We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best time you'll ever have with your clothes off...or on!”
Review of New Orleans House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Orleans House
Ranked #52 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Our 4th time at New Orleans House, & it just keeps improving! We've tried Island House which is very nice, but just too far a walk from everything, especially going back late at night. You just can't beat the value at Orleans House, or the friendliest staff in town. You're in the center of everything here, and all the gay spots too. We love the pool bar & came there many nights even before we stayed here. It's 2 for 1 for everyone 'til 8pm, but free drinks from 5pm to 6:30 for guests! You will also save the cover charge for all shows at the complex while here. Neil the Mgr was as helpful as could be, as was Bob & all the staff. They are never too busy at any time to help you with whatever questions or help you may need. We even got hugs from the pool bartender as we left! It was "Bone-Island" weekend, WOW, beautiful sights everywhere =) We were thankful that the pool is now heated, (at least on the weekend, it felt a tad colder by Tues.)They said they're getting flat-screen TVs after New Years, but we never turned the TV on once. If you're watching TV here, then you are missing all that Keywest & this great complex has to offer!

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in late sometimes, I would suggest a rm upstairs as the pool bar music starts a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pianoflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

If you are planning a trip to Key West, this is the place to stay, the prices are completely reasonable, the place is clean, has a gym, pool and the staff is super-friendly and nice. The location was phenomenal, no need to cab it to go to Duval or anywhere really, it is centrally located and it was the best choice we made in Key West thus far. I recommend it highly! Thank you for everything, we will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grommetick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This was my 6th trip to Key West this year with 1 more planned...

The Good Stuff:
At around $150.00 per night it's reasonable for Key West.
Property offers safe parking across the street for a nominal fee.
Manager "Bob" greeted us in the parking lot, helped with bags, informed us of holiday happenings, was very pleasant/professional.
Maid service did a nice job each day cleaning/restocking the room.
Nice, clean, modern gym.
Free happy hour and continental breakfast adds to the value and socialness of the guest house.
Hardworking bartenders are friendly/fun. Did a better job of keeping the ladies out of the men only areas.

Areas that fell short/need help:
Pool was cold/unusable my entire stay! Addressed it twice with 2 different managers with no resolve. No one used the pool; it was obviously a problem???
The guy that swept up/cleaned the outdoor areas/decks did a horrible job. Condoms, cups, beer bottles, food/beverage spills left for days at a time.
Sun loungers are in terrible shape. Need to be thrown out or at least reupholstered.
Bed in room was squeaky and broken down.
Toilet in room had wrong size seat on it? If not careful things could get messy...
Hot water was scalding at times; would quickly get progressively hotter.
Small tube TV in room needs thrown out. Flat screens are inexpensive and really the standard now...
No adult/porn channels; again expected for this type of property.

Would I return to New Orleans House? Maybe; knowing what I know and with a cheep rate. However I'd have a hard time recommending it to a friend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bowman716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewOrleansHouse, General Manager at New Orleans House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I very much appreciate it.

First I would like to address the pool heat issue. We don't advertise that we heat our pool and we usually do not. With our waterfall, heating becomes extremely expensive as most heat is lost through the waterfall. We do normally heat the pool during our the winter months over the weekends. Though we are not in heating season yet, I did decide to turn on the pool heater this past weekend only to find out that we had a malfunctioning valve and I was not able to divert water through the heater. I did work on it for about 30 minutes trying to get the valve open but I was unsuccessful. I apologize for that but since we are not in the heating season yet, I did not consider it a repair that required an emergency service call.

The problem over the weekend was exasperated by someone taking it upon themselves to attempt to turn on the pool heater and instead, set our hot tub to the "pool" setting which is 20 degrees cooler than the hot tub should have been set to. Once this was brought to my attention, I corrected the setting and within 2 hours, the hot tub was back up to the correct temperature.

As for the cleaning issue, this does disturb me and I will take it up immediately with my cleaning crew. There is no excuse for those areas not being cleaned daily and this will be addressed.

I wish I knew what room you were in so I could investigate the bed and toilet seat issue. I will look through all the rooms and try to ascertain which rooms they are.

Our hot water lines run through our attic and our hot water heaters are on the far side of the property so many times, people think they are getting hot water when they are actually getting the water that was just hot from being in the attic. Eventually, the real hot water comes through which is obviously much hotter. I will check the temperature setting to make sure that it's not set to high. It sounds as if it may be. It should never feel scalding.

We have already purchased flat screens for every room and will begin installing them next week. Your comment was very timely!

We have been investigating putting an adult channel in every room however, with the new changes coming through with digital cable conversions that we are required to make, we have to wait until that transition is complete before we invest in a system. If we purchased an analog system, it would be obsolete in just a few months so we are forced to wait for the digital conversion and then we can get quotes on a system.

The lounge chairs are also very high on the priority list to be addressed. We have already gotten quotes on the replacement slings and we will be starting that project in the near future.

As a returning guest, I'm sure you've seen the improvements we have already made. We installed a gym, upgraded our linens and towels, replaced all the lamps, have replaced flooring in many rooms, upgraded our wifi, replaced all locks with a key card system, purchased an additional parking lot, as well as many other enhanced benefits such as the free happy hour we now offer. We are unable to complete every project at once but I can assure you that you will continue to make enhancements in the coming year. One thing I am trying to do is to keep our rates low. In order to do that, I need to pace myself with the improvements. Your feedback is helpful in letting me know which are the ones that need to be the highest priority. We are still the lowest priced male only guesthouse in Key West even though we offer the best location and the most parking. I want to be sure we can always offer a value to our guests.

If you have any other feedback, please feel free to call me at the guesthouse.

Neil Chamberlain
Guest House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Going to Gay Key West for a little R&R? Try the New Orleans House. We stayed in the apartment in the back, directly off the pool area....it had a full kitchen, big bathroom and a living room, 2 tv's, a microwave, and a full sized fridge. They also have rooms upstairs with balconies that overlook Duval street (great for people watching). Is it the Ritz? No, but if you want a good Key West experience at a good price, then you will want to try it!

The guesthouse is attached to the bourbon street pub which has a big inside bar with DJ and dancers that was packed almost every night, another outside pool bar was equally as crowded....nice place to stay and play, plus easy access to everything on Duval street! Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms overlooking Duval or the apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dechuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Unexpectedly disappointed! Arrived and was greeted by the day manager, very nice guy and he even gave us a personal tour of the property. We asked what beach would be good to go to and was immediately told directions! Thumbs up! After getting back from the beach it was time for a shower, problem started. The shower in our room11b was horrible, it spit out water at a rate of about 1 gallon every 3 minutes. Went to the person on duty and he went down with me to my room to check it out. His reply was that all maintenance guys where off and after he looked he said that yeah it’s not working properly. While he was looking at our shower he stated that they had a couple of rooms that were not booked (I started to pack our bags to be transferred). He then said I’ll make sure that you’ll have a chance to take a shower in the morning in one of those rooms. WTF?
My head started to spin around but immediately realized this afternoon manager had no intentions of moving us to a room with a working shower.
Next morning I explained to the same manager who checked us in what happened. He checked his logs and indeed did find out that we had a major problem with our shower but only apologized and said you should have been put in another room. I was so pissed off I didn’t even challenge him because I can get ugly and the management didn't even offer a discount and we had to take a shower the next morning at some friends hotel.
DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU EXPECT …………..I’ll shut up now.
thomasjhsd@sbcglobal.net

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thomasjhsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewOrleansHouse, General Manager at New Orleans House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

I am truly sorry for what has transpired.

I do recall our conversation and I was very concerned that you were not offered another room. The message left for me from my front desk clerk was that he offered another room and that you didn't want to switch rooms. Because of this discrepancy in the stories, I needed to talk to him as well to ascertain what the conversation was.

I spoke to him later that day and he told me that he actually went to the room with you, checked the shower himself, and determined that he could not fix it. He tells me he offered you another room and that you refused because you didn't want to move all of your belongings that were now unpacked. He explained that the adjoining room was available and even pointed to the door that connects the two rooms and that he could go upstairs and get the key for the pass through door and help you transfer your items but your response was that you were leaving in the morning and you didn't want to pack twice.

Finally, he said that you would be more than welcome to shower in another room as a final possible solution.

In this case, I believe my clerk felt that he had done everything possible to assist you. I am sorry if there was a misunderstanding between you and my desk clerk.

I would be happy to issue you a gift certificate for another night's stay with us. I want you to be able to spend a truly enjoyable night with us. Feel free to contact me at the guesthouse and I will be mail you out a gift certificate.

I sincerely hope you will take advantage of this and visit us again.

Neil Chamberlain
Guest House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This Guest House is perfect for a weekend get away or for an extended stay of several weeks. Great location on Duval within walking distance of all the popular attractions in Key West. As part of the Bourbon Street Complex, I find myself spending entire days and evenings without ever leaving the property. They have several bars, including an outdoor garden bar, 3 levels of sundecks, (clothing optional,) newly renovated rooms, jacuzzi, pool, free continental breakfast, a nice grill on the patio serving lunch and dinner, and a GREAT staff in both the guesthouse and bars. I would highly recommend New Orleans House for your Key West vacation, and have stayed there many times myself.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I was here October 30-November 4. I stayed in room 11B. My room was just feet from Bourbon St Pub and the Garden Bar---so, if I accidently partied too much, I was still able to slip back to the room and get some quiet time. Once inside the room, I did not hear any music from the nightclub or the bar. The room was very quiet, and very safe. I always felt secure in the room. Who could ask for a better location?
The room was clean, comfortable, and fresh. Big relaxing bed, fridge, and microwave. Nice TV too (but, you're in Key West---Who watches TV?). The room itself gets a 10+
Tim is the housekeeper. He's charming, friendly, very funny, and works to make sure your room is everything that you want it to be. He's a total professional! Just wish they had him wear a little maid uniform. Ah, well, maybe next trip?
T.J. and Billy are the bartenders at the Garden Bar. What can I say about these guys? They remember your name, they remember your drink, and they are always upbeat and witty. They talk with you like they've known you forever. They make you want to keep coming back to the the Garden Bar (but then, why leave?).
Neil is the New Orleans House manager. He's constantly helping guests, yet is never too busy to talk to you. He's knowledgeable and personable. One of the best hotel managers I've ever delt with!
Summing up---Great room, fair price, excellent location, outstanding staff, pool, hot tub, palm trees, booze, boys, and more booze and boys. If you don't have fun here, it's your own fault!
Oh, if you're here during the day, you'll see their sexy maintenance man. If you're here during the night, you'll see their sexy barback.
One more thing---Neil, T.J., Billy, and Tim all deserve a raise, Joe!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blueonblue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#32 of 77 in Key West
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#18 of 77 in Key West
798 reviews
0.4 mi away
NYAH Key West
NYAH Key West
#24 of 77 in Key West
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heron House
Heron House
#54 of 77 in Key West
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Habitation
L'Habitation
#46 of 77 in Key West
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merlin Guest House Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans House

Address: 724 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-7463
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £152 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Orleans House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all male guesthouse on Duval Street. Part of the Bourbon Street Pub complex. Free breakfast, free happy hour, free gym, free wifi, free cover at the Bourbon Street Pub and the 801. Stay where you play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your New Orleans House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans House Hotel Key West
New Orleans House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing