We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Key West”
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Key West”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We drove from Fort Lauderdale to Key West and arrived at Santa Maria Suites in about 3 1/2 hours.
Perfect size hotel with 2 pools and great suites...we booked a two bedrooms unit with a full kitchen, salon, powder room and 2 bathrooms.
The staff want you to be satisfied and make you feel like you're part of their family.
The complimentary wine and smoothies on the pool are also very appreciated when happy hour comes in.
Would have book more nights if we knew that it would be that great.
Thanks for our amazing experience...we will definitely go back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JFR1Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you for the 5 Star rating.

I'm glad you enjoyed the resort ...thank you for all the kind words. Happy Hour is a great time to meet and talk while enjoying a glass of wine.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,486
    201
    49
    15
    8
See reviews for
708
518
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in a two-bedroom suite with another couple for 3 nights. Perfect location for us. Santa Maria Suites is located near the Southernmost Point. We rented bicycles and were able to travel around the island comfortably. The hotel and rooms were spacious, modern and clean. It's far enough away from the congested end of Duval Street to enjoy a peaceful stay, but just a short bike ride away from all the entertainment. It's not oceanfront, however it does have access to very nice beach amenities. Katrina in the front office was helpful and gracious with any of our requests and inquiries. Charles who worked at the pool smoothie bar was another stand out employee. Not only does he make a delicious smoothie, he went above and beyond helping us get directions for a store we wanted to visit. We wish we could have stayed another day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! I'm glad you enjoyed the service from Katrina and Charles.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family of four absolutely love this hotel. The atmosphere is so tranquil and relaxing. A nice change from the big bustling hotels. It was complete serenity. From the free smoothies poolside, free sunscreen if you need to reapply or forgot yours in your room, free muffins every morning, nightly turndown service with free dove chocolates AND dove ice cream bars, to the very spacious beautiful suites that easily accommodate four adults without tripping over each other, this hotel alone makes us eager to return to Key West just to get away from it all. The location is perfect as well. Far enough from the hustle bustle but close enough to still be a part of the action. Fabulous!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I would actually give this place 4 1/2 stars, but there's no half star. This is a beautiful property, well-maintained, with an extremely accommodating staff. The suite is well appointed, upscale, and very clean. I have celiac disease & need a kitchen because eating out is problematic. The kitchen is well appointed (except for lack of cooking bowls & dull knives). The toiletries are bath & body & very nice (not cheap chinese toiletries with fake upscale names that are going in some of the other hotels recently). The muffins, teas, and dove bars are a really nice touch. Daily smoothies, fresh fruit, and evening cocktails put things over the top for a great stay. Management went out of their way to rectify a small problem with my son's phone charger. The street noise by the bedroom was a bit bothersome, but I don't know how that could be fixed. I liked the property on my first stay and it was even better this time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottyDogLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you for you review and kind words.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I went there for 2 nights ... The place is beautiful and so clean. Karina was such a sweet heart and helpful . We had the two bedroom suite, each with a private full bathroom, full kitchen, a half bathroom downstairs, beautiful leaving room with a pullout couch. Washer and dryer. I love the place, amazing!
We will definitely go back. It's also just a block away from Duval street!

Room Tip: I think any room there is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Si K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! ...and the kind words.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I actually won a free three night stay and chose this hotel to stay. We extended our trip a little longer and paid the difference. I WILL be going back! The staff was so friendly and accommodating and the location was perfect! They have this little store just across the street for groceries and such. Ana's Cuban is attached to the store. This is a must for some great Cuban food and the best Cuban coffee! The suites are more like small apartments. I loved being able to do my laundry before I came home with the stackable in suite washer and dryer. The cucumber water was a welcome relief from the hot sun which was available poolside everyday as well as smoothies and ice cream. Cocktail hour was also nice with chips and hummus and wines from around the globe. I cannot say enough it was truly wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! So glad you enjoyed the resort and Key West.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived several hours early but were well accommodated by the staff, a great start. The room/suite was huge, we had a duplex (24) and would have happily lived there, flawless.

The second bedroom was locked as we were only using one but even without it was enormous. The wifi worked well.

Pool area was great. Fountains and trees masked out all the outside noise meaning its perfect location is not ruined by the noise.

The staff were excellent, we had great dinner recommendations and they had 24 hour front desk so when we checked out at 5am someone was on hand to help us out.

Would happily return if we are in Key West and would recommend it to everyone. Perhaps not as good for kids as adults although the pool areas are child friendly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FTP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! Yes, Our court yard and pool is an oasis from Duval street.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,648 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Property: Santa Maria Suites
Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort
Santa Maria Suites Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing