We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cheese Steaks!!!!!! Great late night snack”
Review of Mr Z's

Mr Z's
Ranked #68 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Description: When Key West locals need a late-night slice of pizza or an authentic Philly cheese steak, they come to us. We're local, we serve beer, we're open until 4 AM, and our food speaks for itself. Next time you find yourself in our neck of the woods, belly up to our counter, order a slice or some stromboli, and tell us it's not the best thing you've ever eaten.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Cheese Steaks!!!!!! Great late night snack”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I were taking a late night stroll on Duval feeling "good" and I mentioned to her I could eat a snack and a local over heard us and recommended this place. I ordered the Philly Cheese Steak and my wife ordered a slice of pepperoni pizza. She enjoyed the pizza but when she tried my cheese steak she wished she ordered one for herself. It is a great place for a late night snack.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheLemays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    164
    35
    16
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pizza Delivery”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We didn't feel like going out for dinner one night so we ordered from Mr Z's as it was suggested by one of the locals. We ordered a cheesesteak and a large pizza with pepperoni and sausage. I think it came to about $24 before the tip. Both were pretty tasty and the pizza was huge (thin crust). Best of all is they deliver and they have more than one location. We would order from them again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveltips111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikezee, Owner at Mr Z's, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
As always we want to thank our patrons for taking the time to write about us! We are glad that this reviewer seemed to enjoy our food! It seems the experience was at least "good" though the rating they gave was the "average" 3-stars. Either way we appreciate the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Cheesesteak heaven”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Cheesesteaks are the best, not just in Key West, but possibly the best south of the Mason-Dixon Line. Very reasonable prices, steps from Duval Street. Have also had meatball sub and Italian Pork sub with broccoli raab. Very tasty. Cash only

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GRUTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparrows Point , MD
Level Contributor
204 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Pizza hands down!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Mr. Z's pizza is an addiction when in Key West. The late night pizza and all the characters who visit are a must for a Key West visit. This pizza is awesome and is great after fun on Duval.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoriW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little hole in the wall place for pizza and sandwices, especially after hours...theyre open til like 3 or 4a.”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Great place to grab a bite, espec if you want something quick and late...theyre open til like 4a nightly. I definitely recomment the Philly cheesesteak sandwich..MMMM! I also had a slice of pepperoni pizza. I give them a 4 star because they only do pepperoni or cheese slices. Is it NOT that hard to put a topping on a cheese slice since they put it in the oven to heat and melt the cheese anyway. And the night we were there they ice machine didnt work and 2 of the fountain flavors were extra flat!! Def not tasty as far as the drink goes. Theres a large menu tho, so will have to grab a drink elsewhere first, then go try something else on their big menu. Mmm.

Helpful?
Thank Ch C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikezee, Owner at Mr Z's, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
I appreciate the 4-star review! Just wanted to mention a few facts... This reviewer was here during fantasy fest, our busiest time of the year! So our ice machine was NOT broke, and has never been BROKE. If we run out of ice and the machine cannot keep up, we apologize. It probably happens 3 nights out of the year! (the 2 biggest Fantasy Fest nights and maybe New Year's Eve).
Also, we only offer cheese and pepperoni by the slice on the menu but we try to accommodate people if they want extra stuff. If it's NOT FANTASY FEST!:) By the way, contrary to what the reviewer wrote, it IS LABORIOUS to add toppings on single slices, and unfortunately it is expensive. Being the LOCAL's place, I hate charging $5 or more for a specialty slice (most places around Duval St would have no problem doing that to you!), especially when our small pizza is 14 inches and only $9!!! And you can add whatever you want and we'll have it for you in 10-12 minutes. A much better bargain and a better product when your toppings can actually bake into the pie. THANK YOU for the feedback, we APPRECIATE the 4-star review!
Sincerely,
Mike Z
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr Z's also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Mr Z's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing