We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value B & B Off Duval” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Habitation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
L'Habitation
Ranked #49 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Value B & B Off Duval”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed at L'Habitation for a week in January with another couple. We stayed in room 17 and they were in 18. These two rooms share a small deck, perfect for planning the day over a glass of champagne or having a drink before heading out to dinner.

Our room was good sized and very clean. We had a small refrigerator and a very small closet. The only real knock on the room is the small bathroom, especially the shower. Just enough space for one person to turn around in the shower. Also, the bed was just a little hard for my taste, but not enough to be a real issue.

L'Habitation is just off Duval, but within easy walking distance to many points of interest, including Mallory Square. For anything further away, they have a small number of bikes for rent on the property, though not enough for everyone, so reserve yours early if you want one.

Next to L'Habitation is a movie theatre and a couple more doors down is a really good donut shop. In fact, pastries from the donut shop show up at the breakfast.

The breakfast is not much, just some fruit and pastries and cereal. They don't have a commercial kitchen, so they can't do anything hot.

In summary, L'Habitation is a good value for staying in Key West. Being off Duval allows it to charge less than a B & B right on Duval, but it is still in a great location. We would certainly go back there the next time we are in Key West.

Room Tip: If you are going with another couple, try to get rooms 17 and 18. They share a small semi-private d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    68
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
120
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a bed and breakfast type of room. Beautiful old house really close to the famous Duval St. and close to the beach. The decor felt very much like a tropical getaway. The rooms were very clean with small refrigerator, tv, etc.---- everything you would need. It has a big front porch with nice patio furniture to enjoy the Key West breezes. Reasonably priced.

I highly recommend this place. I really enjoyed staying there

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PCamp18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I can't say enough about L'Habitation Guest House! Very clean, welcoming and quiet - despite being just 1/2 block from Duval Street. A perfect location for exploring Old Town because you can walk everywhere and return to your room for breaks during the day.
I'm staying in Room 18, which is located at the back. It's small, but it includes a little fridge and a TV. The real bonus, though, is the private shaded patio right outside the door! A great place to relax and check email with their free WiFi.
Breakfast exceeded my expectations - incredible pastries, fresh fruit, juice, coffee/tea, hot chocolate and instant oatmeal.
Stuart (spelling?) is absolutely charming and so helpful with recommendations of what to see and do. I highly recommend L'Habitation for an authentic Old Town feel, and hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: Go for Room 18 or 19 at the back .. very private and quiet with the added bonus of shaded patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I have stayed at L'Habitation six times and had guests with us on 4 trips. We find that this is one of the best locations in Key West. Being only one half block from Duval, we end up returning to L'Habitation probably four or more times a day. The short walking distance to all the points of interest make this location really great. Having stayed at other places before finding this place, we heard street traffic until four and shortly after that stopped the roosters started crowing and shortly after that the street cleaners started to work. This place is quiet and very convenient. Stewart and Helen are extremely helpful in all situations. I would question anybody's statement that says different . The place is well maintained and the staff does their job efficently. Any trip to Key West I would definitely stay with them again.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms not next to porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iwe149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canaan, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed for three nights (Jan 27-30) in the small Room 20. Very quiet and comfortable, although we were there mid week. A great base as most Key West activities are within 10 minute stroll. We enjoyed the fine breakfast spreads, including fresh fruit and pastries. As I am an early riser and my wife is not, I enjoyed early am ambles through Old Town followed by relaxing time on the rear terrace or front porch.

Stuart is a wonderful host, with helpful suggestions to maximize the KW experience. We know we will book next time we return to Paradise.

Room Tip: Room 20 is very comfortable and quiet -- once you get used to sloping ceiling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canaanite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Pretty, clean B&B with a great location, less than a block away from Duval Street. The rooms were large, breakfast was yummy, and the staff is very nice and accommodating. Bike rentals are on offer too. It had everything I was looking for and more. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bizoubazinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We had a really good time at this small cozy BB hotel. Nice clean and good size room and perfect located in the old and central part of the city. Nice breakfast at the balcony, friendly service and good atmosphere. Also a plus that you can rent bikes in the reception.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnitaBrixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
The Saint Hotel Key West, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Casa 325
Casa 325
#30 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#50 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#20 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smallest Bar Inn
Smallest Bar Inn
#69 of 77 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Lane Villas
Rose Lane Villas
#2 of 19 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Habitation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Habitation

Property: L'Habitation
Address: 408 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6512
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — L'Habitation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your L'Habitation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Habitation Hotel Key West
L'Habitation Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing