We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average everything”
Review of El Meson de Pepe

El Meson de Pepe
Ranked #100 of 447 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$18
Cuisines: Cuban, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Average everything”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

we sat outside in the courtyard area, service a bit hit and miss and food very average. Have had better in London! Wouldn't go out of my way to eat here and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    739
    528
    191
    85
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shepherd, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Terrific food”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon this shiny treasure of a restaurant after watching the sunset & walking around the pier. The total vibe was just awesome with the live music, spring breeze, & roaming chickens. Hubs & I ordered the same dinner, it was absolutely delicious. Pork, ground beef, steak, yellow rice, black beans, & yucca. It. Was. Amazing. The ground beef was perfectly seasoned & I loved the peas! Apparently, I had too much of the Cuban dinner bread & salsa. I ended up eating cold left overs the next day & the pork was still perfect. Kudos! I am excited to come back & try more!

Helpful?
Thank tll4474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna VA
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Loved the Mojito”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Was told to come here for a Mojito -- and it did not disappoint! Didnt eat, didnt go inside -- went straight to the outside bar for the Mojito. Well done!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MJSKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Ordered just from the tapas menu. Great selection. Ceviche and tostones rellenas were delicious in the Cuban side. Free Cuban bread with salsas was nice touch. My wife loved the coconut shrimp. The have the best pulled pork in Key West and possible the best key lime pie as well

Helpful?
Thank Morterias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Huge portions, beautiful bread and m-m-m-mojitos!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

First off, unless you are super hungry do not order a starter - the main courses are HUGE! The waiting staff were lovely, friendly and helpful on what to order and the bar staff top up the rum in the mojitos to the rim - naughty!
The Cuban bread is so fresh and delicious you must try it, especially with those crazily good dipping sauces. The sangria is pretty potent too but it all flows well after the sun goes down and the band is in full flow, just remember to be hungry and side step the starters!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flowersmou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Meson de Pepe also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to El Meson de Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing