We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel”
Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Truman Hotel
Ranked #21 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Had planned to stay at another hotel, but parents changed their minds almost last minute, and I'm so glad they did. We arrived late in the evening, following a long flight to Miami and subsequent drive down to the keys, but we got a very warm welcome. The staff were very pleasant and friendly throughout our stay, even when having to deal with us locking ourselves out of our rooms!! Rooms were very trendy, very clean, and spacious. Continental breakfast of pastries, fruit, yoghurt and toast, but so much of it. The pool and surrounding area was kept very clean, fresh towels were readily available by the poolside after taking a dip in the sparkling clean, refreshing pool. Sunbed towels were replaced as soon as the beds were vacated. Attention to detail was incredible and I would recommend this hotel for anyone. Close enough to the hub of Key West and yet quiet for when you needed to chill out. I hope to return.

Room Tip: The rooms all overlook the pool area, I don't think anybody would be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

Hands down the best place to stay in Key West! We stayed May 19-21st. A week prior we had to move a group of 10 and I am so pleased we found the Truman. The hotel is modern, clean and friendly. You won't be disappointed. Worth every penny.
When we return, we will only stay at the Truman. Thank you for accomodating our group at the last minute and for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Very central, Duval 3mins away, did'nt need the car for anything.Nice refreshing pool when you've been out most of the day. Quiet rooms 107 &108, rooms very spacious, clean .Beds turned down every night with fresh bottles of water & chocs left on the bed,Breakfast fresh juice,coffee,pastries eggs etc. No complaints at all!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This is a lovely little boutique hotel close to the heart of Key West. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a small suite. The decor and surroundings were well thought out and beautifully decorated. The ambiance of the hotel was wonderfully refined but not over powering allowing you to relax after a day around the Key.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southofenglandfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

There isn't much to say about this place other than it is absolutely perfect. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the beds are comfortable, the staff is friendly. It is the only place I would ever stay when visiting Key West.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CM0187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Truman was a nice find (thanks to tripadvisor reviewers).

Rooms:
Clean, decent size, modern furniture.

Bathroom:
Clean, no complains

Pool:
Super cool at night especially with those changing lights.

Breakfast:
Decent, usual continental breakfast. nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikas g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I was so excited to stay at this hotel given a poor experience I had 3 years earlier at the Southernmost Hotel (poor quality for price paid). From that stay, I knew I wanted to stay somewhere that wasn't right on Duval because it'd be noisy.
When I checked in, the guy in the office (never caught his name, but assuming this is Nick, the person everyone else refers to) recognized that in my reservation notes/preferences I said I'd like a quieter room, preferably something not by the pool. We got room 201, which was right above the front office, and more set back from the pool. Because it was in a bit of a nook, we had our own private area of balcony in front, which was nice if we had wanted to read at the little table outside and not have to worry if there were smokers sharing balcony space with us, as is the case for most of the rooms. (FYI, there are a good amount of smokers in Key West, much more than the San Francisco Bay Area, at least, but nothing noticeable if you're coming from Boston, New York, etc.)
The room was very nice- quaint with a modern feel. There's a mini fridge that's completely empty so you can stock it easily with goodies of your preference, there are plastic cups for your own beverages, nice toiletries (Bath & Body Works), and a hair dryer that is super powerful/fast-drying. The exterior and bathrooms are also true to what you see on the hotel website. The shower head lacked pressure, but it was still sufficient. It was lower pressure, in a relaxing, you're on vacation kinda way. The room had central A/C, which could've regulated the temperature a little better, but it was a godsend to have since it can get pretty hot outside. The lighting in the room was a little strange, one main light above the drawers and TV, a few in the bathroom area, and a lamp on each side of the bed. Because there was only one by the TV, doing anything in the middle of the room was kind of dark unless you had all the shades up. Reading in bed was fine though thanks to the bedside lamps. There were slated shades for the windows and drapes, which kept the room nice and dark for sleeping; but the sun did creep in from the sides, which in my case, shined right onto the bed and woke me up a few times. The pillows were on the softer side, but not super squishy. They're all the same variety, too, so what you see is what you get.
While the room was probably quieter than most because it was above the front desk/office and in a corner (only one shared wall), it was attached to the frame of the 1st entry gate and close to the gate to get into the pool and other stair areas where people need to go upstairs to their room locations. As a result, every time a jackhole let the door slam rather than gently close it, we heard a crash and/or vibration noise. Since people go in and out all day long, we heard this all day long. I asked Nick if there was an option to have the louder of the two gates close more gently and he bungy corded the door open the next day, which was really nice. But after that day passed, the door was no longer buggy corded and the problem continued again. It was nice of him to help for that one day at least, but you'd think the hotel would've figured out itself that this was a loud inconvenience. Another thing about my room or any others that were by the front of the hotel/on Truman Ave itself, is that I constantly heard all the passing cars, which included kids honking their scooter horns for fun and the loud mufflers, engines, and radios of all the penis-mobiles and the like (many of these in Key West). Since the route is a main one, also got firetrucks passing by often. So while the pool never seemed too noisy (supposed to be open only during daylight hours, but some people still used the pool later at night), the road and gate were! What probably helped keep things quiet within the hotel is that it has an age minimum, outside of families with kids. You need to at least be 25 to check in because they don't want any Spring break'er's they say.
What really irked me about my experience was that we were woken up by housekeeping twice. We sleep very late and had the do not disturb sign on and one early afternoon got a call and then a knock on the door. I don't care what hour it is, if it says do not disturb, DO NOT disturb! Ever since that happened, I was constantly paranoid the same thing would go on again, and couldn't sleep as well. Our last day there, sure enough, got a knock on the door despite the do not disturb sign being there! When the housekeeping did come, they gave you an option not to have the sheets changed, which I liked for eco-friendliness. However, there was no option for keeping the same towels, which almost seemed to defeat using the sign for the sheets. Also weird was that when we'd come back to the room, the light was always left on (we always turned off when we left) and the A/C was somewhat higher than we left it. So somewhat of a mixed message on the green stuff, but at least they offered the sheets thing and housekeeping always came back for the turn down service to leave you 2 bottles of water and 2 yum chocolates.
Logistically, the hotel had a very good location. There's the Simonton/Truman bus stop for at least the blue, orange, and green lines (check out KWest's cool transit site and live map at http://www.kwtransit.com/). We didn't rent a car, bikes, or scooters, (although there is a bike/scooter rental shop right next door) etc, we walked everywhere. It wasn't far from Duval or other major attractions, but when it's so hot out, you don't feel like walking no matter what. For that reason, mid-trip I wished we were more adjacent to the northern part of Duval street, but if you don't mind the heat, you'll be fine.
Lastly, the wifi was pretty good. You could tell when it was being used by more people because it became impossible to watch videos. But for basic surfing and email, it worked well. A cab to the airport ran $8/person (same for anywhere in Old Town area), but check out the transit system, some bus routes go there too.

Room Tip: Request a room that isn't near road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lws07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duval Gardens
Duval Gardens
#20 of 77 in Key West
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Marlin Motel
Blue Marlin Motel
#32 of 77 in Key West
1,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 77 in Key West
1,098 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westwinds Inn
Westwinds Inn
#43 of 77 in Key West
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Address: 611 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £149 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Truman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truman Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing