We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I must say I am very picky when it comes to staying places. Santa Maria suites NEVER disappoints! I have stayed here several times, as I live in Ft. Lauderdale. The staff is great, the rooms are always very clean, you cannot beat the location. The pool is awesome and they have the best smoothies! Also set us up with scooter rentals and anything else you need when you are there. I dont even like muffins and their muffins are the best! I always bring some home with me! I would HIGHLY recommend staying here if you are going to Key West.

Room Tip: Every room is good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business again...and again. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return again….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,443
    198
    49
    15
    8
See reviews for
686
508
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed here for two nights in October in a 2 bedroom suite. The suites are very nice! They have a beautiful kitchen, comfortable beds, with a nice living room. They offer smoothies by the pools and snacks in the later afternoon. It's conveniently located - it's near the beach and near Duvall Street but also just far enough away from Duvall Street that one does not get all the noise from the folks who like to visit all the bars late at night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Santa Maria suites were ideal for the 4 of us, we had a 2 bedroom suite, it was very clean and well stocked. Anything we used was quickly replaced and fresh muffins and chocolates were left every evening. The staff were helpful advising us about where to visit in the area. The swimming pool area was very well looked after. We chose these suites because it was in a central area but not on noisy Duval street. I would certainly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs suite over looking the pools, I think this would be quieter than the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JANE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I'm glad you enjoyed all the amenities...and thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I saw the excellent reviews before we left but I'm always a skeptic when it comes to cleanliness of a hotel. But hands down, this place was awesome! We had great service and the rooms were really clean. The staff had chocolate dove bars in our freezer every night for us as well as fresh muffins in the morning. Happy hour was a plus too with free wine from 4-5:30 near the pool. We had a wonderful time and can't say one bad thing about this place. I would absolutely recommend this everyone! It truly is a tropical oasis!
- Kelly

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Happy Hour(1 1/2 hours) is always the best time of the day at Santa Maria Suites...and thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Room was an amazing two story that felt like a luxury condo and the pool was amazing. They arranged to have bike rentals for us from an off site company. Free smoothies at the pool:)
Staff super friendly but they are very strict with check out times. Usually at hotels 1pm is no problem but they were not OK with the late check out

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fitdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Unfortunantly and fortunantly...our resort has lots of early arrivals but you can alsways stay late and store your luggage.

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We always love staying at Santa Maria. Its like our home away from home. The staff and service is exceptional. The muffins they provide are the best around and I always save one to take home. I have sent many of our friends to key west and stay at Santa Maria. Thanks to everyone for another great weekend.
Pamela N.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Super wedding! Wonderful bride and groom!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is a very clean and modern place to stay. Dusti was wonderful with helping to arrange a side trip and suggestions of restaurants and attractions.
The pool and area was extremely clean and well kept, but hard to enjoy when parents and nannies don't discipline the kids. Management should be a bit stricter with pool rules, I know it is hard to keep everyone happy but cannonballs into the pool should not be happening at a place of this caliber. The beach area that you have access to is a couple of blocks away and not worth the walk. It was very small, crowded and a bit dirty.
I was also surprised that you were expected to transfer your own luggage, there was no bell service offered, and if you had a 2 bedroom suite it meant you carried your bags from the lot then up a set of stairs into the suite and up another set of stairs to the bedrooms. Stayed here 6 days, only received turn down service 2 days the other 4 days the candy was left on kitchen counter with the morning muffins. Our room was not made up till almost 4 pm each day which was disruptive when getting ready for evening plans.
I may be a bit picky, but I expect what I pay for. The staff is wonderful and pleasant which makes you overlook any disappointment you may have.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

We are family friendly so some times kids get a little loud but we try hard to balance out the activities around the pool for all.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Property: Santa Maria Suites
Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort
Santa Maria Suites Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing