We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Rooms, Great Staff, Location Drawback”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Nice Rooms, Great Staff, Location Drawback”
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Extended a Miami Beach business trip with a trip to Key West for 2 nights. Must do: rent a convertible for the drive down and allow time to stop and enjoy the drive to Key West.

This Marriott is very nice...our room was a one bedroom suite with a great balcony overlooking the gulf. Two baths, full kitchen, dining room & living room area and a bar. The master bath is fabulous with a walk in shower and a jaqcuzzi tub. Just an awesome room - wish we had stayed longer. The beach really is not a true beach but a small "man made" sand area and the pool area is relatively small for a "tropical resort" - but to be honest we didnt' spend a lot of time around the pool area I twas our first trip to key West and we drove our red convertible all over the island exploring (during the day). At night we went to Duval St (taking the shuttle leaving our red Mustang convertible parked!) We enjoyed breakfast both days in the hotel restaurant - nice buffet with made to order eggs & waffles.

The hotel is situated right over the bridge driving into Key West - directly off a major bouelvard. If you plan to just enjoy the resort and not hit Duval - it may work out for you but you cannot walk to Duval Street. The hotel provides shuttle to Duval, once per hour. But in the early evening (6 pm) it gets a bit crowed for the shuttle rides and people do not respect that others have been waiting for the shuttle ahead of them...they push right onto the shuttle bus with disregard for the line waiting to climb aboard. Very rude. Once the shuttle was full, the hotel did provide additional transportation which was nice - since about 6 or 8 of us would have been waiting another hour for the next scheduled shuttle trip. This is a situation that could end badly with the wrong mix of people and the hotel should add more shuttles during the busy times or somehow monitor the line. The return trip was not bad if you make sure you are there right on time. The first night we were actually walking towards the shuttle about 30 ft. away and he pulled off. We had a choice sit in the bar at Margueritaville and wait an hour or take a taxi...we were exhausted and took a taxi - $15.

As a marriott rewards elite member, I did receive complimenty internet at this property otherwise i think you had to pay.

I would recommend this property definitely if you have a family trip...with children and aren't into the draw of Duval street in the evenings. Otherwise, and I love Marriotts and hate to say it, you need to move closer to Duval and all that it offers and find another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoneWiththeWind-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thank you for your review. You will be happy to know that we are in fact in the process of buying another shuttle. Our guest satisfaction is very important and although we always do pay for taxis to bring our guests downtown, we have realized the need to provide more shuttle service. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,691
    651
    232
    108
    81
See reviews for
548
1,481
51
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

This hotel is small but has beautiful, modern suites. Unfortunatley there is a very small pool area, and all lounge chairs are taken by 9:00 am. There is really no "beach" to speak of. They do have jetski tours on site, and the guys are great. Only other rental available was one kayak and two standing paddle boards.

The food at the restaurant is good, but there is only one option for a vegetarian. The only other close place to eat is a Denny's. The shuttle leaves for downtown every hour, and I witnessed fights break out over seats on the shuttle. The management did call for another van to take the many guests who want to go downtown, but who needs the hassle on vacation?
Fights and pushing occur when trying to get on the shuttle to go back to the hotel as well.

Bottom line, if you want to stay inside your beautiful room all day and night and miss all the fun, quirky, history of Key West then this is the hotel for you. If you like nice furniture and tile floors, stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcoalr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thank you for your review. We understand that even on our little 2 mile by 4 mile island, being one of the furthest hotels from Duval Street does not meet everyone's needs. We do our best to provide the shutlle service that is easy and convenient. We will be expanding this service to adding another shuttle to elivaite any shortage of seating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Had a 3-bedroom suite. Unbelievably spacious. All bedrooms with their own bathroom, large closets, washer/dryer, kitchen.

Our deck had the spiral stair down to the pool & beach area. Although it's a "man-made" beach area, it's quite nice, has a small pier. Poolside bar, cabanas, lounge chairs. Happy hour specials. The restaurant even had some specials (I think it was buy 2 meals, get a bottle of wine free). We didn't partake, but it's a nice feature. Bar/restaurant always had people and the breakfast buffet was great.

They do provide a shuttle service down & back to Duval. They also have parking under the units which is nice. My particular unit's master bed was quite comfortable.

I would certainly stay here again.

My suggestion for a small improvement would be the shuttle. IT would be nice if this ran more than once an hour and later. We missed it every day (leaves on the hour for Duval & returns from Duval at 20pas the hour) thru no fault of theirs but it would have been nice to save the cab fare every night. It also needs to run later than 11pm. If you are out on Duval past 10pm, chances are you are not returning (or want to return) at 11:20pm. It would be nice if there was a return late night or an option for a call pickup.

The other "knocks" on the property are location (about 4-5mi from Duval) and it was a little pricey for some people, though I found the value for a 3-bedroom suite of this nature to be acceptable at $600/nt. Where else can you actually find a 3-bedroom unit? If you split it out, that's $200/bedroom which is the going rate for anyting decent especially on St Patty's weekend in the middle of Spring Break.

The price & location I do not hold against them as I knew this going in so my only true knock is the shuttle service times.

Overall, great experience and on-par with my expectations. Would certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your concerns for the shuttle and are working to make this more convenient for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We stayed for 5 nights here in early March. Our unit was very spacious to say the least and was what they call a 1 BR Presidential suite, which is what I call the main unit of a 2 BR lockout. It was very well appointed with washer dryer, full kitchen, 1 master bath and also a 1/2 bath near the entry. 2 large screen TV'S king bed and super Marriott Bedding.
The one thing we couldn't figure out was that the unit had a large dining room and table with seating for 6, but seemed if the unit is mostly used by 2 people.
The unit overlooked the gulf which was worded as gulfview. Excellent view of the gulf with beach area right outside and 1 level below. There was a spiral stairway from the large balcony to the beachfront area which was very convienient.
One could really compare the unit to a high end timeshare property, only with daily maid service for linen and cleaning with no extra charges.

The pool area was nicely furnished with plenty of padded lounge chairs and tables. Beach area was well regarded by others around us too. Let me add though that the beach is not a typical beach that leads into the water. It is along the water but raised and swimming or fishing is not permitted ,at least not near the units.

There is plenty of parking, even more than what is needed maybe? There is a parking garage on site and may be used if there would be a conventiion or the like. Otherwise seemed empty and a bit of wasted space.
We did not use the onsite restaurant/lounge ''Tavern n Town'' but did have a couple of drinks from the poolbar called ''Bluebar''. Drinks were $9.00 minimum. I think a bit high by the time you add 20% for a tip,but I guess everyone that stays there can probably afford this. There were plenty of servers working the pool and beachside areas keeping patrons food and drinks refreshed which was a nice touch. All employees were very friendly and willing to accomodate. We had called housekeeping for several items and were delivered promptly

As to the bad rap this place gets on the location, not sure why. They offer a shuttle from there to downtown every hour and returns every 1/2 hr. It is on the gulf, plenty of parking,and IN Key West ,so what more do you need? We had a rental car and used it everyday and always found parking downtown.The elegance and views of the place more than makes up for this location issue in my opinion.

The only negative that we found was that Beachside can be a wedding destination and they shoo you off the beach 3 hours prior to the wedding. The beach front runs along the length of the facility and the wedding party gets the whole area? They only used about 150' of (my approx guess) of 600-800' total waterfront.
All guests have paid a portion of their stay rate to have full use of the facilities. When they tell you you can't be here it did not set well us or with others around us. Facility credits could be a solution such as a free drink at the bar, food item or souvenier for putting you out , so to speak.

We will consider staying at the Beachside Marriott again. This is a very typical upscale Marriott property.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conchwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thank you for your review. Our beach is a sunbathing beach only and we try to let guest be made aware of this on our website. Key West itself is the number two wedding destination in the country so you will see a wedding on our beach often. We do try to alert guests before hand so that it won't inconvenience them and their vacation plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

$239-329.00 is the rate we spent per night.. This is a converted time-share condo complex. Standard rooms are small, no 2 double bed rooms. They do have suites but we were told none were available. Mattress', very uncomfortable and in need of being updated. Service at this Hotel was very, very, inconsistent from check-in to dining. Complaining seemed to get some attention and results. This is not a beach front hotel! There is a small sandy area used for specifically renting of jet skis, paddle boats etc., but this is an inlet area and no other activities such a swim in the ocean can be done here. I am not typically disappointed with Marriott's but my suggestion would be to investigate the other Marriott's on the island. There are other nice complexes in Key West. Keep in mind you will be spending money to hire a taxi, bus or other transportation to get to activities.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I just spent a long weekend with a group of friends at the KW Marriott Beachside. The property is beautiful! A great pool area and man-made beach that overlooks the bay. We had a 3 bedroom suite which was wonderful..... had a full kitchen, large living room and dining area and each room had its own bathroom. The fitness room lacked.... only one weight bench a couple of treadmills and stationary bikes. The hotel offers complimentary shuttle to Duval every hour which was nice otherwise its a $18 cab ride there.
Service lacked all throughout our stay! When you are a frequent Marriott customer you anticipate a certain level of service from their properties. Service was extremely slow at the poolside bar and restaurant. The Front Desk and Restaurant staff were not friendly and made it seem to be an effort to wait on you or to even recognize you. The only staff that would pass you throughout the property and greet you was the housekeeping staff. Guest recognition and helpfulness is what can make or break even the most beautiful property!
For this level of hotel I would expect a greater level of service.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjkro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Very nice well maintained property. The staff is outstanding. One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Big plus!! Hourly shuttle to and from Duval street. The pool and beach areas are very cleand and well appointed. Pool bar has good food and outstanding service.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,333 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Property: Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Address: 3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-4534
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel is a seven-acre waterfront property with lush tropical gardens, magnificent waterfront swimming pool and a wide variety of unique dining experiences. It is a blend of island ambiance and contemporary elegance, set on the southernmost point of one of the world's most storied travel destinations.129 one, two and three bedroom suites plus 93 king standard rooms. Each suite has a gourmet kitchen with sub zero refrigerator freezer, living room, dinning room, spa tub in master bathroom, marble floors, balcony and washer dryer with resort or water views. The standard rooms are much smaller with one king bed and view of an open walkway.Our man made beach is for tanning with limited water access, we do have a water sports concession on property on the beach and a fishing pier.Our new WIFI service is complimentary through out the hotel including rooms and the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key West
Marriott Beachside Hotel
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing