We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 years in a row, we love L' Habitation!”
Review of L'Habitation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'Habitation
Ranked #41 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2013

L' Habitation is the perfect location and a great price!! We just spent 7 nights there, and was our 4th year in a row staying there in March (week 10 or 11), and we love it! Stewart and Helena are very welcoming, and remember us every year. Very clean rooms, very safe area and very comfortable. We'll be back in March 2014!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darrin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

We have stayed here several times and really like the day we are accomadated.always clean and a nice breakfast every morning!You can't go wrong with this place.Very covisnt to Duvall St and area restaurants

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tireguy4911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This house has a great location, and cute rooms.

We stayed in room 21 which is the only two bedroom. It was my girlfriend and I also joined by another couple. We unfortunately planned our vacation this past week during spring break. I say it was unfortunate because we were harassed the entire time by the owners of this house. They said they " don't take spring breakers" fair enough but we are not "spring breakers" we all work full-time jobs and have children of our own. Once we told them to stop harassing us about "being on spring break" we were accused of smuggling people into our rooms. The husband asked me "how many people were in your room last night"? I told him myself, my girlfriend, and the other couple. He said "are you sure there wernt two other females in there?" Now why would two couple on vacation together bring two strange women into our rooms?? Doesn't make sense. So we said we understand you are trying to comfort your other guest but you are making us feel uncomfortable and we don't even want to stay here any longer...

we were asked to pay the whole reservation up-front and I knew that felt weird when they asked us, but I thought it may be their policy. But I figured that out to be wrong once we checked out, the wife says all I need is your keys it looks like you already paid. So now they have completely profiled this 25-28 year old group as being spring breakers, human traffickers, and poor. What did they think we were going to not have the money to pay them at the end? (they have a credit card on file for a reason)

They also lock the back patio at night so you cant relax anywhere on the property except your bedroom and the front porch where homeless people live. The maid doesnt go out of her way she makes your bed and gives you new towels that's it. The maid is a snoop her name is Maria and I set my laptop up and watched her open our cooler up to see what was inside of it (I was recording with my webcam).

Another night while downstairs waiting for our girlfriends to run up stairs real quick to grab something, my girlfriend sent me a picture of a half naked man sleeping with his door wide opened within 10 feet of our room.

Key west was amazing, this house was terrible we spent over a thousand dollars for three nights and got harassed the whole time this is my first review ever writing because I just couldn't allow anyone to go here expecting a decent experience.

Its in a great location though!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed here for New Years this past year and it was the best trip to Key West I have ever had! Stuart was extremely helpful and made us feel very much at home. I cannot say enough good things about this place. It is an excellent location and has a great front porch. It is just off of Duval and you can walk anywhere! Extremely clean. The staff really makes you feel like you are are just staying with some friends for the weekend.

Room Tip: Be sure you read the description of the room and make sure there is enough sleeping room for the peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gstxangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My wife and I took our first trip to Key West Florida on the Fast Boat from Fort Myers, Florida and found this well located B&B on Eaton street. WE spent two nights in February and found L'habitation i to be well located in the heart of every activity worth our time. No need for an automobile since every activity was simply steps away from Duval Street where much if the action is day or night. Prices were very competitive and the rooms very clean and for the most part Quiet. The breakfast was varied enough and the coffee good. we had a room off the front porch where quests can gather out side to relax. our second night was quite noisy as a few guests gathered to talk well after 11pm. I easily corrected this by asking them to move their discussion else where. Suggest you avoid rooms 11 and 12 if possible.

Room Tip: avoid rooms 11 and 12 near the front porch,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BERT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night during our first trip to Key West. As this was our first visit to Key West, we cannot really compare it to any other hotels in the area. The proximity to the night life on Duval St was great. We were a 2 minute walk to all of the restaurants and bars. Our room was a good size, had plenty of space for storing our bags and even had a couch in it. The shower was tiny, I am a normal size person and could barely fit in the shower.

As was mentioned in many other reviews the breakfast consisted of Coffee and Tea, cold pastries, donuts, oatmeal and fruit. We ended up going out for breakfast.

Lastly, in looking for a hotel, L'Habitation was much more affordable than other properties with similar reviews and locations. Overall, we will likely stay at this hotel again if we return to Key West based on the price and the location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbucker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

Me and a friend decided to take a road trip one day to key west not knowing it was hemming way days and I think we got the last room on the island staff was extremely nice! After a long night of partying we woke up on our day to leave to realize we lost out truck keys! We walked down stairs and told the owner what happened she held our luggage for us until we back tracked where we went to! I'm going to the key west poker run 2013 and this was the 1st and only place I looked to reserve a room can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missmuddy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.1 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#17 of 77 in Key West
725 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#18 of 77 in Key West
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#52 of 77 in Key West
243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#32 of 77 in Key West
483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 77 in Key West
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Habitation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Habitation

Address: 408 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6512
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £152 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — L'Habitation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful historic Conch home, built in 1939, with eleven spacious, individually personalized rooms, all with private bathrooms, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, less than 1/2 block from Duval Street. Our rates are competitive and include a daily continental breakfast, and complimentary welcome beverage (wine between 4:00 and 5:00 pm on Fridays and Saturdays), and concierge services available at the front desk. All rooms have a refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your L'Habitation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Habitation Hotel Key West
L'Habitation Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing