We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort with a View of the Cruise Ships”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
key
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Resort with a View of the Cruise Ships”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was truly a very nice resort. The service is very nice except the bell stand attendees at night. They seemed to have missed the be nice to the guest training. Especially the 01/04/14 staff. The resort is well located and offered nice amenities. The upper deck bar and pool wait staff are not well motivated but nice enough. The only really negative aspect of the resort is that they sell ocean front rooms that are totally blocked by a cruise ship from early in the morning to beyond the sunset which is the celebration activity everyday. We were never informed of this issue when booking the ocean front rooms at the premium price. Pass on the ocean front rooms. 3 days out of 5 we had a beautiful view of the side of an ocean going cruise ship. Also the air condition units are rather noisy.

Room Tip: Pass on the cruise ship view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyfromForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. While we are an active cruise ship port (which we state on our website) cruise ships do not dock here everyday. The city of Key West has a schedule on their website, our dock is designated as pier (B). The schedule is subject to change, therefore it is not possible to predict/notify/guarantee guests of the presence or absence of a cruise ship. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    702
    289
    163
    127
See reviews for
537
1,019
45
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great location near Mallory Square, Duval Street and Old Town Key West (which really is quite a large area). Rooms are spacious with coffee machines and free water bottles.

Fantastic relaxing area with swimming pool and sunset terrace to see the memorable sunsets.

Staff are polite and professional but something is missing in the overall (sincere) friendliness and why do they not smile?

Overall though a good base and wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Book early for good rates. Air conditioning units in all rooms are noisy but you need it. Side roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Westin. All reviews are passed along to the staff for training and improvement purposes. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We recently celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary with a trip to Key West and a stay at the Westin. What a fabulous experience! We were congratulated by the receptionist at the front desk upon our arrival (I guess the reservation desk took note of my casual statement to her about our anniversary over the phone when we booked our reservation). Then we were so surprised to find a a bottle of chilled champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries waiting for us in our room! So nice!

The entire stay was very enjoyable and unforgettable for us. The Westin has spared no expense in providing exceptional quality for it's guests. I am an interior decorator and was very impressed at the choice and application of interior products in the rooms, including the specialty doors, stone flooring and wall tile, glass mosaic tile, and shower fixtures in the bathroom! Expensive materials - well done!

Finally, we greatly enjoyed the balcony and the view of the harbor. The cruise ships were fun to watch, and in the evening, we enjoyed people watching. We recommend the 3rd floor harbor view rooms -followed the advise of another Trip Advisor review and we were pleased we did.

We definitely will stay at the Westin again and recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: Choose a Harbor/ocean view room, preferably on the third floor! Don't worry about the cruise shi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank decoratingdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheville, north carolina
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked a very hasty (and expensive) trip to Key West, and the Westin was about the only place where could find open rooms for the nights we were seeking (Christmas to New Years). Our room was large, clean, well kept-up, and had a nice balcony. On the day we arrived, we discovered someone had spilled some sort of liquid on the carpet, and we had to ask housekeeping to try to clean it up, which they did. I had taken the option to add $175 for an "Ocean front" room, but every single morning we were there, a huge cruise ship docked around 7:00 AM and stayed in port until around 5:00 pm, rendering the ocean view mostly a view of the side of a giant boat. The hotel restaurant was OK -- pretty pricey and rather slow, but the food was good. The location is excellent, especially for those interested in Key West's nightlife, Mallory Square sunset celebrations, etc. The concierge was fairly helpful, although not especially friendly. The pool and hot tub were OK. Ditto, the fitness center. Overall a satisfactory experience, but far from spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. While we are an active cruise ship port, cruise ships do not dock here everyday. The City of Key West has a schedule on their website, our dock is designated as pier (b). The schedule is subject to change, therefore it is not possible to predict/notify/guarantee the presence or absence of a cruise ship. All reviews are passed along to the staff for training and improvement purposes. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had a very nice three day weekend in Key West, and the Westin was perfect for our family. It is a lovely oasis in a town that can be extremely lively. Facilities were clean, and staff was helpful. Concierge was helpful in setting up activities and dining.

Room Tip: We were in ocean view rooms, but the view was often obscured (especially at sunset) by the cruiseshi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFamily706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We just did a one night stay at the Westin in Key West. We were coming back from Cozumel and decided to spend the night in Key West rather than head directly back up to the PA cold and snow. I made a reservation the night before so it was short notice. I've stayed in Key West numerous times, but never at the Westin, but I liked the location by Mallory Square.
The grounds are very beautiful but our room was not up to snuff for $800 per night. We were on the ground floor and the hotel was 100% booked, so maybe the upper floors are better. Just not very luxurious for that money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotta2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location of our resort. Rates depend on the time of year and seasons. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We are long-time SPG patrons, and my partner is lifetime platinum, so we are no strangers to Westin properties. This would fit right in with a normal Westin experience. Clean, but not flashy. A bit dated, sure, but this is Key West, so the bar is just different. A nice pool, a bit understaffed, but the one woman that waited on us worked her butt off! I feel like a nice refresh and some attention to detail (both on the property and staff training) and this could be a world-class resort. No big complaints, very comfortable with a great location (almost walkable to anything).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the good review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina

Property: Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-8313 (Formerly The Westin Key West Resort & Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#15 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right on the waterfront of Old Town Key West, just steps from the famous Mallory Square, and one block from Duval Street is the Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina - a hub of relaxation and luxury in the middle of all of the excitement that Key West is famous for. Experience the beauty of the sparkling sea, access to water sports, and endless dining, shopping, and entertainment options all just steps away. Our marina is one of the three cruise ports in Key West welcoming cruise ships from around the world. Dine on fresh island cuisine, indoors, on a deck, or oceanside. Sip a cocktail and lounge by our outdoor pool surrounded by lush native plants, or take a launch to the nearby private beach on Sunset Key. Rejuvenation awaits in the serenity of our massage studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina Hotel Key West
The Westin Key West Resort And Marina
Key West Hilton
Key West Westin
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing