We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, a couple of minor adjustments would make it excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here last minute having checked out of the Casa Marina Hotel because it was so disappointing. We were glad we made the change and were very pleased with our experience here. The resort is high quality, with well appointed, luxurious rooms and amenities. The staff on the front desk are very friendly and helpful and the lady who works the outdoor bar and pool areas most days is a great asset to the establishment. On our first night we were able to stay in a larger suite which was pretty much perfect. The rest of the time we were in a smaller suite which although very nice was rather cramped in the bedroom and bathroom. I think the layout in the bedroom could use a rethink. Smaller taps in the shower would also provide more space. Everything about the apartments though was of the highest quality, the marble floors and bright quality tiling were all great touches. Having our own kitchen as well as washing machine and tumble dryer was also very useful. All the kitchen and Laundry equipment was also of the highest quality. This hotel appears to care about its guests and the provision of water, ice creams, smoothies, muffins, chocolates and even a Happy hour are lovely touches. The only thing which really stops this resort being excellent is the cleaning staff. They were just so sullen and unfriendly all the time, plus when we moved into our room there were kids handprints on the glass wall from the previous occupants and they remained there for our entire stay. Attention to detail when cleaning is clearly lacking. Also, the idea of the muffins delivered to the rooms is great, but they are not nice muffins. One could argue that as they are complimentary one should just be grateful, but I presume our resort fee covers things like the muffins and I would prefer no muffin to a heavy glutinous one. Also, why charge the resort fee as an extra? Why not just include it in the price of the room? Overall though a great stay and we certainly would stay again on future trips to Key West.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank likestotravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for all your thoughts and comments!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

902 - 908 of 1,891 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

We love this place. Plenty of room for family of 4. Great treats in room. Nice happy hour. Pool is splendid. Beach access real close. On the quieter end of Duval St which is perfect. Concierge is really helpful.

Room Tip: It's small enough that all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BFamMarietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! ...and the "Perfect" comment!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here in October 2013. We stayed in an upper level room with the kitchen, washer dryer, living room on the first level and the bedrooms on the top level. We were not facing the pool, but it was still within sight. The unit was very clean, beds were comfy and grounds well kept. The service was excellent and the special treats they offer - smoothies, wine hour at the pool and frozen treats and muffins made our stay even more special. This hotel is within walking distance of Duval and the Southernmost point café. We are already planning our next visit!

Room Tip: Great location near end of Duval, near Southernmost Point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! Please come visit soon...been too long! October 2013 was a long time ago! Key West and Santa Maria Suites misses you!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

smaller boutique hotel. we shared a 2nd/3rd floor two bedroom suite with another couple. good location, very clean suite with special treats like muffins, ice cream, smoothies. bedrooms in our suite were small and with queen (soft) beds, but comes with kitchen, washer and dryer and living room. the ground floor suites are worth the extra cost (easy pool access) and our other group had a 2 bedroom with larger rooms and king beds. staff was very nice and accommodating. they also have a free smoothines all day and a free wine happy hour at the pool from 4-5:30. pool was small but nice.

Room Tip: get a ground floor room for best pool access, rent bikes and you don't need a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTDub2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Very good recommendation to leave your car at home....Key West is nice to walk or ride a bike.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had a wonderful experience and would return to SMS.

Positives:
Small, boutique-y complex is very peaceful and private.
Suites are attractive and intelligently designed - very easy to live in for a week.
Southernmost location perfect if you want occasional, walkable access to Duval Street/tourist mania without actually having to stay in it.
Great/diverse dining options within walking distance.
Pool concierge/amenities really add to the experience.

Needs work:
Housekeeping, while not so poor I would not return, could definitely use improvement. Many missed details and lack of professionalism in guest interactions.
Service is 50/50. There are some amazing stand-outs on the staff, but just as many who don't meet the same standard.
The restaurant is average at best, and our server was poorly trained.
The beach at Southernmost is not fabulous - small, crowded and kind of tired looking. We walked (although better to bike) to Fort Zach, which is much nicer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cokem26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I apologize for the issues you outlined and spoke with our housekeeping manager as well as the owner of the restaurant....again thank you for your comments and glad you liked the resort. Next visit, I will make sure it will be excellent!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel was very nice and the staff most helpful. Apologies for not getting the blond at the pool bars name but SMS whatever you do, don't lose her! At her recommendation we took a sunset cruise our last evening that made the trip! The front desk was helpful with reservations and taxi's. The unit we were in could sleep 6 if needed - we had 4. Beds were comfortable didn't try the sleep sofa. Kitchen very handy - you could cook full blown meals easily or simply grab a yogurt from the fridge for breakfast. Fresh muffins everyday and chocolates and mini Dove ice cream bars at night. Free smoothies all day by the pool and a very pleasant free happy hour in the evening. When we were there not many kids and always lounge chairs available by the pool - I can imagine that this might not always be true and this is not really designed for young kids. Beach next door came with free lounge chair and towel and for $10 more you could get an umbrella - it was okay. Will do Gulf side beach next time.
The negatives? There was a 100% swing in price on this hotel for us - if you made the effort to book in advance you were penalized - we could have booked on Expedia while we were there for 2/3rds the price! And I do have to agree with the poor housekeeping review: There was a used Kleenex on the floor on our arrival from a prior guest and it was there when we left. A platform bed is a good idea because dirt and trash doesn't collect underneath but it did collect around the edge and that wasn't cleaned before we got there or while we were there. We did ask for the sheets to be changed (you have to put a sign on the bed requesting this) during our stay. And yes, the housekeeping starts late - that was a plus for us for sleeping in. We didn't appreciate the drunks (adults) in the pool after hours one night - very noisy and woke us up - no one there to do anything about it.
So watch the pricing, ignore the poor housekeeping and hope you don't have people that loudly break the pool rules and you'll have a nice time! It's conveniently at the quiet end of Duval. You can have a leisurely breakfast in your room rather than facing a restaurant 1st thing in the morning and enjoy a glass of wine by the pool in the evening before walking to the pier to take in the sunset. We'd do again, I think but would research pricing much more carefully...it wasn't worth the price we paid but would have been worth the price Expedia offered.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L0VE-TRAVEL-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I apologize for the issues you stated. Please let me know when you plan to return. Our rates do fluctuate based on type of suite, location and number of people. Some of our partner sites only show the 2 person rate or the lowest rated located suite. I always recommend booking directly with the resort or use the resort's website. We match rates if you can tell us where you are seeing a lower rate too. That is the same with most hotels/resorts.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

From the moment I walked through the lobby into the pool area, I FEEL IN LOVE! The sense of being in a secluded resort surrounded by beautiful coconut & palm trees with orchids growing from the trunks. Amazing, courteous staff...5stars!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! FYI...most all of the orchids are presently blooming and really beautiful to see.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,218 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,842 reviews
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites Hotel

Address: 1401 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £321 - £645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Santa Maria Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort
Santa Maria Suites Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing