We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & beach suck, not clean, overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very disappointing, especially considering that I paid $340 for a standard room on a Thursday, plus tax and resort fees. You pay $20 to park your own car, valet is $30 a day. The room was far from impressive, dark, sterile looking with people walking by our windows so we had to keep the blinds closed. I've paid half for far nicer accommodations in major cities. Our room didn't even have bottled water. The air conditioning was noisy, waking us up every time it kicked in. When it wasn't the AC, we would wake up by the 1989 refrigerator noise.

To top things off, our marble floor was covered entirely in sand. Oh, did I mention no hotel slippers? Before we left for dinner, I stopped at the front desk to ask for our floor to be swept. Upon returning, the main area had been swept but it seemed they simply swept the sand closer to the bed. When I spoke to the manager, he apologized and offered to pay for parking and breakfast. That's something but still won't make me return to this property.

In order to get to Duval Street, you can take the free hotel shuttle that runs every hour. It's at least a 20 minute ride each way, so consider this before you book. There is absolutely nothing in the local area that you can walk to. The road outside the hotel is a dusty construction mess.

The resort has a tiny beach that is separated from the water by a concrete wall, so you can't even swim in the ocean unless you jump off the boat dock. The pool area is pretty nice but largely occupied by families with a bunch of kids. It's an okay property if you're looking to be far far away from old town Key West but the quality of the beach is nothing to what we're used to in Miami.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PulpFiction_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

You are correct the beaches in Key West are not like in Miami as we have a coral reef just off our coast that stops waves from from crashing on our shores and waves crashing on rock makes sand so we have no natural sand. I'm sorry you did not find the shuttle convenient as most people do as it does leave the hotel on the top of the hour and returns from Duval street at 20 minutes after the hour. Yes you are correct there is high demand during this time of year for rooms in Key West. Thank you for your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,466 - 1,472 of 2,871 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were a little nervous about being so far away from downtown, but realized we got two vacations out of one. We took the Ferry from Marco Island which we highly recommend. The Marriott shuttle picked us up at the dock and we were served wine while checking in. Our room was nice, but we spent our mornings and afternoons mostly at the beautiful pool. The food at the hotel is amazing they served salads in martini glasses and had wonderful flat bread pizza. The pool attendant offered cool cucumbers for your eyes and mist your feet with cold water throughout the day. They have poolside service (drinks and lunch), Very relaxing and luxurious days. At night the Marriott shuttle took us downtown where we ate, drank and danced till 4am in the morning. The Marriott shuttle will take you back only up until 11pm but a tax is only $15 so we stayed downtown late most nights. The breakfast is very good, the staff is very nice, the rooms and grounds are very pretty. The beach and pier are a nice touch, but we are pool people. We always stay at Marriotts and this one very nicely done.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrienne Frankl... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

We are glad you enjoyed yourself so much while here and hope you can return sometime soon as Key West is just a great place to relax. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This hotel is disappointingly a 15-20 minute shuttle ride from down town. The complimentary shuttle only runs once an hour and is often 3x oversubscribed, your stay will be ruled by arriving at the shuttle stop 15 mins ahead if time to join the melee to fight for a seat.

Internet is non existent in the rooms.

Our room wS a side room of a suite so we could hear all bathroom noises. The 2 windows looked out on a walkway so for privacy it was necessary to keep shutters closed,not what we had come for.

/ drinks in the bar for / people cost over 40 dollars plus tip. This would be fine if staff were at least amiable, but we felt as if they wanted to pack up - around 10am!??

So stay down town, there are great bars with atmosphere and bartenders and live bands to give you the good time that you won't get here.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara42015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your time in Key West, many guest like being away for the crowds of downtown. Thank you for your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

This is a great resort! One of the only ones with a beach. Its within walking distance of EVERYTHING. the staff are amazing and remember you even if you haven't been(there in 10 years)! Key west is so laid back but this hotel makes you feel like royalty in paradise!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 503lyndac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for posting your comments here and hope you come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Found the hotel to be clean and in an easy to get to location (by car).
Roof of the parking garage (next to the main building) was a nice uncrowded spot to see sunset and other views.
There is a small beach - some chairs and a little pier. Nice spot, but not a "beach beach".
Publix supermarket and some restaurants just a little further down North Roosevelt Blvd.

Beware they charge for parking (almost $20/day) in addition to the room rate (which is disclosed on the Marriott website) - given the room rate that seems excessive to charge for parking too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Weather42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your comments and appreciate your business have safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This Marriott has nice rooms but it's location is not ideal. It is far away from downtown and not within walking distance to really anything. At the time of our trip (April 2014) there was a ton of construction just outside our door. We experienced a number of inconveniences at this hotel which i would not expect from a Marriott- air conditioning not working, only ONE ice machine in the entire resort, overcrowded pool because there really is NOT a beach area, horrible wireless connections due to thick hurricane-proof walls, and a tiny gym for a hotel this size. If you are already paying this high price for a hotel room, i would suggest a hotel closer to downtown or a B&B in the heart of Key West.

Room Tip: Pay more for a room overlooking water. Otherwise, you will look at a parking lot and/or construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cccarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Yes this hotel is certified for a category 4 hurricane and has thick walls and hurricane windows which keeps down any outside noise from the hotel renovations across the street or road work that is due to end in a couple months. Also you are correct we are not right downtown and this island is 1 1/2 miles by 4 miles so bicycles are a common mode of travel. Thank you for your thoughts and have safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I highly recommend the Marriot Beachside Hotel. We were immediately greated by friendly staff with champagne. We stayed in a LARGE 3-bedroom condo & it was completely furnished and very clean. There was also a balcony that overlooked the pool area. The staff there was GREAT & friendly - they washed our sunglasses & provided cold towels. There are private cabanas that are free of charge as well! The bar has a great happy hour with buy one get one free drinks. Also, the pool/hot tub area is OPEN 24 HOURS! There is a restaurant connected to the hotel which has very good food - if you eat dinner there, you get the free breakfast buffet which is WONDERFUL and well worth it!

You are about 15 mintues away from the shopping and bars on Duval Street, but there is a shuttle service. One of the drivers, Manny, is exceptionally good and he takes you on a great historical tour to and from Duval Street. He gives great recommendations on happy hours on the boardwalk as well :)

There was only TWO things that I would change. Firts, to have shuttles every half hour, instead of every hour because you really have to time it perfectly or you will do some standing around waiting for the shuttle. Secondly, the hot tub was way too hot to be enjoyed.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the pool and it was great! Nice to sit and have a cup of coffee in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We're glad you have a good time while here as the staff does try to make everyone's vacation memorable; I will pass your suggestions to others and thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
2,400 reviews
3.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#7 of 51 in Key West
737 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
3.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Address: 3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-4534
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £205 - £591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel is a seven-acre waterfront property with lush tropical gardens, magnificent waterfront swimming pool and a wide variety of unique dining experiences. It is a blend of island ambiance and contemporary elegance, set on the southernmost point of one of the world's most storied travel destinations.129 one, two and three bedroom suites plus 93 king standard rooms. Each suite has a gourmet kitchen with sub zero refrigerator freezer, living room, dinning room, spa tub in master bathroom, marble floors, balcony and washer dryer with resort or water views. The standard rooms are much smaller with one king bed and view of an open walkway.Our man made beach is for tanning with limited water access, we do have a water sports concession on property on the beach and a fishing pier.Our new WIFI service is complimentary through out the hotel including rooms and the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key West
Marriott Beachside Hotel
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing