We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great staff, will go again”
Review of New Orleans House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Orleans House
Ranked #51 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
“Great stay, great staff, will go again”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed at the New Orleans House for Fantasy Fest 2013.
The amenities were excellent and staff wonderful and helpful in exceeding our expectations. The location on Duval kept us close to the events and is not to be missed. The Pool and Garden bar were nice and convenient.
Booked again for next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    43
    22
    10
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
82
68
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We were her for the SMART Ride this year and the experience was AWESOME. The staff was very friendly and attentive to every detail and need. We stayed in one of the loft rooms and both rooms, the bathroom, and the kitchen were clean neat and looked to be recently renovated. And we loved lounging naked in the huge hot tub and the pool. The pool bar makes great drinks and is very reasonably priced. Can't wait to come back again! And the location can't be beat. Right in the middle of everything.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewOrleansHouse, General Manager at New Orleans House, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. The Smart Ride is a very special weekend for us and we are honored that you chose to stay with us. I am very pleased that you were happy with the New Orleans House.

More importantly, I want to thank you for being part of an event that raised over a million dollars for the first time ever! Thank you so much!

I hope we will be seeing you again in the near future.

Neil Chamberlain
Guest House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Once more we spent Fantasy Fest at the New Orleans house and as usual we had a great time. They are always making improvements to the hotel and the service is simply Fantastic! We just came back from there, but the best part is that we are going back in December. This is the place to be in Key West!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Willam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewOrleansHouse, General Manager at New Orleans House, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We very much appreciate our regulars and we are thrilled you had a great time.

Looking forward to seeing you again in December.

Neil Chamberlain
Guest House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Rented room 23a and 23b online for 2 people. Soon after, I received an email that they had made a error in not removing room 23b from the online system which it had been reserved already by another guest and that they went ahead and booked me in room 24 instead which was a much bigger room with a full kitchen. I myself made an error when I made the original reservation for 2 people instead of 4 but the extra 25 dollars per extra person was waived when I approached them about my mistake. It was an excellent communication both via email and as soon as we got there, everything was booked done accordingly to our previous conversations. The staff was excellent, always with a smile and willing to answer any questions. None of us in the group experience the noise coming from the club downstairs. Breakfast was good, bagels, yogurt, cereal, coffee, fruit cups and the best part, sitting in the balcony overlooking duval street. Gym is fully equipped and available 24 hrs. Overall experience was excellent and I feel that some others reviews were coming from picky guests that don't know how to appreciate the simple things in life and are always looking for a negative. We would all definetely stay here again and I thank all the staff for being so nice and available when we needed them and at the same time, allowing us to feel the privacy in our stay. Thanks guys, will see you soon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zchesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewOrleansHouse, General Manager at New Orleans House, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

We really appreciate how understanding you were about the error with the room you originally booked so we are delighted you had a great time.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Neil Chamberlain
Guest House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

The location is best thing about this hotel. The staff is very friendly and quick to respond to your needs. The rooms are a bit small but they're good for the price. The room location was no the greates as it was on top of the bar and the music goes on until 4am. Really wish the put the volume down after 2, they also need a variety of music. Playing gay techno it's such a cliche. Overall it was a great place and we had a lot of fun.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TK0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Overall the property is older, but serviceable. The staff is very warm and welcoming (especially Rob at the Garden Bar and Paul, inside). We stayed one night, unplanned so the room we got was probably the smallest of the rooms, no windows a little bathhouse like, although it had very high ceilings. It's was above the club, and off the gym so it was pretty noisy, but I didn't really notice by the time I went to sleep. My only REAL issue was the gate. It requires a key card to get OUT!. We never left thru that gate so we didn't know ( and were not told). At 7am we left the room and i put the key on the dresser like I always do in a hotel. Then we go to the gate and we couldn't get out. I after walking all over the back property I realized that we were going to have to jump the fence to get out. The staff doesn't show up till 9am and we couldn't wait around. I suppose most people wouldn't notice it, but it makes me wonder about and emergency? Overall I would possibly stay here again, although I would book a better room..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenegadeProducer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewOrleansHouse, General Manager at New Orleans House, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize for the situation where you were locked into the pool area.

Usually, our staff gives a full tour to anyone that has not stayed with us in the past and during that tour, we explain the side gate and how to open it. I will speak to the employee that checked you in to find out why that was not done.

There are very few times that there are no employees on property and unfortunately, you left right at that time. The bar is open until 4AM. The staff leaves around 4:45. Our cleaning crew comes in at 5AM and they are done by 7AM. At 8AM the housekeeping staff arrives and the property is staffed until closing the next morning. In every room as well as at the office door are emergency contact numbers. We can be reached at any time to assist as needed.

That gate is also programmed to unlock in the event of an emergency (such as a power loss).

The room you were in is our least expansive room and is actually one of our most popular. That room is only $99 a night and that is unheard of to stay on Duval Street. The room is an "interior" room so it does not have any walls that face the outside and thus, no windows. It is also right above the nightclub so it is one of our noisiest rooms however, due to the lack of windows, it is the perfect room for those that like to stay up late and sleep in since there is no sunlight coming into the room to wake you up in the morning.

We have a vast array of rooms starting with that economy room, right up to large rooms with a full kitchen and even a free standing one bedroom cottage. We have rooms for every budget and with amenities to suit almost everyone.

I hope you will stay again and try out one of our other rooms with more amenities. I think you will be pleased.

Thank you,

Neil Chamberlain
Guest House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have stayed here many many times and always have had a wonderful experience. The staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. Our last trip was in June 2013. Perfect example of how accomadating this place is was when our Air Conditioner went on the blink. They immediately went out and bought a brand new one and had it installed within minutes. We highly recommend New Orleans house. Also it is located in the heart of Key West within walking distance of everything. Also they have a very reasonably priced grill by the pool with delicious wraps, burgers, salads etc. You have to check out "Hazel's Grill!"

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarrySmith1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.0 mi away
The Duval House
The Duval House
#44 of 77 in Key West
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wicker Guesthouse
Wicker Guesthouse
#55 of 77 in Key West
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#17 of 77 in Key West
683 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#13 of 77 in Key West
866 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palms Hotel- Key West
The Palms Hotel- Key West
#47 of 77 in Key West
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans House

Property: New Orleans House
Address: 724 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-7463
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Orleans House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all male guesthouse on Duval Street. Part of the Bourbon Street Pub complex. Free breakfast, free happy hour, free gym, free wifi, free cover at the Bourbon Street Pub and the 801. Stay where you play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your New Orleans House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans House Hotel Key West
New Orleans House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing