We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango Tree Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mango Tree Inn
Ranked #59 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
North Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Spent 2 nights here recently...
Peggy & her staff were friendly & very accomodating...Very clean & quiet...Had the poolside unit with a kitchenette which was adorable...only thing it was missing was a sitting/living area although being right off the pool didn't miss it too much, bedroom was nice size...bathroom on small side, kitchen handy but ate our meals out. Nice little touches everywhere...loved the fresh flowers...
Grounds were beautiful & well kept, very tropical & flowers & plants everywhere...Pretty pool area, decent sized pool, never had to share it with anyone...
Very close to everything, 2 blocks from Duval...
Will definitely return...

Room Tip: Didn't get to see any of the other accommodations unfortunately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    14
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
58
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a beautifully restored and maintained inn. It's hard to believe that it was built before the Civil War. The owner Peggy Newberry was so gracious when our camping trip to the Dry Tortugas was suddenly put on hold as the ferry had steering issues. We needed a place to stay for one, possibly two nights and she showed us into a beautiful upstairs suite that truly impresses. Perfect location - quiet, extremely clean and we are enjoying our small porch overlooking Simonton Street. I recognize our bedding from a very high end catalogue and the bed is very comfy. FULL KITCHEN - including a dishwasher is much appreciated and a lovely bathroom with tiled walk in shower completes a great place to stay. Don't let a poor little rich girl who found her own hair in the shower stop you from staying at this amazing place. If you want beautiful people go to South Beach, Miami. If you want real people come to Key West!

Room Tip: The upstairs octagonal suite is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Light_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Holy crap this place is a dump. A literal and physical outdated dump. If you are under the age of 55 and enjoy a room that doesn't look like grandma's house... you will hate this place. We stripped the bed, and there was pee all over, and blue dye where you could see where they tried to clean it. Pubic hairs on the bathroom floor (see photo)

Literally my skin crawls thinking about this place. No 24 hour staff.... and the staff they do have are so rude. It's two old people. Rude old people who yell at you like they are your parents if you have music up past 9pm. This is NOT A PLACE for anyone beautiful or young to be vacationing. I looked at the pool, and its basically a hole in the deck thats covered by shade and had two people in it, both looked like if the wood was shaky they could have fell through. Thats how big they were. And they took up the entire pool.

IF YOU LIKE TO HAVE FUN, ROOM SERVICE, CUSTOMER SERVICE, OR HAVE DRINKS AT THE POOL, OR BE SOCIAL, OR BE AROUND BEAUTIFUL YOUNG PEOPLE, OR DRINK, OR PLAY MUSIC, OR ENJOY MODERN FURNITURE, AGAIN, LET ME REPEAT.. YOU WILL NOT LIKE THIS PLACE. THIS IS A RETIREMENT HOME. end of story. OLD PEOPLE CENTRAL. good location though, close to the bars, but closer to the grave.

Room Tip: Get another hotel. (We checked out early, they took our money, and we went to Southernmost Resorts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

I fell in love with the Mango Tree Inn years ago while attending the Key West Songwriters Festival. Owners Johnny and Peggy Newberry are the most welcoming, kind people and they try to make ever stay at the Mango Tree Inn magic for each guest. From nice touches like flowers scattered about the room, to arranging entertainment options around town, they treat you just like family. The beautiful, large pool is only shared by four rooms, so you almost always have it to yourself. The beautiful front porch with ceiling fans is an awesome place to watch the world go by on Southard Street, just a block from Duval. Rooms in this late 1890's guest house are all beautifully decorated and have private baths. Our favorite is the pool suite that includes a small kitchen and walks right out onto the pool deck. Stay at the Mango Tree and get to know Johnny and Peggy. On your next trip, it will feel just like home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed at the Mango Tree Inn for an extended Memorial Day weekend. What a nice surprise this place turned out to be. Because of the reviews of noise, I was a little nervous. We are not 21 any more, and after a night out on Duval Street, we need as much good sleep as we can get!
The location is excellent. We were right in the middle of everything, and everywhere that we wanted to go. We stayed in the Orchid Room on the second floor overlooking the pool. The room was small, but not too small. The way that we view the room is that we're there to sleep at night, nap in the afternoon to get a break from the sun, and to get ready to go out for the evening. It was just right for the two of us. And the bathroom, which had been recently renovated, was very nice.
There were thoughtful little touches everywhere. Fresh beautiful flowers in the room when we arrived, along with a flower on our freshly made (and very comfortable) bed every morning when Kristina came in and tidied up for us every day. Yes, there were even flower petals in the toilet! The ice bucket was filled for us every day when Kristina came through. In the closet there was a beach bag with towels, in case we headed out to the beach, along with pool towels in the room for us. Unfortunately, it rained our last day there. But there was an umbrella in the closet for us to use. It was nice to not have to buy an umbrella!
For a smaller Inn, the pool was a nice size. We were only able to spend one day at the pool, but we had it to ourselves. We even had the chance to swim with Kaley, Peggy and Johnny's 10-year old dog.
As we were checking in, Peggy was very accomodating and helpful. She was able to book us reservations for dinner at Seven Fish one night. Usually we do this ourselves, but it was nice to have that taken care of for us! Anything we needed, and Peggy was there for us.
Noise was not an issue for us at all. We did hear our neighbors in the next room coming or going in the middle of the night on one of the nights, but that is something that you'd deal with any place. We also ran the AC every night, so that did a good job of providing the white noise to block everything else out.
Everywhere you looked at the Inn-- outside, in the hallways, in our room-- we saw personal touches. The care that Peggy and Johnny took in decorating the Inn, and the pictures on the walls tell the story of their love for Key West and for this Inn that they also call their home.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shamrock17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

As a couple in our 40s, this place couldn't have been better! We stayed in the poolside suite and it was perfect for us. It had a full kitchen which we only used to make sandwiches for the beach and the fridge to keep our drinks cold but if we were staying longer, I probably would've made a meal or two since there was a market right around the corner. The Inn was conveniently located. The pool was a nice size and right outside our door. There are only 3 rooms for rent which was perfect since the place was quiet and I think we were the youngest couple there. :) Peggy set us up with bike rentals which were delivered right to the Inn. Another convenience. I have not one complaint. It was clean and comfortable. Especially the bed! It had wi-fi. And everyone was friendly. I would definitely stay there again in the poolside suite! We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CampHillGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

I had already booked the Mango Tree when I read some reviews complaining about parking and noise. We arrived with a little trepidation. So parking, we didn't really have an issue and Peggy is on the case anyway. Noise, yeah there is a little but not a huge issue, didn't stop us sleeping. The air conditioner was very loud but we were able to turn it off as the heat wasn't too bad. The inn itself is a delight, really nice, very quaint, just how we imagined it. We had the octagonal suite, very spacious, good shower room and kitchen facilities. Lots of really nice touches, the beautiful flowers already mentioned in other reviews, a beach bag with beach tools in it, how fab is that? Really good quality toiletries, coffee etc. We would definitely stay again if we came to Key West

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyMadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.2 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#13 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Habitation
L'Habitation
#48 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#49 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#61 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Tree Inn

Property: Mango Tree Inn
Address: 603 Southard St, Key West, FL 33040-6837
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Mango Tree Hotel Key West
Mango Tree Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing