We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll love this place!”
Review of New Orleans House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Orleans House
Ranked #53 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You'll love this place!”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I was here October 30-November 4. I stayed in room 11B. My room was just feet from Bourbon St Pub and the Garden Bar---so, if I accidently partied too much, I was still able to slip back to the room and get some quiet time. Once inside the room, I did not hear any music from the nightclub or the bar. The room was very quiet, and very safe. I always felt secure in the room. Who could ask for a better location?
The room was clean, comfortable, and fresh. Big relaxing bed, fridge, and microwave. Nice TV too (but, you're in Key West---Who watches TV?). The room itself gets a 10+
Tim is the housekeeper. He's charming, friendly, very funny, and works to make sure your room is everything that you want it to be. He's a total professional! Just wish they had him wear a little maid uniform. Ah, well, maybe next trip?
T.J. and Billy are the bartenders at the Garden Bar. What can I say about these guys? They remember your name, they remember your drink, and they are always upbeat and witty. They talk with you like they've known you forever. They make you want to keep coming back to the the Garden Bar (but then, why leave?).
Neil is the New Orleans House manager. He's constantly helping guests, yet is never too busy to talk to you. He's knowledgeable and personable. One of the best hotel managers I've ever delt with!
Summing up---Great room, fair price, excellent location, outstanding staff, pool, hot tub, palm trees, booze, boys, and more booze and boys. If you don't have fun here, it's your own fault!
Oh, if you're here during the day, you'll see their sexy maintenance man. If you're here during the night, you'll see their sexy barback.
One more thing---Neil, T.J., Billy, and Tim all deserve a raise, Joe!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blueonblue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    43
    21
    10
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
82
68
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The Guest House is in the middle of it all! Located above Bourbon St Pub, it houses clean rooms, a gym, Jacuzzi, pool, indoor and outdoor garden bar, sundecks, and free parking which is a must on the Island... and location, location, location! From the continental breakfast with a rack of bananas from the property, to the complimentary bucket of champagne from the owner, it was a get a way truly spent in paradise! Thanks to Joey, Neil, and Bob for the great memories! You know I'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We just came back from our annual trip to the Fantasy Fest in Key West and once more I am glad we stayed at the New Orleans House. The hotel is on Duval St close to everything. What is a definitely plus; no need for cabs. The room we stayed in (#24) was spacious, comfortable and clean. In addition, it has a full kitchen and access to the balcony and sun deck.
The staff couldn’t be friendlier. Neil, the manager, is fantastic. He always finds time for a conversation and makes you feel welcomed. Everyone is always smiling and goes out of their way to make you comfortable. We were there in the busiest time of the year, and despite the fact that the staff was working around the clock to make things happen, they were always available for any request or need.
Our room is directly above the night club (the one where things happen!), but it was not a problem at all. I couldn’t hear anything and had fabulous nights of sleep.
The hotel is a complex: a night club and a garden bar with a pool and hot tub. Everything is in the same place and with hot men everywhere.
The place is great and I can’t imagine staying anywhere else when in Key West.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton Manors, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I was staying here for a business trip. I was very impressed with the beautiful complex and close access to everyting on Duvall. The employees were very friendly. By far, one of my best places I have ever stayed.

I look forward to going there again real soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Spent the weekend in Key West, stayed at the New Orleans House. Right on Duval, center of the gay night life. Fun pool party on Saturday. It is the place to be if you want to party. The room was very comfortable, clean and cozy. Slept to 11 in the morning, have not slept in that late for ages. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have free parking, which is very important in key West. Looking forward to going back for another stay

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We came for a weekend. We initially booked a simple room with a private bath. However, the person that was there wanted to stay a few more days so instead of moving him to another room they just upgraded us to the loft next to it. I loved this room. I loved the pool and the pool party on Saturday. The breakfast out on the balcony in the morning (which is free) was fresh and very pleasant. Nice place to have a light breakfast on Duval while Key West awakes.

Room Tip: I loved the loft suite on the balcony. You can access it either from the front balcony or through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We have been to Key West 10 times, but had never stayed at New Orleans House/Bourbon Street. Always thought it would be too noisy, and too much going on with the club downstairs, but the room was quite a bit cheaper than Island House for a much bigger room, so we said, "What the heck?" Obviously the location is the BEST, by far, right in the middle of Duval. We called on a Tuesday night and flew down the next morning, arriving to check in early around noon. We were greeted at the front desk by Neil. What a great guy, very personable and friendly, he took us for a tour of the facility and showed us our room. We chose one toward the back of the complex that opened up to the sundeck above the pool. We figured if there was any noise from the club, this would be the best choice, and it was fantastic! We found there was a small problem with one of the doors, and Neil fixed it immediately. The room was immaculate, opened into a nice, large exercise room with great machines and weights. There is an entrance/exit to Duval, or if you want to go through the bar during open hours, you can do that too. We kinda liked that. There is alse a great entrance/exit to the side street (Petronia) that you can use if you want after hours. The staff was absolutely GREAT! Every morning we were greeted outside, usually by the pool by Kirk with a big smile. The pool and hot tub were amazing, by the way, thanks to Kirk. Awesome pool with waterfall, it's a great place to sun during the day.. Tim was always very helpful, assisting us with all our housekeeping needs. Hazel's Cantina is a great place by the pool to have a quick bite. Freshly cooked food is served all day, and is VERY reasonable. He'll even bring it to you if you want to sit at the Garden Bar and eat. One day there was a pig roast and one of us asked if he could serve chicken or fish. He fired up the fryer/grill, met our special request, and served it with a smile. T.J. & Wesley were both Awesome serving up not only the best drinks on the island, but also lots of information and loads of fun! You guys rock! When we were about to leave, our flight wasn't scheduled to leave until about 5:00 pm. We were allowed to check out late, and spent most of the day at the complex so it was like our trip had an extra day. Upon calling our taxi to the airport, we waited outside for a long time. "Sparky" saw us waiting and told us to hop in his own car and he would take us. He drove us to the airport in his own vehicle! We certainly didn't want to leave, because we love it on the island so much. One day we plan to live here, but until we do, you can bet we will continue to come back to New Orleans House. Not only were we treated like royalty by all the staff, but we also left feeling like we had gained a bunch of new friends. That's what it's all about, isn't it? When on vacation, you want to feel like you are far away from your everyday routine, but you also want to feel like you are welcome, and surrounded by old friends. That's exactly what happened at New Orleans House. Big thanks to you all for everything, and helping to make this our BEST trip to "Bone Island" ever!!!!! Keith & Nelson, Nashville, Tennessee

Room Tip: You can make it what you want. If you want quieter, choose rooms toward the back, upstairs, like #2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithWilkerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.3 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#21 of 51 in Key West
1,318 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Duval House
The Duval House
#42 of 77 in Key West
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NYAH Key West
NYAH Key West
#24 of 77 in Key West
1,427 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
1,473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#40 of 77 in Key West
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans House

Property: New Orleans House
Address: 724 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-7463
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Orleans House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all male guesthouse on Duval Street. Part of the Bourbon Street Pub complex. Free breakfast, free happy hour, free gym, free wifi, free cover at the Bourbon Street Pub and the 801. Stay where you play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your New Orleans House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans House Hotel Key West
New Orleans House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing