We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of L'Habitation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
L'Habitation
Ranked #47 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed here for New Years this past year and it was the best trip to Key West I have ever had! Stuart was extremely helpful and made us feel very much at home. I cannot say enough good things about this place. It is an excellent location and has a great front porch. It is just off of Duval and you can walk anywhere! Extremely clean. The staff really makes you feel like you are are just staying with some friends for the weekend.

Room Tip: Be sure you read the description of the room and make sure there is enough sleeping room for the peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gstxangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

My wife and I took our first trip to Key West Florida on the Fast Boat from Fort Myers, Florida and found this well located B&B on Eaton street. WE spent two nights in February and found L'habitation i to be well located in the heart of every activity worth our time. No need for an automobile since every activity was simply steps away from Duval Street where much if the action is day or night. Prices were very competitive and the rooms very clean and for the most part Quiet. The breakfast was varied enough and the coffee good. we had a room off the front porch where quests can gather out side to relax. our second night was quite noisy as a few guests gathered to talk well after 11pm. I easily corrected this by asking them to move their discussion else where. Suggest you avoid rooms 11 and 12 if possible.

Room Tip: avoid rooms 11 and 12 near the front porch,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BERT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night during our first trip to Key West. As this was our first visit to Key West, we cannot really compare it to any other hotels in the area. The proximity to the night life on Duval St was great. We were a 2 minute walk to all of the restaurants and bars. Our room was a good size, had plenty of space for storing our bags and even had a couch in it. The shower was tiny, I am a normal size person and could barely fit in the shower.

As was mentioned in many other reviews the breakfast consisted of Coffee and Tea, cold pastries, donuts, oatmeal and fruit. We ended up going out for breakfast.

Lastly, in looking for a hotel, L'Habitation was much more affordable than other properties with similar reviews and locations. Overall, we will likely stay at this hotel again if we return to Key West based on the price and the location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbucker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

Me and a friend decided to take a road trip one day to key west not knowing it was hemming way days and I think we got the last room on the island staff was extremely nice! After a long night of partying we woke up on our day to leave to realize we lost out truck keys! We walked down stairs and told the owner what happened she held our luggage for us until we back tracked where we went to! I'm going to the key west poker run 2013 and this was the 1st and only place I looked to reserve a room can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missmuddy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in peak period and found all to be highly satisfactory.

Simple breakfast on verandah was great for chatting with other guests.

Free parking available in surrounding streets

Room had fan and air conditioning.

Communal coffee machine was great.

A bit noisy but we were very central on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DXBTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We absolutely adored our first stay at L'Habitation in January, and we're positive it won't be our last visit! Our room was very very quiet, on the first floor at the back of the house. The room, bathroom and closet/storage area were perfect, just what we needed to come back to when retreating from either the heat or the Duval street craziness. The proximity to the attractions we wanted to see (Hemingway house, Mallory Square, etc.) was perfect, and it was just close enough to make the shops & restaurants on Duval street convenient without being right on top of the noise and nonsense. The door to the bathroom is a vented door (like what you'd find on a closet), so if you're super-modest you might find a sheet or beach towel to drape over it for a little more privacy, but maybe I'm the only shy one ;)

Keep in mind, it is a Guesthouse, NOT actually a B&B (their own website doesn't claim it's a B&B, so some travelers may be confused by some of the travel websites' classification of it with B&B's....). Coffee, tea, donuts, pastries etc. were served upstairs in the mornings (the stairs are a *little* steep so if you have any mobility issues you might be better off sending a friend/family member upstairs to bring food back down, my husband had this issue), and there are front and back porches to enjoy your down time. There is an ice machine upstairs and 2 small refrigerators in the lobby with water & soda with a $1 honor-system basket. (There was also a small refrigerator in the room, just perfect for sodas and a 1/2 gallon of milk)

There is little free parking in old town Key West, we lucked out and found a free spot for 4 days, but for the most part you do have to pay to park on the street or the lot in front of the post office (or the municipal building parking lot around the corner during the weekend).

Overall L'Habitation was a WONDERFUL place to stay and we're already plotting another visit for later in the year :)

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter (away from the street) If anyone in your party has mobility issues ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LillyJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

L'Habitation was a great find. Located close to the (overrated) Duval street, Hemingway House, beaches, state parks, shops and restaurants, and Truman Annex. The guest house has a relaxed feel, with free tea, coffee and donuts available, as well as a great selection of magazines and books. Breakfast includes pastries, muffins, oats, fruit, and can be enjoyed on the upstairs terrace. There is also a lovely front porch with comfortable lounges- a great place to have dinner/a drink and watch the world go by. The staff were exceptionally friendly, providing directions, information on free parking, and free towels for the beach.

Our room with two queen beds was spacious and tastefully decorated, and the housekeeping was faultless. The only negatives relate to the large hotel located directly behind L'Habitation; their garbage compactor's odor can be smelt from the upper terrace of the guest house, and on a Tuesday morning we were woken up at 4:30 by the garbage trucks. Minor issues to be sure, and they certainly didn't impact on our enjoyment here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcf171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#34 of 77 in Key West
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#54 of 77 in Key West
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Speakeasy Inn
Speakeasy Inn
#9 of 77 in Key West
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
1,565 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Palms Hotel- Key West
The Palms Hotel- Key West
#46 of 77 in Key West
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Habitation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Habitation

Address: 408 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6512
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £149 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — L'Habitation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful historic Conch home, built in 1939, with eleven spacious, individually personalized rooms, all with private bathrooms, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, less than 1/2 block from Duval Street. Our rates are competitive and include a daily continental breakfast, and complimentary welcome beverage (wine between 4:00 and 5:00 pm on Fridays and Saturdays), and concierge services available at the front desk. All rooms have a refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your L'Habitation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Habitation Hotel Key West
L'Habitation Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing