We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach side dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salute! On The Beach

Salute! On The Beach
Ranked #58 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dacula, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beach side dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had dinner and lunch here during our stay in Key West. Each meal was delicious and served with care. The lasagna is excellent! The restaurant sits across the sidewalk from the beach and a volleyball court. It was fun to watch a volleyball game while dining. The atmosphere is relaxing and fun and the food is excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarlaE38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    768
    475
    118
    37
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lunch here was gr8. Go early to get a seaside seat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Service folks are gr8 here. Salads are excellent. The beach front ocean view is casual & fun to be part of. Shade and an ocean breeze enhanced our experience...along w the food and company. U will really feel like u r on vacation here. The restaurant is owned by Blue Heaven - food is very different as is atmosphere. No chickens overhead or running across my feet! Yahoo!!

Helpful?
Thank lbruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgartown, MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“"We'd go back in a heartbeat!"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The concierege at our B & B recommended it and a local fishing guide seconded it. Many times a waterfront restaurant is a tourist trap and does not live up to expectations but Salute is the exception. Right on Smathers Beach the restaurant offers a great vibe as well as great food to match. My wife and friends all had grilled Yellowtail and loved it while I opted for the tenderloin. It was an outstanding piece of beef, one of the best I've ever had. Although very busy, service was even and acceptable. Value was good!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot at Higgs Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went into Salute for lunch when spending the day on Higgs beach expecting the usual of sandwiches and salads. We were pleasantly surprised by the fresh seafood and wonderful preparations of the food here, where you can eat on the covered patio right on the beach.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank cah234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ocean side dining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great place for lunch or dinner. Located right on the beach with views of the ocean. Food is great, nice selection of wine. Sometimes there is entertainment, which I don't really think they need. Always liked going there for the view (when you sit outside) and the breeze and the quietness. Was there last month and there was loud music, which took away from the calm dining experience we had before. It was too loud and interfered with our dining experience. Noticed other guests not loving the loud music even though it was on the parking lot side of building. We had to walk through group of people right in front of band just to get to hostess. Maybe a more mellow music group would be better suited for a nicer dining experience. I would like to hear the conversation at my table more clearly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patsysgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salute! On The Beach also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Salute! On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing