We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caroline's Cafe

Caroline's Cafe
Ranked #46 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Caroline's offers appetizers, fresh green salads, sandwiches, entrees and some of the best specialty cocktails on the Island! We offer free delivery to Old Town and all our food is prepared to order. Perfect views of Key West life on Duval Street from our raised, sidewalk cafe.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cool lunch spot”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

After sightseeing all morning in Key West, and enjoying some cocktails as we walked down Duvall street, we realized how hungry we all were. Caroline's had been recommended to us at one of the bars we stopped at. It was a great recommendation ! I ordered the burger and it was delicious! The portion sizes were very large, and the service was excellent! Loved sitting on the patio for great people watching.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,129
    1,457
    368
    93
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Fun atmosphere but my husband and I split a meal and so I guess the waitress adjusted her attitude accordingly. She was slow in serving, refilling our tea, etc. that was a turn off for us.

The tea was very good, by the way.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Value”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We thought Caroline's was the best value for your money in Key West. Went there twice for fresh lunch salads that were delicious and the prices were very fair. Great place to have drinks and people watch and the staff are quick and friendly. Great spot right in the middle of everything.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dcfoodfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Delicious meal, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I were looking for a good, not terribly expensive place to have lunch our first day in Key West. I remembered reading TripAdvisor reviews, so we thought we'd try Caroline's Cafe. I'm glad we did. We sat in the back section of the outdoor dining area which was cozy and was not crowded at all. We even got entertainment provided by a wandering chicken ;) My husband ordered the shrimp BLT and I opted for Caroline's Famous Fish sandwich. The serving size was very generous and came with a side of fries, so we definitely did not walk away hungry. Our waiter was very attentive, checking in with us several times. I will definitely visit again if I get back to Key West!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tigerv68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great afternoon patio dining!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Food and service was really good! People watching was great! Had the ahi tuna salad and it was nice and fresh. The only reason I couldn't give it a full five star rating is because we weren't allowed to sit at a table we wanted because they didn't have a server for it. They were polite about it and I understand sections and all. But they weren't full on the patio and it would have been nice for them to compromise. Other than that food and service were on point!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heatha1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caroline's Cafe also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Caroline's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing