We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hotel ever!”
Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Truman Hotel
Ranked #21 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Green, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best hotel ever!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Lovely room - spotlessly clean and very comfortable beds. Wonderful breakfast by the beautiful pool. Great location - close to everything. Staff was so friendly - highly recommend! Can't wait to return for another stay.

Room Tip: front facing for the best balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    282
    42
    12
    11
See reviews for
320
402
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown
Level Contributor
136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Truman on a pre-cruise trip to Key West. This place us awesome. We had a king room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the back parking lot. The room was very clean, large, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom shower was fantastic. The staff was helpful and friendly and the location was close to everything. The on site parking was also convenient. We did try the breakfast and it was great too. I highly recommend the Truman and if you're looking for the perfect, low key, high-quality hotel in Key West, this is the place!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband and I took a last minute trip to the Key West. We have stayed at a few 5 star hotels in city and we felt most welcome at the Truman Hotel. We booked a king bed and got complimentary upgraded to a King Suite with pool view balcony. The suite was modern and beautifully decorated. We felt like no detail was forgotten. So comfortable that we hardly wanted to leave the room!!

The staff, without exception, was welcoming, friendly, and pro-active. The front desk/concierge Martin made great dinner and lunch suggestions and made calls to make sure reservations were secured. He also helped arrange great snorkel trip and transportation.

Overall, We absolutely LOVE this hotel. The attention to detail, service and overall quality at this hotel is excellent. The location is excellent with easy access to everything Key West has to offer.

We will miss the Truman. It was a home away from home. I will not hesitate to stay here again! Would be a great romantic getaway!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julias13mail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massillon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A 10 star hotel in paradise, Key West!! Perfect location right in the heart of it all, a short walk to everything, Duval St., Hemmingway house and Mallory Square sundown party! Very contemporary, gorgous furniture, lovely balconys, wonderful pool, lush palm trees and flowers, delightful staff, and complimentary breakfast by the pool! Wish we could have stayed longer....will most surely return! BRAVO Truman Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrizia012001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Wow! Thank you so much! It is great to see such wonderful comments posted about the property. We work hard to provide our guests with a wonderful stay and visit to Key West. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here. Thanks for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

An excellent hotel to stay in the Keys! Continental breakfast is great! Warm hard boiled eggs instead of cold. No oatmeal packets (would be a good addition), but, along with the rest of the isle, the bakery was outstandedly (a new word?) delish! At night, the pool area has dancing lights within the pool, waterfalls on either side of the stairway and a tea bar replaces the breakfast items. It's within walking distance of everything! From the hotel, I jogged from the Atlantic to the Gulf (it's only 2miles apart from each other), and within the surrounding area each morning. A calming hotel day and night. We stayed in the Deluxe suite w/ another couple for 2 nights ($350.00 per night plus taxes/fees-total $381.09 p/n for room). There are less expensive rooms for families/couples & budget minded ( I splurged this time). Nothing was out of place and the room was always spotless. The maid is on all day and makes sure that all rooms have been taken care of each day. If you saw an empty cup or piece of trash lying about, passing in one direction, it wouldn't be the on your return passing. NO COMPLAINTS!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were very satisfied with our stay at The Truman. We parked our car for our 3-day stay and never started it back up until be left. Everything was spotless and private. We will book The Truman Hotel again when we return to Key West.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Booked Truman Hotel for the first time and it was awesome! Rooms are quite big, super clean and great shower. Walking distance of Duval st and all the bars. My friends and I are probably staying there again and again and again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bru C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Property: Truman Hotel
Address: 611 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Truman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truman Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing