We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location, Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Key West
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing Location, Great Hotel”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This review is a little late, but we stayed at the Westin in June 2013. You simply can not beat the location of the Westin. It is close to Mallory Square and Duval Street, but is somehow still quiet and relaxing. The rooms are clean and spacious. The bed was so comfortable, which was great because it rained for the full length of our trip and we slept in late every day. I was only able to stay here because I am a Starwood Rewards member and had earned enough points to stay, otherwise the hotel would be out of my budget. We had a great room with a view of the water. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teteny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    694
    287
    162
    121
See reviews for
524
1,003
45
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel, spent an amazing days on a recent trip to Florida.

We had a lovely room overlooking the pool, outdoor hot tub open to 10pm. service was excellent around the pool for food and afternoon cocktails etc. The view in the evening time form the top deck for sunset is a must.

Fitness studio and concierge on the gorund floor, excellent info on tours, bike hire, restaurants etc,

valet parking at $20 per day - standard amount

The large ships dock at the rear of the hotel, we were not awoken by the landings.

Location is perfect, less than 5 minute walk to all retaurants and bars.

Highly recommenede
=

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomthebomb_12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed in an oceanfront room for the week of New Years. Nice view from balcony. Great for watching the sunset. This view did include cruise ships most days of our stay. Room was comfortable but in need of a refurbishing. (Especially for the $650+ per night rate!) But it was New Years in Key West, and totally insane! Housekeeping was thorough and friendly. Best feature of this room was the shower. It has been updated and had a fantastic rain shower head. Hands down, one of the best showers I've been in (including recent stays in luxury NYC hotels.) Pool area was nice, crowded for the holidays. The sun deck was better for mid-winter sunbathing. Great views from the sun deck! Pool bar staff was very good at stopping by regularly. This hotel does have an excellent and convenient location!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I had to take a moment out of our vacation to write this review just because the service has been absolutely amazing at the Westin Key West. The first time in all my travels has the front desk person gone to such great lengths to accommodate our needs. Al Duncan, the Front Desk Supervisor not only took care of us with a spectacular waterfront room, but even came outside to ensure our bags and car were taken care of.

The room, the service, and hotel location ( one block away from the heart of Duval Street.. the good part of Duval Street where all the shops and restaurants are ) are in my opinion the best in Key West.

My daughter was upset with the long car ride down here, but after stepping into the room she couldn't hold back the smile and say how beautiful it is.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We look forward to your return visit to Key West!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived last evening for a one week stay. We made our reservations 7+ months ago for an OCEANFRONT suite. When we arrived and entered out room last night, the view was of a marina, rooftop and what ocean view it had was blocked by a cruise ship which arrives and docks in front of the westin every day.
We contacted the manager on duty this morning and she advised that ALL of their oceanfront rooms and suites are obstructed by the cruise ships. Shame on me for not reading trip advisor reviews before booking here because their website oceanfront descriptions do not mention they are ALL obstructed by the ships which is what the manager told us this morning and that she could offer NO resolution. For a westin and what we are paying for a suite, this attitude and explanation is unacceptable. What a huge disappointment.
Also, rooms need some TLC - walls could use some paint and there is no mini bar, just a mini refrigerator that looks like it fell off the back of a truck.
The bathroom in our "suite" is comical. With the door open you can not sit on the toilet. We are thin people and we have to sit sideways on the toilet!
I have never been more disappointed with a westin property and the lack of caring senior staff to accommodate us by attempting to find us another room that has the accommodations and view we booked, expected and are paying for.
If you are looking for a true quality property in key west, we do not recommend staying here.
Norm and Brenda Toomey
Seattle, WA

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Nbtoomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is regrettable to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. While we are an active cruise ship port, cruise ships do not dock here everyday. We note that we are an active cruise ship port on the home page of our website. After speaking with the front office manager, it is my understanding your were upgraded to Sunset Key into a one bedroom cottage. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

GRIPES: room on the small side, rained several evenings (which is not their fault) but we stayed in and had room service and watched TV - extremely limited channel selection, Ocean View became Ship View entire stay.

PLUSES: The Bistro was delicious, staff is courteous and mostly helpful.

Background:
Of course I knew I was booking the hotel right next to the cruise ship dock. What I didn't realize was a cruise ship would be parked directly in front of our "ocean view" room each day we were there. This may not have been an issue if the "ocean view" hadn't been pricier than other rooms without the ocean view - which, this one really didn't have any how.

Was sort of annoying to have a ship arrive every morning before I woke up and not leave until approx 5pm - right when it was beginning to get dark in the winter. Wish I had a heads up that this was the case. Did not review tripadvisor prior to booking otherwise would have seen other similar reviews.

Think the hotel should give a little nod to the fact that your ocean view could easily be a boat view every day as it was for our three days there. If they did mention this on the site during booking, it must've been an asterisk because I did not see it. Probably would have stayed at the same hotel, just picked a different, less expensive room had I known.

Even though their response below to another client indicates the ships aren't there every day - they were for us. In fact, our first morning, there were three covering the entire length of the ocean view. In their response below, the hotel also indicates that the ship schedules can be unpredictable, despite having a schedule posted by Key West. So, it very well could be that you get a ship every day of your ocean view.

The people-watching was entertaining from our balcony, but I bet we could have done the same from a different vantage point that wasn't advertised as an ocean view - and wasn't more expensive.

The dining at The Bistro was fantastic. Ate breakfast there each day. Better than Latitudes in my opinion. But Latitudes was a fun experience in its own right.

Again, nice to be in the middle of it all and an overall nice hotel. Just felt swindled when our "oceanview" was relegated to a "cruiseshipview".

Room Tip: Don't go for an ocean view that faces the docking area for the cruise ships. Save the extra mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 102danam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear that overall, you enjoyed your stay, dining on property and the location of our resort. As you know, we are an active cruise ship port and we note that on our website on the home page. We appreciate your business and value you as our guest. We hope you will visit us again soon and look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel is very nice. Location is excellent. Terrace is right on Mallory Square, so you can people watch but not be in the crowd. Cruise ships dock here, and they are nice to see. Housekeeping could use improvement, especially for such an expensive property. Room was not vacuumed each day, and table was not wiped off. Bar and restaurant were nice. I did not use the spa.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.2 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina

Property: Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-8313 (Formerly The Westin Key West Resort & Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#14 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right on the waterfront of Old Town Key West, just steps from the famous Mallory Square, and one block from Duval Street is the Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina - a hub of relaxation and luxury in the middle of all of the excitement that Key West is famous for. Experience the beauty of the sparkling sea, access to water sports, and endless dining, shopping, and entertainment options all just steps away. Our marina is one of the three cruise ports in Key West welcoming cruise ships from around the world. Dine on fresh island cuisine, indoors, on a deck, or oceanside. Sip a cocktail and lounge by our outdoor pool surrounded by lush native plants, or take a launch to the nearby private beach on Sunset Key. Rejuvenation awaits in the serenity of our massage studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina Hotel Key West
The Westin Key West Resort And Marina
Key West Hilton
Key West Westin
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing