We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfect location in Key West”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This property is in such a great location. Checking in was a snap with the friendly staff. Made my way to my room on the first floor right outside the pool area. The room was huge and very clean. The bed was very nice and everything in the room worked well. Staff was helpful and I can't say enough about the location. The hotel grounds are spread out among a marina and the nightly sunset festival. The cruise ship dock is part of the marina and watching the ships come and go is awesome.

I was disappointed in the gym. The machines were mostly out of order or poorly functioning. The floor also looked water damaged and very moldy. I hope they get this fixed so it doesn't continue to take away from a great property. Steps to duval and so much more. My favorite place in Key West and I'm a very loyal Marriott customer.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank us1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for your review. We pass along all reviews to all staff for improvement purposes. We hope to see you at our property again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,012
    707
    296
    169
    128
See reviews for
554
1,026
45
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Just got back ,We had a wonderful time .Hotel is great ,clean ,wonderful food in restaurant,but the thing that really made the stay wonderful were the staff of The Westin ,they really care about the guest and go the extra step to make sure you are happy and having a good time. Thank you so much Staff of The Westin hope to see you next year...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thanks - we hope to see you too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This is an easy review to write...great rooms, great staff, after the "party" of the nightly sunset is over it is quiet in the late evenings for sleeping, and it is clearly the best location in all of Key West. Seriously, you might be able to find a unique, boutique hotel that is nicer at a better price...but you are rolling the dice since there are 50 of those types of hotels in Key West and probably 46 of them will turn out to be an expensive mistake. If you can get a good deal on the room rate, this is the place you want to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUSTPLAYING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you so much! Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

PROS: great sunset view location, excellent restaurants, WiFi by the pool and beach. Easy to book trips and activities at the concierge.

CONS: to go to the beach you have to buy a beach pass that costs $22/person for the day. It’s a good experience there, with chairs and umbrellas included, but this information was not clear when we booked it. Moreover the beach passes are limited, so you have to wake up early and it’s not guaranteed that you will have them. Another charge is parking - $22/day seems to be too much. Staff “tries” to be friendly, but they have an attitude, it looks like they are doing a favor to serve you. When the cruises arrive, everything nearby gets packed and they block the view.

OVERALL OPINION: I would stay here again if budget is not a problem, now that I am fully aware of all the details. The beach pass is a great experience if you manage to get it, so you can relax by the beach having drinks and snacks.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for your review and nice photo. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay, overall, which makes us very happy.

The following information is provided on our website: The beach at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, is available for guests at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina. The cost is $20 per person per day. The number of passes is limited and are sold on a first-come, first-served, basis. Advance reservations are not available. Boat passes are required and may be obtained through the Westin concierge desk. The concierge also has a list of nearby beaches if Sunset Key is full.

We hope you do return to Key West, and also to our property, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Let me start off by stating the staff and service at the Westin is very good. The rooms are what we expected, as being return guests. If you do not want to see a cruise ship blocking your view, (by the way that is what you pay for) then have fun. The food was fantastic,,, but beware of the ``hidden charges``. The Westin charged us $22.00 A DAY to park a scooter on property. We have stayed at the Westin many times prior to this visit and have never been charged a fee to park a scooter. We will probably not return to the Westin as they would not take the parking fee`s off of our bill. To me, that would have been good buisness. Visitors,,Be ware of the Westin`s hidden charges.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us.

We do not have any hidden charges at our property and we make every effort to notify guests of charges prior to their stay. To that end, the following information is provided on reservation confirmations: We offer both valet and self-parking in our adjacent garage facility. Valet parking is $22/vehicle/day and self-parking is $20/vehicle/day. Scooters/mopeds, motorcycles and electric cars are considered vehicles. In & out privileges included.

We hope you reconsider your decision, and return to our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We were lucky to have a ocean front room, but as there were seven in our party, we thought we had booked all four ocean front rooms, but two of the rooms were slightly to the side and so only had a view of the harbour. To be fair, they offered us accommodation on the island in the Westin Guest Houses which looked fantastic, but we were travelling in a group, and the majority wanted to stay central. We had a great breakfast on the island and it did look a wonderful place to stay if you wanted to be away from the hustle and bustle of Key West. It is accessed by ferry about every half hour. If we returned it would be to stay there. However, all four rooms we had were a good size, clean and with very comfortable beds. We can't comment on the service as we never needed to call on it only with regard to our luggage, and that was good. For two of the nights there we had a breathtaking view of the sunset but on our last night it was ruined by a cruise ship blocking the view. It is in a very convenient location for all activities and if you have an ocean front room you also get to see some of the activities taking place on the Harbour. If you have children who go to bed early, probably not the best place to be, but everything goes quiet on the Quayside by no later than 11pm. We had lunch and breakfast in the restaurant outside on the Quayside and had good service with very nice food. However, on our last night we booked a table by the window in the evening and when we turned up we mysteriously no longer had a table by the window but were shoved right at the back of the restaurant all on our own, where we struggled to get any kind of service and the food did not match the daytime standard. A good place to stay if you want to access everything by foot, but like every hotel, you need to book the more expensive ocean front rooms to enjoy the experience more.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ocean front ones for a stunning sunset view. Bear in mind these overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for your review. We pass along all reviews to all staff for training and improvement purposes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I've travelled with my husband and kids (ages 2 and 4). We stayed on an ocean front room and that proved to be a great choice as we could watch the sunset from our balcony, with the kids playing around (staying in the crowd with kids that age wouldn't be an option). I was quite afraid as I've read other reports, but we had no problem with cruise ships blocking our view.

The hotel is very well located - walking distance from Duval Street, many restaurants, a very nice toy store (on the little mall right beside the hotel, don't miss if you're travelling with kids),and other attractions.

My kids enjoyed the private beach, that you can reach after a nice 10 minute boat ride. My only remark is that the pool is small and always too crowded while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We're glad you had a nice family vacation at our resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#13 of 51 in Key West
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina

Property: Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-8313 (Formerly The Westin Key West Resort & Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#15 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right on the waterfront of Old Town Key West, just steps from the famous Mallory Square, and one block from Duval Street is the Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina - a hub of relaxation and luxury in the middle of all of the excitement that Key West is famous for. Experience the beauty of the sparkling sea, access to water sports, and endless dining, shopping, and entertainment options all just steps away. Our marina is one of the three cruise ports in Key West welcoming cruise ships from around the world. Dine on fresh island cuisine, indoors, on a deck, or oceanside. Sip a cocktail and lounge by our outdoor pool surrounded by lush native plants, or take a launch to the nearby private beach on Sunset Key. Rejuvenation awaits in the serenity of our massage studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina Hotel Key West
The Westin Key West Resort And Marina
Key West Hilton
Key West Westin
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing