We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hour”
Review of Turtle Kraals

Turtle Kraals
Ranked #134 of 459 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Authentic Key West Seafood and Sunset Restaurant, along the Waterfront. With Turtle Races every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 7pm, the only cevicheria in Key West and a Cuban/Caribbean/Family-inspired menu with many items to share, Turtle Kraals exudes Key West charm. Enjoy the indoor 360-degree bar or catch a spectacular sunset from our infamous Tower Bar, overlooking Historic Key West Bight. Had a great day fishing? We'll cook your catch (fillets only please) for you! In the mood for a fun activity? Try your hand at our complimentary bocce courts.
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our waitress Jen was awesome. We had 9 total with kids and she was so accommodating. Great with the kids on taking their orders and making sure their drinks were refilled in a timely manner. We sat at two tables in the bar area (we wanted air conditioning) and had a blast. We were there early enough to benefit from happy hour and thoroughly enjoyed it. Those that partook at our table said the raw oysters were great, cold and meaty. I really enjoyed the guacamole. Bucket of ribs was a lot and tasty. My son had their homemade meat pies, he loved them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mom2abc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeyWestMgr, Manager at Turtle Kraals, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Kids are the toughest critics!! Glad they enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,055 - 1,059 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We had a party of 4. 2 adults and 2 children. The kids both got fish and chips. My husband got the fried conch. I had the key west ceviche. The ceviche was good but a very very small portion. Not worth the price. All the fried food taste like old grease. We waited for 10 minutes before a server even approach our table. You never brought me a water that i asked work twice, and he never offered to refill a drinks. We had you flag him down to get our check. not that he was busy he was sitting on a service station watching the sunset goofing off with other servers. Needless to say we will not be back!

Thank lisafoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeyWestMgr, Manager at Turtle Kraals, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Sorry for your bad experience hope you rethink coming back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This restaurant is right on the dock so you get a view of the water and the boats on the marina. My friends and I sat upstairs looking over the water but downstairs there is ample seating as well. We were served by Nick who was friendly and remembered us when we came in a couple of days later. One of the days we ate food and everyone was happy with their order. I had a light chicken salad on arepas (Venezuelan corn cakes), another friend had conch chowder, another had the nachos (which were cool because it was more like a piping hot dip with the chips to dip on the side. Everything about this place was 100%

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ctyankee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeyWestMgr, Manager at Turtle Kraals, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thanks I haven't had a 100% since grade school!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Great drinks and Latin inspired dishes! The cevichi was delish! Wonderful service as well! We sat outside and had a wonderful view of the bay.

Thank beeham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeyWestMgr, Manager at Turtle Kraals, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

After a hot day it was a great place to cool off and have a meal. It is not a fancy place, but the food was excellent. Prices were reasonable and it was a good place to eat with a family.

Thank SusannaCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeyWestMgr, Manager at Turtle Kraals, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

No we are not a fancy place, but our food sure is! Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turtle Kraals also viewed

 

Been to Turtle Kraals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing