We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed two nights with our three kids at the end of July. Needless to say, it was HOT. After a long drive from Sanibel, Florida, we were pleasantly surprised to walk into a nice cool two level suite. The suite has a very European feel to it. Contemporary furnishings, etc. The bedrooms are a little cramped and the beds in each of our two bedrooms were doubles and sort of futon style which is something guests should be aware of if you have back issues or are tall or big. Bathrooms and kitchen were awesome. Nice big TVs in each room and downstairs. The turndown service is nice - they bring muffins and chocolate. Happy hour is nice as well - complementary smoothies and reasonably priced beer and cocktails. I would definitely stay again if/when we return to Key West.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank 910ChrisS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I'm glad we exceeded your expectations.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

811 - 817 of 1,855 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

I researched and read all the reviews for this and other hotels. I decided on this one due to the proximity to Duval, the photos that were posted and I loved having a 2BR 2 bath suit. There were many extras....ice cream bars and cold water in refrigerator. Smoothies by the pool that were the absolute greatest ( we added our own liquor ).Pop cycles by the pool and a great happy hour. WE did not have to leave the hotel all day until we decided to go to Duval St. as the hotel was a vacation all by itself !!
I simply can not for get the cleanliness of the hotel, it was a 5 star !! It was over and beyond what we need but it was fantastic being pampered at such a beautiful resort.....worthy or a family getaway to spoil yourself or a honeymoon ! Did not want to leave, will definitely go again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms although all are 2 BR 2 bath are split , half on second floor and partly on first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paducahaix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Sounds like you had a very good visit. Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our second stay here & it truly is a nice little oasis to base your visit to Key West. The folks here do a wonderful job -- from a wonderful pool experience (kudos to Dusti & AmberLynn) to very helpful with the Key West experience (thanks Nordi) you will enjoy yourself. We did figure out the prime unit to stay in this time -- sorry, not telling, but anywhere will be an awesome visit!

Hope this helps & Ana's Cuban Cafe makes an great Cafe con Leche!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank ChrisR451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! Nordi, Dusti and AmberLynn say thank you too!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This place is amazing!!! No reason not to like it. Relaxing, good mix of peacefulness and yet activity. Music by the pool is a nice touch. Close to anything but you are far enough away from the main drag that you can sleep at night. We would easily recommend this resort to our friends. Our concierge Nordi has been a huge help arranging excursions even before we arrived.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNT112811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Glad you enjoyed the pools. Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Lovely place to stay. Rooms are all well appointed and plenty of space. Modern rooms, plenty of tech and was nice having water, ice creams , chocolate, and muffins delivered every night.

Id recommend the ground floor 'flats' that open straight onto the pool. Service is good. friendly staff. complimentary drinks etc at the pool and during happy hour. domestic beers $3 at pool. Soda and water $1 had expected to pay a lot more. in saying that you can buy drinks et in the store across the street and keep them in your room fridge.

short walk to mallory square etc. local beach available a short walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor flats
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimNIblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! We try to keep our prices for beverages in line. We want you to have a good time.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Santa Maria in 2 br king suite in very hot hot hot July. Beautiful suite with full kitchen and high end appliances. Took advantage of free smoothies at pool and added our own alcohol. Would caution against ground floor suites however...two mornings in a row we were awoken by the upstairs guests dragging stools across floor. Front desk was great, offered to move us, but we declined. Will definitely request upper suite when we return. Awesome location at south end of Duvall...two blocks to southernmost and beach. Free beach chairs and beach towels at beach. Had own umbrellas...$20 to rent at beach. Highly recommend renting bikes...quick and easy to get to other end of Duvall where bars and restaurants are. Will definitely be returning guests!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caseyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Next visit, we will try to turn down the heat for you. Summer can be warm but the pool is always nice!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hotel is conveniently located by the beach and even if they do not have a direct beach access they have made an arrangement with the southernmost hotel, so guest can use their beach and get beach chairs. It is also located right next to duval street , so everything is located within walking distance.

Welcome to the hotel was very warm. Otherwise, as this is all suites type of a hotel, they did not have many staff members around. They also do not serve breakfast, so we explored local places outside the hotel. Weird thing was that the hotel gave complimentary tea and bottle water only on the first day and as we stayed multiple days they did not replenish them.

Beds are quite small as are the bed rooms. Suites are great if you plan to do your own cooking and/or want more space. Otherwise, I would probably not recommend them as a primary option. The pool area was nice and athmosphere was definitely unique and strong positive for the property.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TomSjoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

At your next visit, you may want to try a pool-side suite...more of an open floor plan style of living room and kitchen.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,189 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites Hotel

Address: 1401 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#1 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £312 - £765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Santa Maria Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort
Santa Maria Suites Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing