We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean well lit place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palms Hotel- Key West
Ranked #49 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A clean well lit place”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Palms is not the best place to stay in KW, but it is also not the worst. It is in the "Quaint and Quirky" mode of place. Friendly staff, a clean room, and a good continental breakfast. All was quiet at night and the pool was well maintained. If I were going to KW again, (and I'd like to) I would do some research and upgrade to a nicer place. But, all in all, this is not a bad place for a short stay. Just not above average. I should mention that on our last day we needed a taxi for the airport very early. We asked for a wake up call that never came. Luckily we set an alarm clock in the room as a fail safe measure. It worked.

Room Tip: The rooms along the pool seemed a bit nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    223
    121
    41
    33
See reviews for
136
250
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed for first time at Palms Hotel in October 2013. We have traveled to key west 5 times prior and stayed at different places all over the island. The Palms exceeded expectations! Cozy and quaint, the atmosphere and location makes you feel like you like a key west local. Breakfast in the mornings was AWESOME with lots of variety and very fresh fruit. Although our queen room was cozy and not a lot of storage, the island breezes, beautiful grounds and the French door overlooking the pool more than compensated. Highly recommend this hotel to future vacationers and will most likely return to The Palms Hotel ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpilck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

It is not a modern hotel by any means and the rooms are on the small side but value for money it is pretty good. It is a normal room, nothing fancy. We were there at low season so we had the pool all to ourselves which was nice. They also have birds, which is strange. We did not have breakfast as we had to leave very early before they served it so I cannot comment on it. I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Atalanta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We used to stay here 3 years ago and simply loved this hotel. Remembering our experience from previous visit, we decided to stay here again - and were amazed how much a hotel can change in couple years with bad management! All rooms had musty smell in them, there was some chunks of dust/dirt on the floor in our room and bathroom, and the worst thing - pillows were dirty and smelling really bad! And the bed cover was dirty with some stains.
Breakfast used to include belgian waffles, but not anymore. But the breakfast still included lots of things, so it wasn't that bad. However, they were having renovations, and the man doing renovations was extremely rude with hotel guests and the rest of staff. Horrible impressions from the visit. Would not recommend!
That's why early in the morning with switched to Azul - an amazing hotel closer to Duval and with great management, all surprisingly for the same price as at the Palms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalms, General Manager at The Palms Hotel- Key West, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
It’s never a good time to have to do renovations to a property and stay open at the same time. When these guests stayed with us, it had just finished more extreme rain that we had had over the past few months. I apologize if the person that was doing the renovation was less than pleasant. I can only imagine that with the weather as it was and the outdoor work that we had been trying in vain to get done in between the rain that we were having during that time, the person’s demeanor may have not been the best due to the circumstances. For that we apologize.

As to the bedding, the week before Christmas we got rid of the current pictured top spread for a 3rd top designer white sheet (washed and cleaned after each check-out) and the week after changed the middle blanket to a white lux-lite blanket that are becoming standards of most modern hotels. Pictures soon to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed here over Labor Day Weekend. It was a mile walk to Duval Street but there are shops and restaurants along the way. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. There was breakfast by the pool every morning. They have bike rentals on site. All around great place for a great price (and it's dog friendly)!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abarnett118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My wife and i and our 10 year old Sheltie recently stayed at The Palms for 5 nights while visiting our son in Key West.
The room was just what we needed and the staff, especially Emily, the manager, Dianna, and Ben were superb. Emily made me laugh many a time during our stay and went out of her way to make sure our stay was enjoyable.
Parking was never a problem the whole time. We either parked out front on the street or around back in the lot they have there.
Will definitely think about The Palms as a place to stay the next time we visit Key West.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rustykelly1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The room was good just a little too far from Duval. Seemed clean and relaxing. Cound use a little paint the hotel condition doesn't seem as good as my previous say, but couldn't turn down the good deal on Labor Day weekend. Very friendly staff made the stay pleasent and the breakfast hit the spot and had a large variety of breads, juices and muffins.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
771 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#32 of 77 in Key West
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Authors Key West Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#51 of 77 in Key West
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
NYAH Key West
NYAH Key West
#23 of 77 in Key West
1,468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#22 of 51 in Key West
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel- Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel- Key West

Property: The Palms Hotel- Key West
Address: 820 White St, Key West, FL 33040-7157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Hotel- Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms Hotel is the perfect hybrid of a quaint historically built guesthouse with all the amenities of a modern hotel in the historic district of Key West, 8 short blocks to Duval. Complimentary breakfast, seasonally heated pool, WI-FI property wide, guest computer, bicycle rental ($), BBQ picnic spot and lounge areas around the porches of the property. Concierge service is available to plan your Key West adventures and activities. Will you be here for a special event? Let us know and we can make your event even more memorable. Each of our guest rooms is equipped with a TV, telephone, individually controlled air conditioner and ceiling fans. Children and pets are welcome. IMPORTANT NOTE: Our front desk is open form 8am -10 pm. If you are going to be arriving after 10pm please contact us to make special arrangements for your arrival. Our after hours late check-in/emergency contact number is: 305.293.9815 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palms Hotel- Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel- Key West Hotel Key West
Palms Hotel Key West
The Palms Hotel- Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing