We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!”
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We returned tonight from a full week in this paradise. The service from the office staff was absolutely outstanding - from the umbrella-covered escort to our room the first night to the fabulous food recommendations and cheerful help getting cabs. Poolside smoothies, towels on each chair (and ENOUGH chairs), so many amenities. It was not a perfect stay, yet the recovery of problems was very good in most cases. Problems were related to housekeeping issues - kitchen dish soap provided but no kitchen towels of any kind. When we asked about kitchen towels we were told that is why there is a dishwasher. But no dishwasher soap was available five of the seven days. We had to request shower mats, toilet paper. Requests were generally filled quickly and pleasantly.The turn-down with ice cream AND chocolates was super. We used the exercise room several mornings. Not fancy but effective - bring a towel with you. What we loved was the small community feel of the place, a private enclave yet close to many restaurants and activities. One thing that impressed us immensely was the phone call we received at home one week prior to our trip. The hotel manager was calling to see if we had questions or needed any special arrangements. We have traveled many times but that was a first for us and left a very favorable impression and made us really look forward to our stay. When we arrived we were told we got upgraded to a first floor poolside room that was close to the pool but still quiet and private. I would absolutely recommend this to others and absolutely want to return. Big thanks to all the staff at Santa Maria Suites!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristysmom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,464
    199
    49
    15
    8
See reviews for
694
515
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2010

I stayed at this hotel and thought the decor and style in general was very nice. This is not an upscale 4 or 5 star hotel but it was clean and hip and had a good location. It also was pretty well priced (about $250 a night) so for what we paid I thought it was a good choice. The staff was nice (especially Wolfgang at the front desk!) but there are not a ton of employees roaming around to help out. The pool area is nice although we didnt go swimming. The two negatives were that the building where most rooms are backs up to the parking lot so half of your room doesnt have the most charming view. I just kept the curtains closed. Also, the mattress and pillows were pretty low quality. If they replaced those I would give the place an 8 or 9 total (out of 10). I slept fine but you could just feel it was all a bit cheap (not that cushy, maybe a foam mattress? pillows were lumpy). All in all I would stay again based on what I paid and I did enjoy it. Oh wait, just remembered the water pressure was awful! Could barely shower. But, again the price was right. Wish they would fix those couple of things and the place would be perfect!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsWinkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

The Santa Maria Suites is the perfect location, off the beaten path from the craziness of Duval Street, but close enough to bike & walk to all of the attractions. We didnt utlize many of the other facilities, but the front desk was a great help with setting up a half day catamaran sail.

The bi-level suites are great with a, very clean, well appointed kitchen, washer & dryer, living area, 3 balconies - wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

My spouse, teenage children and I stayed at the Santa Maria Suites from 2/14/10 to 2/19/10. Our suite was clean and functional. Stephanie, Ken and Derek were all very helpful in assisting us with our daily excursions as well as offering some great ideas. We enjoyed the turndown service each night with chocolates, muffins and ice cream. The weather was unseasonably cold and limited some of the activities we had planned so I would like to visit again with warmer weather. I would recommend the Santa Maria Suites and would return here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bts10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2010

I must let you know that Ken, Stef and Derek have an optimistic, energetic and winning attitude in all they do! Their enthusiasm for their career choice is infectious and I will always remember our outstanding visit because of them! They fill a very important and necessary role for the Santa Maria Suites! Their presence should be valued highly because they are the most outstanding young adults I've encountered in a while!
It is with great pleasure that I write this recommendation review for them!!
Please make sure to share this with them!
Maxine Snyder

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We stopped here by chance and from our first encounter with the young people running the hotel we were impressed. Ken, who checked us in, Derek and Steff, who worked around the pool, and everyone we encountered went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. We asked for suggestions for dinner and nightlife and enjoyed every recommendation. While we were quite a bit older than the "kids" who gave us the advice, yet they hit a "home run" on every recommendation.

The facilities were fantastic. Very modern, clean, and spacious. The courtyard was an oasis of tranquility, sun, and leisure, while just outside was all the fun of Key West. We had our bicycles with us, which made the transit up Duval to the "crazy end" a pleasant bit of exercise to catch sunset on Mallory followed by dinner and an evening of Key West's pleasures.

We are newly retired and will return to Key West and Santa Maria again next winter. A highlight of our first retirement trip to Fla.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetirementGlory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Stayed for two nights with my wife and some friends.
Thoroughly enjoyed the ambience and the service, pity about the unseasonal weather.
Would like to return one day if the opportunity arises
Wonderful spot to stay in Key West, rather pricey but worth every penny.
Shame we didn't get our 'turn down ' chocs on the pillows!
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PikeyJohnPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Property: Santa Maria Suites
Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort
Santa Maria Suites Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing