We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop in Key West!!”

Key West Firehouse Museum
Ranked #31 of 180 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum dedicated to the history of fire fighting in the Florida Keys
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We happened to walk past the museum while exploring the island on our first day in Key West. They were closed for the day so we decided to come back the next day. So glad we did!! We learned a lot of history and interesting facts about the firehouse. The guys were great and had some funny stories to go along with the tour. We even got a discount for being first responders. We will definitely be back to support the museum!!

Thank Sweeneygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerhose3, Director of Operations at Key West Firehouse Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thanks for making the special effort to tour our museum. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we're glad you enjoyed the tour. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 180 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband is a firefighter so he wanted to stop at this museum while we were in Key West on a cruise. Not only did he love it but I was also entertained! Plenty of great Key West history and to hear some of the stories from a former fire chief was awesome. Everyone should put this on their "must do list" for Key West!

Thank HHIBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerhose3, Director of Operations at Key West Firehouse Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for the great review. We really enjoyed showing you around the museum. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were rained out for a day our most recent vacation to our beloved Key West and having seen the aquarium and drank enough for a day we were looking for something to do. The Key West Firehouse Museum was a fantastic museum in a real historic firehouse. The staff were beyond kind and informative and gave us a personal tour of the museum, complete with a picture of my husband and I on the vintage firehouse. This is a great stop for anyone looking to get out of the sun or fill a rainy day... excellent for kids as well!

Thank Jlizzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerhose3, Director of Operations at Key West Firehouse Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thanks for your kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to visit and review the museum. We also hope to see you again. It was a pleasure showing you around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

wao !! the original key west fire house.big double barn doors that tells the story .horse carriage and run by volunteers.they were paid with a type of coupon or paper credit for the firemen to spend on their needs.

Thank milagros148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerhose3, Director of Operations at Key West Firehouse Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thanks?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Been to this museum a couple of times. Rich, Alex & John did a great job showing up around and explaining the local history of firefighting in Key West.

Great displays of apparatus, equipment and sleeping quarters. Make sure to buy a t-shirt on the way out to support this non profit museum.

Way to keep the history alive!!

Thank 42fireball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerhose3, Director of Operations at Key West Firehouse Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thanks for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Key West Firehouse Museum also viewed

 

Been to Key West Firehouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing