We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with family members for 3 days. From the time we arrived until the time we left the staff were superb and couldn't have been more helpful. We had a 2 level 2 bedroom suite which is great having a nice lounge and a fabulous kitchen. We loved the fact that they have everything including washer tumble dryer dish washer etc. We have stayed in Key West many times and will certainly use this hotel again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlAnstice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! Yes, the washer and dryer in each suite comes in handy when you are traveling...smaller suite case to carry.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,413
    195
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
667
501
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terrell, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

As our second stay at this location. We did not find anything out of place. The desk staff was very accommodating and helpful with any of our needs (reservations and local information). Housekeeping was excellent and the accommodations were outstanding. The resort was just as beautiful as we remembered it. Meticulously maintained grounds and pool area.

Everything was absolutely perfect for us with the exception of two very small items. Unfortunately there is still a lot of cigarette smoking allowed on Key West both in hotels and in many restaurants. I believe Santa Maria Suites could acquire and sustain a perfect 5 star “outstanding” rating if the grounds were improved and changed to non-smoking which could be a consideration for the resort in the future. Pool side is usually monitored, managed and controlled for any unruly kids so if there is a problem don't get involved - just see the management. They will do everything they can to accommodate you peace for everyone.

This resort is really laid out and set up for adults and most mature children. Screaming kids could ruin your day, so say something to the front desk if they do. I hate to pick on kids or the rather the poor parenting skills of the parents but the screaming kids, but the screaming, splashing, cannon balls and running around is absolutely not what the resort needs. Try Disney, Carnival or a more child friendly resort on the island.

Santa Maria Suites is an higher end resort that could easily meet expectations of the most discerning traveler with a few modifications that clearly stand out and as documented by many other travelers. The price to stay at the resort might be what some consider high but the quality accommodations, grounds and staff support the value. Not much else on the island can come close to the resort.

Room Tip: Make sure you walk to Louis Bar behind the resort - we missed it the first time. Excellent Food - G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLCsul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you for returning...yes, certain times of the year we have more families. Our two bedroom suites with full kitchens and washer & dryers are a favorite of families. We hope to see you again!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed there 4 nights in December, just after 3 nights at Southernmost House. Our accommodation was a 1br suite (actually converted from 2br with a locked door).

The bedroom upstairs as a little cramped but OK for us. The downstairs was great - it had a large kitchen with modern appliances, clothes washer and dryer in the hallway, and a small living room with couch, TV and balcony. Very practical all around for a longer term stay on the island. You can cook here no problem if you want to avoid going out every night.

Most of the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, willing to go the extra mile to accommodate you. For instance - we requested and got early check-in, and were able to extend our stay by a couple of extra days as a result of some room juggling by the staff.

Pool was a nice place to relax, and the smoothies delicious :) Location is next to Southernmost on the Beach, and you have complimentary use of the beach and pool there.

Overall - we highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! Try our Flat suites at your next visit to Santa Maria Suites, the bedrooms are a little larger.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, CT
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Property is in a great location. Outdoor space is beautiful and staff very nice whenever we requested something it was done right away. The weird thing about this place is the housekeeping. One day towels next day no towels. Guest bathroom never had towels... Just strange. On request all things appeared. Rooms not cleaned until almost 5:00 pm. I would come back and stay again but would like to see a new person in charge of housekeeping!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmhvineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I followed up with housekeeping...I can also put notes in your history to clean your suite earlier in the day. You can always request a time. We usually clean check out suites first so arriving guests can check in....so someone is always later in the day...next time it won't be you.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I stayed at Santa Maria Suites over the Christmas holiday in Key West. Overall, I was happy with the stay but have mixed feelings if it was worth the cost to stay there.

It was very peaceful at night and easy to get good sleep. The condo units are very clean, modern, and well kept. However, it felt very "European style", and I question if the kitchens and bathrooms were outfitted through IKEA (I could tell the cabinets were laminated particle board because some were swelling from being wet).

Pros:
-Nice, Friendly, Helpful Staff
-Location is great: only a 10-15 minute walk to the busy part of Duval Street (and the other side of the key) or a 5-10 minute walk to Higgs Beach.
-The pool area was never overly crowded and was kept very clean.
-Free smoothies (all day) and wine by the pool (in the evenings).


Cons:
-The kitchen has no dining table... there are only bar stools to sit on.
-The 'fitness center' is basically three pieces of poorly kept equipment in a little closet sized room. Don't plan on working out there.
-Definitely overpriced at ~$750 per night... going at Christmas didn't help.

Room Tip: All rooms are located in a horse shoe shape around the pool. There are only two levels. We were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zhocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Yes I agree, Key West is a pricy place to visit and Winter break is during the highest demand period of the year. FYI...Key West is the most expensive destination in the continental US...higher rates than then NYC but I think you get a great value of options and security in Key West.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The 2 bedroom bi-level suite was suitable for our family of 4 (including 2 teenagers), very modern with a washer/dryer, 2-1/2 baths and equipped kitchen. Everything seemed new, and in working order. Nice touches included the poolside smoothies, wine and pita/hummus during happy hour, available basket of suntan lotions, turndown nightly service with muffins, chocolates and small dove ice cream bars. Our suite was fairly quiet, despite the large group next door, so the walls must be fairly thick. The staff was pleasant. Location was great, near the water, walking distance to the action, near a market. However, certain items annoyed me - the daily resort fee seems to be a Key West staple, and I was OK with that, given we did get something for that charge. However, the suite could accomodate up to 5 people, but for person #4 they charged an extra $25 a day. Also, both bedrooms had a queen bed, so one of my boys had to sleep downstairs on the sleeper sofa. The parking lot is small, and we were mindful of not using the car lest we lose our parking space. Also, the maids never came on the early side, usually after 3:30, even later, typically when we were back from daytime activities. Still, all in all, the many positives outweigh the negatives, and I would definitely go back to Santa Maria suites.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MHoffmanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Parking is always a tough issue in Key West. Most resorts in Key West have an extra parking charge or don't supply parking....we do and at no cost. We provide a lot of amenities and are based on a per person fee so a couple does not use as much as a 5 in a room. Extra person fees allows Santa Maria to provide amenities to everyone staying at the resort based on how may people in your suite. I hope you understand.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Santa Maria is tough to rate. The hotel setting is amazing since the rooms all face into a Courtyard setting (more like a fancy motel style, but not facing the parking lot). The courtyard is exceptionally lush and very peaceful with a small double-pool that is heated. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The staff is courteous and helpful. I doubt there are many hotels that are as nice as the Santa Maria in Key West.

However, there were a couple problems:

First, the hotel offers beach access, but only to a public beach that is completely on the other side of one of their competitors. The hotel has an arrangement with the public beach attendant to provide free beach chairs to their guests. However, there were no chairs available when we showed up at 1pm. The attendant told us that they would be available in about 15 minutes. We waited for over an hour, but were never provided chairs. We suspect that the vacated chairs were being provided to public guests that were paying cash on the spot. Its not acceptable for there to be an inadequate supply of chairs.

Second, there were not enough parking spaces available in Santa Maria's lot. We were very afraid of using our car for fear of not finding a spot when we returned. As a result, we never moved our car during our multi-day stay. I suggest that when the parking lot is full, they offer complimentary valet parking services to dispel any worries associated with parking.

Therefore, without the beach and parking issues, I would rate the hotel a "4" based on pure value since it really is a nice, but pricey property. However, the issues noted above bring the rating down to "3".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Misiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I spoke with the beach attendants and we are a priority for them. Parking is always an issue in Key West...most resorts change an extra fee for parking but we do not and we have a space for every unit. We also have free parking on South street so we always have parking available for our guests.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Property: Santa Maria Suites
Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort
Santa Maria Suites Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing