out the outside noise. The location was OK once we rented bikes, but not close enough for walking. The price was high for us, but moderate for Key West which was one of the reasons we chose the place. I would say that if you stay here, be aware that you are getting basic and safe lodging, you will get the real Key West experience....and bring your own pillow.

Room Tip: Pool side will be noisy, the upper floor seemed better than the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidwestMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Our first impression of the Palms was positive, an attractive colonial style home with plenty of character. I parked illegally and asked the guy in reception where he might suggest I park. He told me to leave it where it was in a No Unauthorised Parking bay which I did. He assured me it would be fine, and it was. So far so good. We checked in and Philip, one of the managers mentioned that the room we had booked was quite small. "So give us a larger one", I suggested but was told that there were none available. So up to the 2nd floor and yes, the room was small but bearable. It was clean with a window a/c. The bathroom was also small but functional. We were at the front of the building and enoyed sitting on the porch with a cold beer just watching the activites below. The pool was great but soon filled up with a bunch of about a dozen college folks who started on working their way through their suitcases of beer. Things got a bit boisterous but it was harmless fun. We were pleased NOT to have a poolside room as we expected it would be noisy later. And it was, but not as we expected....... We returned to our room early evening, the room adjacent had a connecting door and it was clear the couple in there were at it like crazy things. We had to endure every last scream and gasp. But this is Key West and we were there for some fun too so we walked to Duvall and partied until midnight ( we had a long drive down) and returned to the Palms. The bed must have had a few three hundred pounders in it before us and it sagged badly in the middle. Also the a/c was right next to my ear so earplugs to the rescue, I thought. About three a.m. the dynamic duo next door decided to have a raging row, so bad that the police were called and, credit to the hotel management, they were finally slung out. Peace at last even though it was 5 a.m. by now. Breakfast by the pool was enjoyable and the conversation focussed on the night's events as others had been affected by the screaming and shouting. I spoke to the manager after breakfast about the disturbing racket. She was most apologetic and gave us a partial refund for the inconvenience. The following night there was another disturbance in the office area which was only mildly disturbing in comparison. The hotel management dealt with these issues as best they could and we were sympathetic to the challenges they faced with dysfunctional guests. We would definitely go back to the Palms, if only for the entertainment!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

If you are going to stay there... Don't, whatever you do, let them put you in the "suite". I wasn't expecting a super luxurious place, and I did book at the last minute so I probably deserved what I got. But the suite feels like its situated in grand central station. Everyone has to pass your room on one of three sides to get to their own room. If they wish to avoid negative reviews, they would do better to never book that room.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keyslorenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Palms the second week of May. Quaint B&B in a quiet residential area. We were there for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. The pool was clean and inviting. The room was clean and spacious, for us, and the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We use bicycles to travel around town the three days we were there and had a great time, even when we got lost a couple of times. The locals were very helpful to get us back on course. It is a older home but maintained very well. My wife and I do not like to stay at "Cookie Cutter" hotels. We like to experience the local flare and the Palms was great. Thanks to all the staff for providing a great experience for our first trip to Key West.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the front rooms by White Street and had no problems with street noise, after bic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivingDuo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#51 of 77 in Key West
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#32 of 77 in Key West
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
1,008 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
0.6 mi away
Heron House
Heron House
#56 of 77 in Key West
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel- Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel- Key West

Address: 820 White St, Key West, FL 33040-7157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £138 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Hotel- Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms Hotel is the perfect hybrid of a quaint historically built guesthouse with all the amenities of a modern hotel in the historic district of Key West, 8 short blocks to Duval. Complimentary breakfast, seasonally heated pool, WI-FI property wide, guest computer, bicycle rental ($), BBQ picnic spot and lounge areas around the porches of the property. Concierge service is available to plan your Key West adventures and activities. Will you be here for a special event? Let us know and we can make your event even more memorable. Each of our guest rooms is equipped with a TV, telephone, individually controlled air conditioner and ceiling fans. Children and pets are welcome. IMPORTANT NOTE: Our front desk is open form 8am -10 pm. If you are going to be arriving after 10pm please contact us to make special arrangements for your arrival. Our after hours late check-in/emergency contact number is: 305.293.9815 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Palms Hotel- Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel- Key West Hotel Key West
Palms Hotel Key West
The Palms Hotel- Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing