We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for small dogs”

Higgs Beach Dog Park
Ranked #96 of 168 things to do in Key West
Attraction details
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“great for small dogs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have three westies and go to dog parks everywhere. there are NEVER small dogs there. this dog park is the exception! Lots of active, well adjusted, happy small dogs who like to run around. the big dog side is twice as big and has nice shaded areas, wish the small dogs were over there. however, that said, they do have nice chairs to sit in. great water bowls in the area to use. THIS IS NOT ON A BEACH THOUGH…it's across the street from a beautiful beach but is not at the beach. the descriptions I read lead me to believe that it was at the water. but, if you want to play in the water with your dog, go across the (BUSY) street and keep them on the leash.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    5
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
194 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Dog interaction ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

What a great place to mingle. We take our 3 dogs as often a we can. The people are all so friendly and the dogs get to run, visit, play off leash. A large dog and small dog fenced park allow the dogs to run. We get eating by no-see-ums so take or wear insect repellant. Love this place.

Helpful?
Thank Michaelkasperski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“We took our Dalmatian here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We took our Dalmatian here to run and play. It was awesome because they had two parks. One for dogs 25 lbs and under and one for 25 lbs and over. It was very clean and each owner picked up after their dog.

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dog Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

great place for dogs and picnicking and camping out in a quite spot. Dog will have fun too! Plenty of activities for pets!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dinosciambra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pet friendly and human friendly too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

This park is a nice size, we took Toby there every morning, it was a nice walk. They have clean up bags and plenty of chairs to sit on. There is also a water spigot with a large water bowl too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joywampler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Higgs Beach Dog Park also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Higgs Beach Dog Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing