We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little gem in Key West” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Little gem in Key West”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I would actually give this place 4 1/2 stars, but there's no half star. This is a beautiful property, well-maintained, with an extremely accommodating staff. The suite is well appointed, upscale, and very clean. I have celiac disease & need a kitchen because eating out is problematic. The kitchen is well appointed (except for lack of cooking bowls & dull knives). The toiletries are bath & body & very nice (not cheap chinese toiletries with fake upscale names that are going in some of the other hotels recently). The muffins, teas, and dove bars are a really nice touch. Daily smoothies, fresh fruit, and evening cocktails put things over the top for a great stay. Management went out of their way to rectify a small problem with my son's phone charger. The street noise by the bedroom was a bit bothersome, but I don't know how that could be fixed. I liked the property on my first stay and it was even better this time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottyDogLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you for you review and kind words.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,413
    195
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
667
501
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I went there for 2 nights ... The place is beautiful and so clean. Karina was such a sweet heart and helpful . We had the two bedroom suite, each with a private full bathroom, full kitchen, a half bathroom downstairs, beautiful leaving room with a pullout couch. Washer and dryer. I love the place, amazing!
We will definitely go back. It's also just a block away from Duval street!

Room Tip: I think any room there is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Si K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! ...and the kind words.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I actually won a free three night stay and chose this hotel to stay. We extended our trip a little longer and paid the difference. I WILL be going back! The staff was so friendly and accommodating and the location was perfect! They have this little store just across the street for groceries and such. Ana's Cuban is attached to the store. This is a must for some great Cuban food and the best Cuban coffee! The suites are more like small apartments. I loved being able to do my laundry before I came home with the stackable in suite washer and dryer. The cucumber water was a welcome relief from the hot sun which was available poolside everyday as well as smoothies and ice cream. Cocktail hour was also nice with chips and hummus and wines from around the globe. I cannot say enough it was truly wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! So glad you enjoyed the resort and Key West.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived several hours early but were well accommodated by the staff, a great start. The room/suite was huge, we had a duplex (24) and would have happily lived there, flawless.

The second bedroom was locked as we were only using one but even without it was enormous. The wifi worked well.

Pool area was great. Fountains and trees masked out all the outside noise meaning its perfect location is not ruined by the noise.

The staff were excellent, we had great dinner recommendations and they had 24 hour front desk so when we checked out at 5am someone was on hand to help us out.

Would happily return if we are in Key West and would recommend it to everyone. Perhaps not as good for kids as adults although the pool areas are child friendly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FTP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! Yes, Our court yard and pool is an oasis from Duval street.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in a two-floor, two-bedroom, 2-1/2 bathroom suite with plenty of room for five. Amazing amenities, including muffins, chocolates, and turn-down service every evening; free smoothies and ice cream bars; happy hour; beach access. Very elegant place and amazing prices. Walking distance to everything in Key West. One of the best hotel values ever. Quiet. Great Internet access in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! ..and all the kind words.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were at the Santa Maria Suites Memorial Day weekend, for a five night stay. We had a two bedroom suite with four adults and one small child. The suite was on ground level near the pool. The accommodations were very comfortable, convenient and beautiful. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. There were no vacant rooms-- a full house but everything was kept in tip top shape. The extras made such a nice touch--the muffin man delivered fresh muffins and dove bars every night, during the day, by the pool, you get fresh made fruit smoothies too. It was peaceful and the lush tropical plantings around the site were really done right. We were able to enjoy our family vacation and just relax. Kudos to the Santa Maria Suites we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor with two bedrooms and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Mickey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! I'm glad you enjoyed all the amenities.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Accommodations, service, location and staff are all exceptional. Our room was consistently kept and cleaned, it is one of the cleanest hotels that our family has ever stayed in. Nardi and dusty are super friendly and knowledgable, definitely speak to them before you plan any trips they will point you in the best direction. This is our 3rd time staying here!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! Also thank you for the kind words about Nordi and Dusti.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Property: Santa Maria Suites
Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort
Santa Maria Suites Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing