We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food and Service in Key West and Dog Friendly, too A”
Review of Cafe Sole

Cafe Sole
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Sole is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Frances St.
Description: Cafe Sole has captured the hearts and palates of locals and visitors lucky enough to discover this culinary gem off the beaten path. By combining his French mastery of sauces with fresh locally caught seafood, John has created a menu unlike any on the island, where every dish is bursting with indescribable flavors. Mutton snapper in pesto and champagne, yellowtail in a beurre blanc of lobster or a rare hog snapper with red pepper zabaglione top a list of nightly specials. As for the classics, the Duck a L'Orange, Rack of Lamb with herb de Province and Lobster Bouillaise are as authentic as you will find this side of Paris. Chef Correa combines the best of both of his worlds, European and Caribbean to win the People's Choice and Best Entree awards at a recent Master Chefs Classic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Food and Service in Key West and Dog Friendly, too A”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I love this restaurant. I have a dog and am a vegetarian. Annabelle went right under my seat and I was handed a separate vegetarian menu. I had gazpacho, pasta with asparagus and portobello and Quattro dessert. Service was lovely. Very pleasant and attentive waiters. Friendly place. I found out they have another restaurant Bistro Sole on White Street and will try that on my next trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mgreen464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    222
    96
    61
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fulham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were recommended this restaurant from our hotel and we were not disappointed. The food was delicious and the service was super quick. Lovely little restaurant in Key West.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cazkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal in Key West”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Been coming here for years and never disappoints. Great atmosphere and amazing food. MUST get the house favorite - Hogfish snapper sole. Melts in your mouth. For dessert get the key lime pie. Yes, you're in Key West so there is a lot of it around but none compares. This key lime pie has a chantilly cream that makes it out of this world. Every time we go to Key West we visit and have this meal and it gets better every time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JillM414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must for your list!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our concierge recommended this place and told us to order their famous Hogfish. We ended up sitting next to a couple who was eating there for their second time on their trip. The hogfish was one of the best dishes I've ever eaten. Rich, succulent, delicious. The service was perfect. There was a fun surprise on the roof of the restaurant. My boyfriend and I are convinced we will never have another Key Lime Pie as delicious as theirs. You must eat here! It's pricey but worth it for a romantic and delicious dinner.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection and Execution”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Soups are exceptional, the Carpaccio exquisite, Ribeye, Fish, Steak and Scallops superb. There was a satisfied customer at every seat of our Party of 5. You couldn't ask for a better crafted meal. The staff was exceptional, perfect service, outstanding experience. Every bite of every piece of the meal melted in your mouth. Our server Eric was excellent at pairing the wines and outstanding with his service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mkbpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Sole also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Cafe Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing