We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palms Hotel- Key West
Ranked #47 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Great location in Old Town Key West. Ride your bike or rent one from motel to all the attractions around town. Clean rooms with breakfast from 8-11 AM. Usually you aren't in the Keys to hang out in your room so the room size didn't matter. Lots of drawer space and if you need a small fridge the office will provide one. The staff is friendly and helpful. The pool was clean and the porch chairs were cleaned too during our stay in this quiet neighborhood

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were a party of 7 adults who chose to stay at The Palms for 4 nights. We booked 2 of their "suites". One of the suites slept 3. It was a bedroom with an adjacent room - a small kitchenette with a twin sofa bed thrown in. The only entry to the kitchenette was through the bedroom. The bathroom was off the bedroom. Not a very convenient set up. Even worse was our other "suite" - The Turret Suite. You entered a tiny room with a queen sofa bed. The kitchen area was a microwave on top of a small fridge under the stairs. The bathroom was off this main postage stamp sized room. The ships ladder up to the turret bedroom was a rickety old ladder which literally had rungs missing on the railing. Hardly safe. We asked for a new room and were given the attic "suite". Watch your head! Dark, cramped, old, dank - I could go on and on. The blinds were broken so no natural light. The main bedroom has an AC unit as a headboard. The furniture isnt fit for a yard sale. The toilet wouldn't flush. When asked to get it fixed the response from the employee was "Of course." but if looks could kill...Once fixed it wouldn't stop running. Not once did we get maid service in this attic Hell hole. You would think for $400/night you would at least get clean towels daily. They describe the hotel on their website as "Luxury in the heart of historic Key West". We describe it as "A Pricey Dump in the heart of historic Key West".

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank wally007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at The Palms. It is a really good place if you want to explore and see Old Town. The staff was great. Breakfast by the pool was a good way to start the day. So nice to sit on the porch and relax. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatetalks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed with a friend in early March for several nights. The staff were lovely and very helpful and chatted with us each day. Breakfast is relaxed around the pool and bar area and hot and cold water are on tap all day. The bikes are good and we ambled around the island on these rather than try and drive anywhere.
The rooms were simple, a little small ( we moved the beds over to make it easier) and lacked suitcase space or hooks for towels etc. Full tv channels available. The air con is too loud to sleep with but we ran the ceiling fan all night instead. Bedding nice and fluffy but really squeaky bed was a little off putting.
Location is away from the main streets however you then need to walk 15-20mins to get to the tourist nightlife. Meal at square one restaurant was amazing. Prices were expensive as is all KW, but competitive which is how we choose the motel in the first place.
Our mixed reactions are based on one of the college groups who believed their music, voices and inebriated conversations were so good that everyone should hear them every day, even at 2 and 4am. If we could have muted them it would have been great. I would recommend checking off peak times if you want a more relaxed stay - but that would apply to the whole island.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank 2012JandBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We are on a 10 days trip to Florida, and book the hotels we stay just shortly before we arrive to keep as flexible us possible. Yesterday I made a big mistake and typed in the wrong arrival date, when we actually arrived our room was reserved for the 24.03. and not for the 2nd. The manager was the most helpful person I have ever met, he arranged everything for me to use his phone and computer to cancel the existing order and he gave me his last available room - we were so so lucky. We are very thankful for this and can recommend this hotel for everybody arriving here in key west. The location and the facilities are great and the staff is the best I have ever experienced.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Have mixed feelings about this hotel. Very pricey for what we got, but Key West is expensive in general. Stayed in room with two double beds, beds OK, but room was very small, hardly any place to move or put suitcases. Extremely noisy airconditioning unit. Small bathroom, but good shower. Nice pool area just outside our room. Breakfast was OK, standard bagles, cream cheese, coffee and fruit. Served outside in the pool area, very few tables. Although we had our breakfast immediately it started, we had to sit by the bar. No parking designated to hotel guests. We were lucky and got the last available space on the street. About 20 min walk to Duval Street. Don't think we would pick this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaEJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We stay for two nights we where 8 travelers in two rooms the staff was Friendly, bit trouble with parking, no places
Good Rental bikes
Good location close to the city
A lot of noise from neighbors ( not the hotels fault)
Good breakfast
Rooms are ok, not a lot of space but clean and ok

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Jens H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.7 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#23 of 77 in Key West
1,614 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#18 of 77 in Key West
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Azul Key West
Azul Key West
#43 of 77 in Key West
536 reviews
0.4 mi away
NYAH Key West
NYAH Key West
#24 of 77 in Key West
1,561 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel- Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel- Key West

Address: 820 White St, Key West, FL 33040-7157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £130 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Hotel- Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms Hotel is the perfect hybrid of a quaint historically built guesthouse with all the amenities of a modern hotel in the historic district of Key West, 8 short blocks to Duval. Complimentary breakfast, seasonally heated pool, WI-FI property wide, guest computer, bicycle rental ($), BBQ picnic spot and lounge areas around the porches of the property. Concierge service is available to plan your Key West adventures and activities. Will you be here for a special event? Let us know and we can make your event even more memorable. Each of our guest rooms is equipped with a TV, telephone, individually controlled air conditioner and ceiling fans. Children and pets are welcome. IMPORTANT NOTE: Our front desk is open form 8am -10 pm. If you are going to be arriving after 10pm please contact us to make special arrangements for your arrival. Our after hours late check-in/emergency contact number is: 305.293.9815 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Palms Hotel- Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel- Key West Hotel Key West
Palms Hotel Key West
The Palms Hotel- Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing