We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad food, couldn't finish it”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Gelato on Duval

Gelato on Duval
Ranked #24 of 31 Dessert in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Pizza, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Glendale, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very bad food, couldn't finish it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Our vacationing family was walking down duval street looking for a place to enjoy a light dinner and happened upon this cute little place that looked quite good. We ordered shawarma, spinach wrap, pizza, cappuccino & hot chocolate. Let's begin with the edible-the pizza was mediocre. The shawarma did not have any filling in the last 2-3 inches of the sandwich. The hot chocolate was not chocolate-it was really just warm milk that we couldn't finish. The spinach wrap I couldn't eat at all. The greens were mushy, yet chewy, and it didn't really taste like anything at all. There was also a giant coffee spill when we entered that remained when we left. Perhaps there gelato is good, but I simply could not give them another chance with our business. I would not return, nor recommend this place & I hope that they can drastically improve their food quality in order to stay in business.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    24
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Yummy!! Delicious hot pizza, creamy Key Lime torte plus fresh crepes, wraps, gelato, dessert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

My boyfriend and I are on our first ever trip to Key West. We have been here for 6 days already and have walked by this storefront dozens of times already because we thought it was only a gelato place. Tonight we were on a "key lime pie" hunt. We had walked so long and far and we saw the key lime pie in the case. We stepped inside the store and were so pleasantly surprised to find that they offered a whole host of different foods! We realized that we were hungrier than just pie and we ended up buying hot, fresh slices of pizza (made with the toppings we chose) and then topped it off with a slice of key lime pie and a key lime torte. The menu features breakfast items too- breakfast sandwiches and freshly made crepes. Other items on the menu are wraps of all kinds. Desserts too. The restaurant is way larger than it appears, it is deep, goes all the way back, and it has plenty of comfy seating (cushioned settees and tables for two) along the side and an amazing larger seating area in the back, complete with wide screen television. This would be a great place for a family with hungry kids to come or those late night folks who are bar-crawling and need some sustenance for the journey. Great prices. When we were there, we had the whole place to ourselves. Fascinating conversation with the brand new owner and his friendly, interested staff. We have 6 more days here and we will return to try out the breakfast items and the other food. While you are in Key West, check this place out! It is hidden quiet gem in the midst of the marvel of Duval Street.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Best crepes in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I came with my girlfriend and had a Nutella crepe . We both really loved the crepe and coffee con leche. Friendly stuff ..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanelias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MECCA of KEY WEST! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

If you ever get to visit Key West, Fl this is the MUST visit spot for the best breakfast in town, for incredibly delicious sandwiches or yummy gelatos!!

Exclusive service... The staff knows how make you feel special, especially Bob:)

Helpful?
1 Thank Arslan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for a bagel fix”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Long night, rough morning, grab a bagel sandwich here. You won't be disappointed. Oh yeah, and tons of gelato. Pick your poison.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 282bens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gelato on Duval also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Gelato on Duval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing