We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Easy Day Charters

Easy Day Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Design your own Tropical Adventure! Leave the crowds behind and dissappear into the calm waters surrounding Key West. You choose the activities that interest you - learn something new, focus on your favorite activities or try a little of everything. Special requests welcome!
Lilburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were in Key West for our 30th anniversary. We went out with Easy Day Charters two afternoons. The first trip was a snorkeling trip with Captain Wade. He knows the best snorkeling areas. We had a wonderful afternoon, saw lots of fish - very few people around. The second trip we went out with Captain Tom. We went to Boca Grande and just chilled in the water with the floating cooler! It was a wonderful way to spend our anniversary. If you get the chance to go out with them, we highly recommend doing it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lilburnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    12
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Captain Tom took our family on a fun, unique, and forever memorable Key West adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We reserved a trip with Capt. Tom, but up until the minute we left the dock we weren't sure of exactly what we wanted to do on this boat trip. Since he's been at this for 40 years, Capt. Tom helped us narrow down our options. We wanted to do something really special and memorable for our 8 and 4 year old daughters/granddaughters. Capt. Tom delivered!! After a fast and fun boat ride, we dropped anchor at the shore of a beautiful and uninhabited island. Beautiful views and clear water. Amazing. We went swimming, snorkeling (he had the equipment we needed), and we searched for shells and pirate treasure (sneaky Capt. Tom had treasure coins handy on his boat and he snuck them to me to hide along the beach for the kids to find). Genius!! Both girls later said finding the "real" pirate treasure on the island was their favorite memory of our Key West trip. Capt. Tom is hysterical too! Great sense of humor and very family friendly. He kept us laughing, let our 8 year old drive the boat, played some Bob Dylan on the radio, gave us bananas and a few cold beers from his cooler (only for us, not for him), and he also had what we needed when our daughter got a small jellyfish sting. All part of the adventure! Overall we had a blast and we highly recommend Capt. Tom and his Easy Day charter.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Balloons201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a wonderful experience on our 1/2 day trip with Captain Tom. He's extremely knowledgeable about everything Key West and has facinating stories about the people he has met and the adventures he's been on over the years. We did a combo trip, a little bit of snorkeling, fishing and sandbarring. We caught some beautiful yellow snapper and saw two barracudas which was awesome! Our only regret? Not choosing to do the sandbars first...because we probably would have stayed there for our whole trip...enjoying the beautiful waters of Key West without anyone in sight - priceless :). Thank you for a wonderful trip Captain Tom! We'll have to do it again next time we come to town...and maybe we'll bump into you at the Firefly :) All the best, Sarah and Chris

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarahjean221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Capt. Wade was so fun! What a great day of fishing and snorkeling! It was gorgeous and so were the fish. We got to chill out in the shallow waters for a bit which was a great time! Loved the fishing! Will def do again next time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shelby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WOW! Incredible Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have been going out with Easy Day Charters 4 or 5 times a year for the last 3 years. Since I am getting my own boat, I will share a secret with you. Tell Captain Tom that you want the "Snipes / Marvin Special". It will only be available if the weather (winds) and tides are just perfect. Be prepared for 5 or 6 hours away and be flexible as to the launch time to hit the tides just right. And finally when you hear the price tag remember that they are giving up a 2nd charter and using more gas to take your party to Paradise.

The first 30 minutes of the boat ride thru the flats is spectacular to those new to the Keys. Then the next 30 minutes wandering thru the Mud Keys and past Snipes to Marvin is unpredictable in its surprises. What wildlife will you see ? A multitude of fish are possible. Will I see barracudas,sting rays, sharks, or sea turtles today? I have even seen bald eagles. Today we saw one barracuda and one sea turtle along with multiple sting rays.

What can I say about the sand bars that seem to stretch for miles? Do you want to be on "dry" sand where you can wade into the ocean depth you prefer? Do you want to be on a big sandbar where all the water is 24 inches in depth" Tell Captain Tom and he will take you there.

Now you have my secret. I am going out on my own boat so you can have my spot on Easy Day Charters. (Captain Tom does not advertise this trip.) And finally, if the "Snipes / Marvin Special" is not available dues to weather and tides, I have been on many great 1/2 day charters and never been disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Easy Day Charters also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Easy Day Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing