We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for traveling with another couple or friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2010

We stayed for three nights in a two-bed, two-bath suite with a friend this past weekend. While a bit pricey, it was cheaper than booking two separate rooms other places, with the added bonus of a shared eating and living area (and laundry in-suite!). We were very happy with the property overall; it is extraordinarily clean, the staff is absolutely wonderful (especially Derek and Steph, the poolside concierges), the pool is delightful with its little bar and abundant lounge chairs, and there a lots of pleasant little complementary surprises, like muffins in the morning, chocolate and ice cream at night, and smoothies by the pool. This place would be absolutely perfect for couples traveling together who like some togetherness but still some privacy, or just friends in search of a relaxing time. The beds are some of the most comfortable I have ever slept on.
Our quibbles with the place are minor, but are worth mentioning as they may help my fellow Tripadvisees. First, for a two bedroom suite with Sub-Zero applicances, more than a four-pot coffee maker should be standard. We made like four pots of coffee a morning! The manager tells me that they will soon have 10-pot makers on request, so ask if you want one (but I still think they should be standard in a hotel of this quality). Oh, and if you like coffee, buy some at the grocery, the in-room Maxwell House stuff is terrible. Second, while the beds are heaven, the furnishings in the living room are dreadfully uncomfortable. This, too, should be changing soon, according to the manager. Third, rainfall shower heads. I hate rainfall shower heads (gimme a good blast from standard head any day). Stylish, yes, practical, no. Finally, as it is a new place built with condos in mind, it has no Key West soul. It is all modern beige and black, and I totally realize that some people love that, but we like a little more of a vibe in our KW housing. But, KW vibe usually means bright and a little rundown, and this place is pristine, so there is your trade off. Oh, and it is in with a lot of other resort properties, so there isn't much of that great residential feel a lot of the island has, but it is totally convenient to all of that. And it is really close to the Southernmost Beach area, which you have access to with your card from SMS. That was really nice.
Overall, we would consider the SMS first if we were traveling with friends (or if we end up having kids, I didn't say that before, but this would be a great set up for kids).

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WrldTrav-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,555 - 1,561 of 1,854 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2010

We stayed at Santa Maria Suites in November 2009 for our wedding. Everything met or exceeded out expectations. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The suites were incredible. Everything was modern and in good condition. This was probably the first time we have wanted to stay in our room during a vacation. The price is a little steep, but if you share the room with others I think the quality of the hotel plus the great service makes it worth every penny. Next time we visit Key West we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwnewlywed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

We were in Key West for a friends wedding. Four of us were traveling together and we thought that an apart-hotel was the best way to go. We chose this hotel off tripadvisor reviews and it really was great!
We had a fab 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment with kitchen and living room over looking the pool. It was very spacious and the showers were excellent. The rooms were up to date, modern and clean. Only regret is that we hardly spent any time at the hotel and didn't have the opportunity to enjoy it fully.
Tip: Would definitely recommend the pulled pork sandwich at the Cuban cafe across the street!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superstar311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

With an ideal location, a serene setting, convenient kitchen setup, high-standard amenities, and unbelievable service, I will be sure to stay here every time I visit Key West.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We just returned from our stay at Santa Maria Suites. This is a great hotel for families. It's located on the quiet end of Duval Street, but there is still plenty of activity. The suite has two bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen and living room. We stopped at the local food store and bought snacks and drinks.

The staff here are fantastic. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. Ken booked our fishing trip for us, had restaurant suggestions and even helped print our boarding passes. Every night the staff comes in with muffins, Dove ice cream bars and mini chocolates.

We'll definitely be returning here on our next trip to key West.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cb1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We usually reserve a suite in any hotel and must confess that the one we had at this beautiful resort hotel exceeded all expectations. There is a 42" TV in each bedroom and the living room and that is just the beginning. The master bath has a spacious double headed shower that is glass enclosed and shares the room with twin wash bowl sinks! The second bedroom had it's own lovely bath.
The kitchen is a state of the art experience with pull out refrig and freezer drawers in the granite topped island. All appliances are amazing! The fresh muffins brought to our door in the evenings, the complimentary Dove ice cream and Dove chocolates, and the quality complimentary toiletries all spoke volumes about the way the management of this unique hotel values it's guests! And all hotel personnel made us more than welcome!!! What a unique and marvelous home away from home. I had better stop now or I'll sound like a paid advertisement. In all good faith, don't miss this jewel!
Martin Baker

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bocarealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Stayed here with my husband and two young daughters. We were very pleasantly surprised with the accomodations, location and service. Santa Maria Suites are located off Duval at the quiet end, near many local tourist sites, beaches, shopping and restaurants. The rooms were trendy, cozy and very comfortable. We enjoyed having a full kitchen for our daughters and thoroughly enjoyed the pools. We highly recommend Santa Maria Suites.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
Thank Mandemhamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,189 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites Hotel

Address: 1401 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £305 - £739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Santa Maria Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort
Santa Maria Suites Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing