We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fabulous Stay!”
Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Truman Hotel
Ranked #22 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
288 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Another Fabulous Stay!”
Reviewed 30 December 2010

This is by far our favorite place to stay in Key West. We stayed over the Thanksgiving weekend for 3 nights. The hotel has been completely updated and has many modern, chic features without being snooty! The salt water pool is devine and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Each room has either a table and chairs or a sun chaise. There are lots of common areas even on the 2nd floor to sit with friends and talk, read or enjoy a drink.

Every single person we came in contact with was friendly and helpful. Check in was quick and welcoming. We were met by Stacy who offered us discount coupons to favorite haunts in KW. My favorite person in all of Key West is Marcus and it was wonderful to see him there again after the couple of years he was away. He is absolutely a doll and the best part of the hotel in my opinion.

We stayed in a 2nd floor double room over the garage. We didn't hear a sound from the garage or the rooms on either side. That's a nice touch too. It rarely happens in hotels anymore. The free covered parking is great. We stayed in this room vs. a king because the rates were much lower. That allowed us to stay 3 nights instead of just two.

They serve a limited continental breakfast in the mornings which we found adequate and welcome to get the day started. There are two restaurants that serve breakast within a 1/4 mile from the hotel if you prefer to order out.

This hotel is within walking distance of anywhere you want to go. This is a touristy area and there really is something for everyone.

I guess it is all in what you are looking for in your experience. We will come and stay again as soon as we can. I will always try to book this hotel first!

Thanks for the great time.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pahhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    288
    42
    12
    11
See reviews for
327
405
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cathey's Valley, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Stayed at the Truman mainly because of the parking offered though not guaranteed. Since I stayed 2 days mid-week, the parking was very easy. It is under one of the buildings and during my stay was half-empty. They don't have enough spaces for all the rooms, but there are a lot. Be careful of the rates, they change often online and I rebooked just before the cancellation penalty and saved $40/night. Check-in took some time and it is like you're sitting in someone's personal office, papers strew all over the place and everything seemingly a little off. Room seemed nice and new, vaulted ceilings, ceiling fan, windows on both sides of this room (206) since it was at the end of the 2nd level. TV had plenty of channels, bed was comfy. AC worked very well, controlled by wall thermostat and was quiet. Room was fairly large, but a lot of space virtually unused because of the strange shape. The room was very quiet, probably because we were the end unit, but still overlooked the pool and of course, the hotel was half empty. Maids enter your room in late afternoon and leave complimentary tasty chocolate mints and bottled water. Landscaping was nice, but nothing spectacular. 2 main complaints were the "breakfast", nothing hot and they leave the pitchers of liquid right in the hot sun for the few hours they serve. Imagine milk after sitting in the Florida sun for 3 hours? Also, don't dare bother the server when she is on her cell phone (probably with personal calls), she will get rude with you. Trays to carry stuff are hidden and you have to ask for them. Choices were very limited and not very appetizing. Only 1 table near the breakfast area, but there are tables and chairs outside each room. But you can always go out and eat, many restaurants within walking distance. The other complaint was the bathroom--it "looked" right out of a fashion magazine with the glass shower and raised glass sink bowl--but--a bathroom is to be used, not to be looked at. And the functionality just isn't there. No privacy at all in the glass shower and the raised glass sink is too high, water splashed everywhere, there is no stopper, and it drains very very slowly. The wooden bathroom floor and light fixtures were nice though. The hotel is within walking distance to Duval, but the somewhat "trashy" portion of Duval. Probably better off to stay at the Mallory Square end of Duval in one of the larger hotels, closer to the better bars/restaurants. Have 9 pictures to add, but getting very frustrated trying to do this--may be able to add them later, but I'm giving up on that for now.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ynp-CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Stayed at the Truman with three other couples and had a really great time. Breakfast was included each morning, in the afternoon we relaxed by the pool with cocktails after our busy day out on the town. At night we went out to eat and came back by the pool to take a dip.

The hotel has great landscaping around the pool making secluded from the street. The staff was very pleasant and always smiling and greeting you as you passed by.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpw32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conchdeb, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed at the Truman Hotel the first week of October and will be back again and again. Laura at the front desk made sure we had something to do everyday! We would have been lost without her concierge skills. She not only knew the best sunset cruises to go on, but also the best places to dine (which she handled the reservations for that as well). We recommend this hotel to EVERYONE!! It is clean, friendly and close to all the action. The Staff makes the hotel and we will make sure we recommend to freinds family, etc. If you should stay at the Truman Hotel, make sure to ask for Laura and the Wind and Wine Sunset Cruise, you wont regret it. The Powells

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muchvinosarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2010

My husband and I recently stayed 3 nights at The Truman and were so impressed. Very close to the activities of Duval St but peacefully set back less than 2 blocks. (however there are free range chickens and roosters all around Key West and yes, the roosters do awaken you very early). Beautiful, small pool with chic exciting ambience...lush foliage pool-scaping and beautiful architecture too. Free parking and breakfast daily...this was a great value. Our 1st trip to Key west and their concierge Stacey was accommodating, informative with great recommendations, and enthusiastic; upgrading our room when she learned we were on our honeymoon. Thank you for the champagne!! Don't hesitate to stay here!!
TIP...We loved the Ultimate Adventure with Fury..don't book online..your concierge can get you a better deal..$119 for parasailing, snorkeling, jet skiing. water fun with the inflatables and water trampoline, breakfast and lunch included and a sunset sail which you can do on a different day..excellent value. Key West is beautiful!! We can't wait to return there.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soma7kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

This hotel is fantastic and is only two blocks away from Duval Street. The newer pictures shown are representative of what it looks like now. Our room in building two was modern, well-designed and very clean with a small porch outside. Room services were great, and all of the staff were very friendly and eager to answer questions and help when necessary. We also had free parking, and were told that you get one space per room.

My only wish would be that I would've made more time to spend by the pool. At night it's lit up in different colors and the fountains are just really cool looking.

This is a great boutique hotel and I will definitely be staying here again the next time I'm in Key West.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zenhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conchdeb, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
We appreciate your business and we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Guest comments are important to us and they help us to constantly make adjustments and improve. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

The hotel is well worth the money, however the room we stayed in was not accomodating. The neighborhood rooster coupled with the maid storage room next door kept us from having a restful sleep. We did ask for another room with negative results.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msanc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#20 of 51 in Key West
1,315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.1 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#17 of 77 in Key West
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.4 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Property: Truman Hotel
Address: 611 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Truman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truman Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing