We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay in room 212 if you want to sleep.”
Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Truman Hotel
Ranked #22 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“don't stay in room 212 if you want to sleep.”
Reviewed 12 August 2010

The hotel is well worth the money, however the room we stayed in was not accomodating. The neighborhood rooster coupled with the maid storage room next door kept us from having a restful sleep. We did ask for another room with negative results.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msanc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    291
    42
    12
    11
See reviews for
335
406
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Right on Rte 1 (Truman Ave.) 2 blocks from Duval St. We stayed in the new section (the old rooms have been redone) and they were decorated in a contemporary style with the latest amenities. The pool was in the courtyard and in the evening there were colored water spouts into the pool. Very relaxing to watch. The only negative is that for the money (over $200 per night) we got a low rent breakfast. The hotel offered a continental breakfast (which was fine), but the English muffins, bagels, bread, and one pastry were cold (as in just out of the refrigerator), which I guess is OK if you're planning to toast everything. Also, the quality of the food did not correspond with the price of the room. However, it was served poolside.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sojo1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Top notch I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this place. Everything was nice new clean and the staff was excellent. Very nice pool area. Our beds were turned down and chocolates and bottled waters were brought every evening. This is a smaller hotel which makes for fewer guest it is a nice relaxing place. I would defintely stay here again. And if you are driving to mallory square area go down duvall st take a right on front street or grenne st and there are some parking lots for $10 a day all day which is a better deal than $4/hr @ mallory sq where they try to write you a ticket before you can even get out and purchase your parking pass.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamabreeze012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Photos are accurate. Nicely updated, clean, free parking, helpful friendly staff and convenient elevator. Fun changing color water spouts in pool at night. If you're OK with a soft boiled egg, cereal boxes and morning breads then breakfast is OK. The main retail tourist/bar Duval St. area is a short one block away and about 20 short blocks to Mallory Square. Need to drive or bike to a beach. I like to change it up in my vacation locations and lodging but I would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathieCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsend, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We stayed five nights at the Truman Hotel from June 24-28 and had a great time! This is a very upscale newly decorated small hotel one block from Duval Street. The pool area and rooms are very contemporary and absolutely spotless! There is covered parking which is a plus when the weather is hot. They have a continental breakfast each morning in the bar area which is very good. Laura and Dan are great employees who take care of their visitors! The rooms all face the beautiful pool area with small tables and chairs outside the door. The bedding is fabulous and the glass tiled large shower is very unique. They have turn down service with candy and water every night. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charrons_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at the Truman Hotel for the 4th of July weekend. Knowing that my wife is not too keen on the typical 'boutique hotel,' I decided to try something different. If you've read any of the previous reviews or visited the hotel website, you're probably aware that the property underwent a major renovation. We stayed on the new side and had a great stay. The room was very clean and the furniture was very modern inside (not typical of Key West hotels). My wife loved the room and the pool area, so therefore, I loved the place. Like every hotel in Key West, the room rates were spiked for the 4th of July weekend. However, we still feel that the Truman Hotel provided a great value and we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

This hotel is truly a gem. The rooms have a unique, modern design including a huge flat-screen TV, which is kind of wasted in Key West, where you are unlikely to watch much TV. The pool is in a tranquill ting with lots of shade in the courtyard. A bonus is the small parking garage. The hotel only a block from Duval Street, but is quiet. Except for the roosters in the early morning. The staff was helpful is locating restaurants, attractions and services in the city. We had a wonderful experience here and hope we have the chance to come back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.1 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#16 of 77 in Key West
1,437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 77 in Key West
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.4 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
1,490 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Property: Truman Hotel
Address: 611 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Truman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truman Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing