We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

What a great hotel. We stay here for business, and have never had any issues. The staff is very friendly, you are greeted with a glass of champagne! They are helpful and the environment from the minute you walk in is Key West laid back. The employees address you appropriately-and they even know our name after our third stay in 4 months. You start to relax the minute you walk into the hotel. Check in is a breeze with or without the phone app. The rooms are beautiful. It is definitely worth it to stay in a suite. The bathrooms are clean, marble everywhere, great shower, and many rooms with whirlpools. The kitchen is packed with necessities, and the refrigerators are huge. There is a great kitchen counter in all the suites that provides an area for an unforgettable cup of coffee in the morning. The views of the gulf from the balconies are worth the money! It is quiet and relaxing when you got to the pool. There is a small beach where you can rent jet skis and participate in other activities. We have done this and it is organized and well priced. They have a bus that takes you into the touristy part of Key West, and it runs all day long and into the night. The drivers give you a great tour along the way. Town and Tavern is a great restaurant with good fresh fish, a decent menu, and a pretty good wine list. Happy hour is quite nice. We really like this property a lot. I normally don't have time to write reviews, but I felt compelled to after our last stay.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a gulf view! The suites are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaF555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

We appreciate you take the time to post your thoughts even though as you mention you don't normally do this and frankly there is not much more I could say as you just did a great job telling the story, thank you and come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,292 - 1,298 of 2,845 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel is just incredible. Our one bedroom suite was huge, clean and beautiful with a state of the art full size kitchen. The employees treated us like royalty and the customer service was second to none; every request was handled quickly and courteously. The hotel sits at the north end of Key West, which allows it's guests to stay close to the action, but far away enough to be peaceful. The hotel provides transportation to and from the south side of the island hourly, where most of the tourist attractions are located, allowing quick access to the action. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again and again.

Room Tip: Get a one bed room suite, if at all possible. They are incredibly large, and extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cyndi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

We appreciate the high recommendation from your stay with us and thank you for pointing out that even though we are not right in the center of the action we offer the shuttle service and our location allows you to get way from the tourist activities when you wish to. Thank you for staying with us and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

As a Platinum Premier Elite member I was upgrades to the presidential suite. One of the best rooms I have been in and I stay aprox 197 nights per year at a Marriott property. You should upgrade if choosing this property. Staff at front desk very pleasant and helpful as well as at the pool. The shuttle to downtown is very convenient. When in Key West again I will definitely stay here. Choose this property, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for the presidential suite 3rd floor facing the water. Spiral staircase to a rooftop balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

It is always great to hear when someone calls you the best particularly when we are compared to all the Marriott hotels you have stayed. Thank you we do appreciate it and hope you do come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Enjoyed every bit of my vacation stay the Beachside!! You have to stay in the Presidential Suite side!! The Living room was awesome and the Bedroom was even better. Very comfortable!! What you expect from Marriott. The Shower...omgoodness the Shower was GREAT!! Nice heat, you can stay in there for days and relax!! The Pool was great!! I will say though they have some very friendly Iguanas there!! I named one Charlie. They are totally harmless and very comfortable around people! They are Rock Stars out at the Pool. Everyone wants to look at them and take pictures. They are cool. The drinks at the pool are great. They melt quickly so drink up!! LOL If you are looking for Beach, you will not get that here!! They import sand from the Bahamas every 2 years and they are about due!! But did not ruin the ambiance of the Marriott. You have to go on the guided Jet Ski tour!! Made the whole trip!! It takes about 2 hours and they take you around the Island!! Totally worth it. It's about 130 bucks. The Restaurant is awesome. Didn't do dinner there. To many nice spots in Key West, but did the breakfast and my man Dmitry took care of us all week. Nice guy. The ommlettes were on point!! It is a ways from Duval St. downtown, but I was cool with that. The Shuttle went down there on the hour and it's about a 20 dollar cab ride. The other thing about that was CONSTRUCTION!! That will make the ride a little longer. They are trying to expand the roads for more lanes and they are almost finish but it was an eye sore for me as we were going back and forth!! Restaurants that we ate at were Caroline's for lunch...Awesome. Dinner at Michael's.....UNBELIEVABLE. Dinner at Seven Fish....UNREAL. The rest of our evenings were in the room gettin it in!!! But all the food I can explain in one word.....FRESH!!! Enjoy your stay and have fun!!!

Room Tip: Presidential Suites are the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BallHeadWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

We are glad you had such a nice time while here and you should know the construction between and the hotel and downtown is done, finished finally. Yes the sand on this island is imported but actually we do it at the hotel at least once and sometimes twice a year. I hope if you return you will try dinner at Tavern N Town as we have become a favorite for locals and we cook with wood and charcoal. Thank you for your business and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

To our surprise, we were generously upgraded to the Presidential Suite upon arrival. It was huge, with a wonderful kitchen, a living room, office space, three bathrooms, and nicely furnished, U.S. style, but not really very clean. We found dead bugs on the floor. The bed was not comfortable - the mattress was too soft, I think -, so that my husband hardly slept at all, although the room was quiet. The air conditioning was difficult to reset, so that it was quite cold... I actually had to drive back the whole way to Miami, as he was too sleepy to drive the next day. Although the complimentary, hourly shuttle to Key West is a great idea, it is not entirely practical: We missed the one that was to take us back to the hotel and ended up taking a taxi instead. We did get a complimentary shuttle just for us, even though we arrived late, for the drive to Key West, too, which we found very nice. The distance is the real problem. Key West is quite far away. We also found the bar to be dark and gloomy and frankly, the smell of grilled bacon was so intense that there was no way we were going in there. So we went straight to bed after getting back from the sunset "spectacle"... We really would have loved to have a "nightcap" at the bar, though, had it been a more inviting. The receptionists and the bell boys were very friendly and definitely made us feel welcome. We liked the touch "champagne upon arrival". It was nice to have our own parking lot in the garage located right below our suite.

Room Tip: Presidential Suite, once cleaned
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jeu_dePlume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

I would like to take this opportunity and thank you for your recent stay at The Key West Marriott and for taking time to share your concern with us. It gives us an opportunity to look into areas of our operations that need improvement.

I have shared your feedback with housekeeping and restaurant staff and I regret your stay was not what you have hoped for or expected.

Thank you for your kind comments about our front desk staff , I will make sure they receive proper recognition. Again I appreciate your concern, your opinion and satisfaction is our top priority and I hope you will give us another chance in the future to provide you with an exceptional service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is advertised as a beachside hotel...there is a tiny mandmade beach. Calling it waterfront would have been more accurate, although although very few rooms have a view on the water.

Front desk staff was, for the most part, rude and snobby, except for the young woman who did our check-out. Even after we were gone, she ran outside to give us complimentary water while we were packing up the car.

We had breakfast included, a buffet where we got up to get our own food. Breakfast was good, but a bit unpleasant having a waiter bring a bill with the value of the breakfast just so we could calculate his tip. Waiter who did nothing but ask us if we would like some juice, to which we said no. I have been a waiter, I understand tips are important, but when you don't serve a customer, YOU DON'T ASK FOR TIP. It puts the guest in an awkward position where he has to choose between appearing as cheap or giving money away for no reason.

The room itself was okay but we had no balcony and just a tiny window with people walking in front of the room. So basically a room in Key West with no view at all.

The hotel is a bit far from the action but we already knew from looking it up on a map before making the reservation so it's not something that I hold against the hotel. I do find parking to be expensive considering the hotel was this far out.

Overall, it's a nice property but it feels like a Mexican resort without a beach. Very clean, very comfortble beds, but very disappointing. We were supposed to be there 2 nights but we left after 1 night.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank youngmtl514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your time and your concern.

Please know that I have shared your feedback with our front office and Food and Beverage teams that were on duty during your stay and I truly regret your experience. Thank you for your kind comments about service you have received upon check out and overall cleanliness of the property. I understand your disappointment with our beach area and I respect your opinion.

I regret we were unable to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here for a weekend and had a good time. Whether or not it is good or bad to be 3 miles from Duval Street is up to you - we found it better for sleep quality but less so for taxi fares since the hourly shuttle should be more frequent. The other reviews had made clear to us ahead of time that the hotel was beachside in a man-made kind of way, would have liked a little more sand but were forewarned. Good service when on site, would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveltime841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Beachside Marriott. We appreciate your honest comments and opinions in regards to our property, location and amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#33 of 51 in Key West
2,367 reviews
3.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Address: 3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-4534
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £173 - £519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel is a seven-acre waterfront property with lush tropical gardens, magnificent waterfront swimming pool and a wide variety of unique dining experiences. It is a blend of island ambiance and contemporary elegance, set on the southernmost point of one of the world's most storied travel destinations.129 one, two and three bedroom suites plus 93 king standard rooms. Each suite has a gourmet kitchen with sub zero refrigerator freezer, living room, dinning room, spa tub in master bathroom, marble floors, balcony and washer dryer with resort or water views. The standard rooms are much smaller with one king bed and view of an open walkway.Our man made beach is for tanning with limited water access, we do have a water sports concession on property on the beach and a fishing pier.Our new WIFI service is complimentary through out the hotel including rooms and the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key West
Marriott Beachside Hotel
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing