We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Be”
Review of New Orleans House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Orleans House
Ranked #52 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We just came back from our annual trip to the Fantasy Fest in Key West and once more I am glad we stayed at the New Orleans House. The hotel is on Duval St close to everything. What is a definitely plus; no need for cabs. The room we stayed in (#24) was spacious, comfortable and clean. In addition, it has a full kitchen and access to the balcony and sun deck.
The staff couldn’t be friendlier. Neil, the manager, is fantastic. He always finds time for a conversation and makes you feel welcomed. Everyone is always smiling and goes out of their way to make you comfortable. We were there in the busiest time of the year, and despite the fact that the staff was working around the clock to make things happen, they were always available for any request or need.
Our room is directly above the night club (the one where things happen!), but it was not a problem at all. I couldn’t hear anything and had fabulous nights of sleep.
The hotel is a complex: a night club and a garden bar with a pool and hot tub. Everything is in the same place and with hot men everywhere.
The place is great and I can’t imagine staying anywhere else when in Key West.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

I was staying here for a business trip. I was very impressed with the beautiful complex and close access to everyting on Duvall. The employees were very friendly. By far, one of my best places I have ever stayed.

I look forward to going there again real soon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Spent the weekend in Key West, stayed at the New Orleans House. Right on Duval, center of the gay night life. Fun pool party on Saturday. It is the place to be if you want to party. The room was very comfortable, clean and cozy. Slept to 11 in the morning, have not slept in that late for ages. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have free parking, which is very important in key West. Looking forward to going back for another stay

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We came for a weekend. We initially booked a simple room with a private bath. However, the person that was there wanted to stay a few more days so instead of moving him to another room they just upgraded us to the loft next to it. I loved this room. I loved the pool and the pool party on Saturday. The breakfast out on the balcony in the morning (which is free) was fresh and very pleasant. Nice place to have a light breakfast on Duval while Key West awakes.

Room Tip: I loved the loft suite on the balcony. You can access it either from the front balcony or through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We have been to Key West 10 times, but had never stayed at New Orleans House/Bourbon Street. Always thought it would be too noisy, and too much going on with the club downstairs, but the room was quite a bit cheaper than Island House for a much bigger room, so we said, "What the heck?" Obviously the location is the BEST, by far, right in the middle of Duval. We called on a Tuesday night and flew down the next morning, arriving to check in early around noon. We were greeted at the front desk by Neil. What a great guy, very personable and friendly, he took us for a tour of the facility and showed us our room. We chose one toward the back of the complex that opened up to the sundeck above the pool. We figured if there was any noise from the club, this would be the best choice, and it was fantastic! We found there was a small problem with one of the doors, and Neil fixed it immediately. The room was immaculate, opened into a nice, large exercise room with great machines and weights. There is an entrance/exit to Duval, or if you want to go through the bar during open hours, you can do that too. We kinda liked that. There is alse a great entrance/exit to the side street (Petronia) that you can use if you want after hours. The staff was absolutely GREAT! Every morning we were greeted outside, usually by the pool by Kirk with a big smile. The pool and hot tub were amazing, by the way, thanks to Kirk. Awesome pool with waterfall, it's a great place to sun during the day.. Tim was always very helpful, assisting us with all our housekeeping needs. Hazel's Cantina is a great place by the pool to have a quick bite. Freshly cooked food is served all day, and is VERY reasonable. He'll even bring it to you if you want to sit at the Garden Bar and eat. One day there was a pig roast and one of us asked if he could serve chicken or fish. He fired up the fryer/grill, met our special request, and served it with a smile. T.J. & Wesley were both Awesome serving up not only the best drinks on the island, but also lots of information and loads of fun! You guys rock! When we were about to leave, our flight wasn't scheduled to leave until about 5:00 pm. We were allowed to check out late, and spent most of the day at the complex so it was like our trip had an extra day. Upon calling our taxi to the airport, we waited outside for a long time. "Sparky" saw us waiting and told us to hop in his own car and he would take us. He drove us to the airport in his own vehicle! We certainly didn't want to leave, because we love it on the island so much. One day we plan to live here, but until we do, you can bet we will continue to come back to New Orleans House. Not only were we treated like royalty by all the staff, but we also left feeling like we had gained a bunch of new friends. That's what it's all about, isn't it? When on vacation, you want to feel like you are far away from your everyday routine, but you also want to feel like you are welcome, and surrounded by old friends. That's exactly what happened at New Orleans House. Big thanks to you all for everything, and helping to make this our BEST trip to "Bone Island" ever!!!!! Keith & Nelson, Nashville, Tennessee

Room Tip: You can make it what you want. If you want quieter, choose rooms toward the back, upstairs, like #2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KeithWilkerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I recently won a couple tickets to the Tropical Heat event in Key West. My friend from Chicago came down and we chose to stay at New Orlean House. After checking numerous places they offered the most price points and were very helpful via email with my many questions. They were up front in telling me which rooms would be near the bar and might be noisy. Due to limited availability because of this special event we ended up with one of the more economical rooms. Yes we could hear the music from the bars but it was not overbearing. We understood when we came here that was a part of the experience. The room was very nice and adequate and the staff was great. If you are looking for an upscale place where they will wait on you hand and foot and serve you a four course continental breakfast, this is not the place for you. In fact one morning when I went to enjoy the free continental breakfast, the first two raisin bagel I opened were moldy. I advised the manager and he quickly checked everything. He said they had a failure in the refrigerator and thought they had caught everything. We never had any other problems so I considered it as an isolated incident. There are some areas of the grounds that could use a little refurbishing but nothing that would hinder your enjoyment. If you want a place that is happening, fun and right in the thick of things, this is the place. We had a great time there and look forward to returning. They offer a lot of options with a pool and waterfall, hot tub, a tiki pool bar and two interior bars. The Bourbon Street boys frolic in the pool area during the day making it a fun place. I will admit one of them was getting a little irritating. We were sharing this with a gentleman at the bar only to find out he was the owner. We noticed a marked difference the next day. If you are looking for the classic Key West experience, this is the place to find it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank funintheflsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This was my first time to Key West. I loved the overall experience. There are many things to do, and the acceptance of this small island city was worth a return.

I have to admit that on my return visit, I will have to look for other accomodations. Location doesn't mean everything when I travel. Yes this hotel is centrally located on the main street, but this was not a place for rest. The club bounced all night, the bathroom was filthy, the beds seemed like they had been used by the hour, and the staff was the most unprofessional I have ever experienced for a gay owned establishment.

My only positive experience there was discussing my issues with a manager named Neil. He understood my concerns and tried to help me out. He was cordial, professional, and sincere. Unfortunately, his willingness to make me happy did not resolve the fact that I was staying in a dump.

I will return to Key West and I will enjoy the bars that are part of the New Orleans House complex; however, I will have to look elsewhere for accommodations. Accommodations which are adjoined to a club, bar, and glory hole wall do not meet my needs to rest and relax while on a vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southernglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewOrleansHouse, General Manager at New Orleans House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Thank you for your comments. We take all of our comments seriously and feedback like this is helpful in improving our property.

I am a little confused about your comments however. You say that you discussed your issues with me yet you were still unhappy. I make it a point to address every customer concern quickly and had I been made aware of this situation, I would have gone so far as to clean the bathroom myself. I would have also had a personal discussion with any employee at the guesthouse that you felt was unprofessional. We have been making improvements over the entire property over the last year and I have never had anyone refer to the property as a dump. I personally inspect rooms before a check in to ensure that it is ready for the next guest.

While there is little I can do about the noise, when taking a reservation, I try to ascertain the guests needs and place them in a room that suits their needs. I can't speak on this exact situation as I don't know what room you were in but perhaps you were on a budget and chose this room even after we advised you that it was one of our louder rooms? We do have rooms that are very quiet located on the backside of the property but it's possible they were already booked when you reserved. We do all we can to ensure that guests in our louder rooms are made aware of that when the room is actually booked. If we failed to do that in this instance, I sincerely apologize for that.

Finally, to try to assist you, I searched our records to find a person that stayed in July from Birmingham and I was not able to find anyone or I would have contacted you directly. Since I could not determine what room you were in or the circumstances of the situation, I'm also left with the possibility that this may be a fake review from a competitor. If so, shame on you for trying to hurt our reputation for your own gains.

Regardless, I've increased my room inspections and I will go over this review with my staff because whether or not this is a truthful review, I want to ensure that no guest ever feels this way on my property.

Thank you,

Neil Chamberlain
Guest House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#32 of 77 in Key West
477 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palms Hotel- Key West
The Palms Hotel- Key West
#46 of 77 in Key West
608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heron House
Heron House
#56 of 77 in Key West
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
1,010 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Habitation
L'Habitation
#49 of 77 in Key West
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans House

Address: 724 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-7463
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £105 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Orleans House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all male guesthouse on Duval Street. Part of the Bourbon Street Pub complex. Free breakfast, free happy hour, free gym, free wifi, free cover at the Bourbon Street Pub and the 801. Stay where you play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Orleans House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans House Hotel Key West
New Orleans House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing