We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“did not get off to a good start”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“did not get off to a good start”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The positives:
- The staff at the hotel is excellent, everyone is very friendly and helpful (well almost everyone)...
- The suites with a view (A rooms) are superb, lots of space and amenities
- Free shuttle service to the downtown area

The negatives:
- The B suites are decent sized rooms, but the only windows are to the outside walkway. So if you want any light you feel like you are on display and the windows only open 5-6 inches.
- The staff is very helpful, but they don't always understand what you are asking or how to get an issue resolved.
- The hotel is pretty far away from the downtown area (about 10 minutes).
- The pool is moderate, but nothing special.
- The hotel needs more upkeep, the elevators are very slow and sound/feel like they are about to collapse.

The situation:
- We "won" a high end trip for two at a charity auction. I am a Marriott Gold Elite member.
- We were placed in one of the B-Suite rooms, which are not bad, but also not the weekend getaway that my wife and I wanted.
- We requested another room and were told that everything was booked. The only rooms available were exactly like the one that we were in.
- It was not until we went down to the front desk and explained that we would happily pay to upgrade to a better room (even that took a fair about of convincing), that they found a few more suites available and moved us to a better room.
- I find it very odd that the hotel has two extremes, very high end A-Suites that are fantastic and low end B-suites that leave a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: Go with one of the A-Suites, I hated the B-Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you and i will let the staff know you enjoyed their efforts; you are right the suites are well worth the extra money particularly if you spend time at the hotel but some travelers just need a place to sleep as they are on the go and standard rooms work well for them. I'm glad you were able to be settled into a room of your liking and thank you for the comments as we discuss them weekly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,689
    651
    232
    108
    81
See reviews for
547
1,480
51
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paoli, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband & I enjoyed this hotel very much! While we did not have a suite with a view, the hotel was very clean, new and the staff all around was above excellent...they really made our stay! The highlight of this hotel for us was the awesome shuttle to & from town every hour and the most special part was Manny! He is a resident of Key West and also acted as our tour guide during the shuttle trips! He was full of Key West knowledge and fun facts!!! Thank you for making our Key West trip that much better!
Thank you very much, Ayse & Bryan Clay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment about your stay which we're glad was enjoyable. We share comments with our staff and I will make sure Manny reads your kind remarks. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

As platinum members of Marriott, I can safely say that my husband and I have stayed at many resorts. This resort is one of the best! We were upgraded to a presidential suite upon arrival (some will say that it's only because we are platinum but they do accommodate non members as well ...ASK! Doesn't hurt). The rooms were gorgeous, housekeeping friendly and thorough, Breakfast daily was delicious! Starbucks coffee served, fresh pastries, eggs to order. Upon arrival champagne is offered! Fresh fruit at the front desk, fresh fruit chilled infused water was available at all times. For those who like to go into the town of Key West (Duval area) the shuttle will take you back and forth free of charge! Timely, and efficient, with plenty of space so you don't have to wait, and drivers very knowledgable of the area! The pool area was pretty, pool bar made delicious drinks (2 for 1 drinks after 5!)and the beach was a sunning beach only although you an go in the water if you wish. Keep in mind that Key West is not a "beach" island. Most beaches are man made with the sand imported from Bermuda. We also did Billy's Jet Skis which was on site and incredible experience. 27 mile tour around key west on a wave runner...amazing!! We are already planning a return trip. And as a picky traveler, I give this 5/5 stars...and I appreciated the excellent service, staff, and amenities. Thank you again Marriott!! Melissa S

Room Tip: Pick a "bay view." Spectacular views, you won't be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and yes we do upgrade as many as we can each day and glad we can since we have more suites then standard rooms. It sounds like you had a great time while staying with us and while in Key West, thank you for your comments they are appreciated. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Plain, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Girls weekend at Key West! We had 2-3bdr units for 12 of us...perfect. Rooms were great, nice balcony and close to pool, beach and front desk. The restaurant was great and the service all over the resort was fantastic. The shuttle to Duval was free and ran all day long. We all agreed that this place was the perfect place for all of us to relax and have fun!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for submitting a comment and yes the three bedroom three bathroom suites are great for families and friends that want to get away but feel like they are all staying in the same house and you really are. We're glad you enjoyed your self so much and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. The service staff are instantly attentive and helpful. They go out of their way to help. There is a free shuttle into downtown, which runs hourly and is a great service. There is free internet in the rooms. The linens are soft and luxurious, typical of Marriott. Our room overlooked the pool and had a stair to a deck where we could see the ocean and watch the sun set.
This was a super hotel and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvin2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us, one of the goals of our employees is to make your stay on this island so enjoyable you want to come back and it sounds like they did that. We enjoy sharing guest comments with the staff so thank you for noticing and commenting, we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this place for 3 nights, short getaway from DC. We absolutely loved our stay there. The staff was very friendly, and genuine. Dimitry, the front desk host took as to our rooms and helped us with our luggage. He was so friendly, he even drew us a map of all the attractions and places to see/eat in the area. That was really helpful, we are sorry we never saw him again to thank him enough.
Dimitry and Dennis at breakfast were really good. They paid a lot of attention to us, and did not let us miss anything.
Last but not least, Alex at the pool bar. At some point we were going there just to hang out with him. Such a cool guy! Not to mention the happy hour is awesome. Not as happy with Marcus and the simple syrup mojotos :) , but that did not affect us much. As a fellow F&B manager, I have to say I really apreciated the way you promote your outlets, the food is amazing, drinks are good and the staff...I can only wish I could bring that spirit back to DC in my property.

We had a standard room and it was a bit small, but we did not miss anything. Next time we will definitely upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iulia_ROU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
It is always good to receive comments from guests who work in the industry as they are great judges; thank you for rating our efforts so high we work at doing it right. We look forward to your return visit and wish you the best in DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rensselaer, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is a beautiful hotel property. Very affordable with a very nice pool and poolside bar. Marcus was the greatest. Always nice and friendly and remember what drinks we enjoyed. Hourly shuttle to Duval Street. 2 of the 3 drivers were very informative, especially places to eat.

Room Tip: Our room was small but there were just 2 of us and we didn't spend a lot of time in the room mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chipman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We're glad you had a good summer vacation while staying with us as our employees strive to make your stay special. Everyone here loves Key West for what it has to offer and we enjoy sharing it with you. Thank you for staying with us and hope you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,332 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Property: Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Address: 3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-4534
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel is a seven-acre waterfront property with lush tropical gardens, magnificent waterfront swimming pool and a wide variety of unique dining experiences. It is a blend of island ambiance and contemporary elegance, set on the southernmost point of one of the world's most storied travel destinations.129 one, two and three bedroom suites plus 93 king standard rooms. Each suite has a gourmet kitchen with sub zero refrigerator freezer, living room, dinning room, spa tub in master bathroom, marble floors, balcony and washer dryer with resort or water views. The standard rooms are much smaller with one king bed and view of an open walkway.Our man made beach is for tanning with limited water access, we do have a water sports concession on property on the beach and a fishing pier.Our new WIFI service is complimentary through out the hotel including rooms and the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key West
Marriott Beachside Hotel
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing