We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost memories of Spain”
Review of Spanish Gardens - CLOSED

Spanish Gardens
Price range: US$16 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish, Steakhouse, Bar, Mediterranean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We use Imported ingredients and the freshest seafood and produce..Along with Grass Fed Beef....We put a lot of care and love in our authentic dishes and we enjoy our guests...Spanish wines, Homemade Sangria and a Full Bar add a nice touch with a romantic artsy backdrop. So come in and enjoy our Tapas!
Starke, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Almost memories of Spain”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

For us, a trip down memory lane as we lived in Spain for 2 years. We had a cup of the fish soup for appetizer, then we had the Shrimp plate and the Mussels plate entree. The food was excellent but for what was served and the price, they didn't match! If we had not had 2 portions of bread, we would have come away hungry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnyThompson, Owner at Spanish Gardens, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
that is so nice to hear that our place reminds you of Spain!! Thank you for dining with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    38
    16
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cantabrian enviroment”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Amazing experience on the way to Key West. Great place to eat the flavors off spain. My vegetarian friend says that the mussels was so good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank molsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnyThompson, Owner at Spanish Gardens, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
I remember you all and how you Loved the mussels hope you enjoyed Key West Thank you for your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Very gooood”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

First day at the keys and looking for something good and different to eat. Spanish Cafe delivered!
Reservations are encouraged.

We had paella, sangria, the wine is good. We asked for the flan dessert. It was great!
Thank you Brian for the seat.

Thank you everybody!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jomets3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnyThompson, Owner at Spanish Gardens, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for finding us and I remember Brian giving up his seat for you!! Enjoyed your visit and I'm so glad you enjoyed us and the cuisine...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Islamorada Treasure”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

When in the Keys, namely Islamorada, this is just about the only place we eat. The food is beyond amazing!!! Not only does it taste great, as one reviewer accurately stated it's "clean and fresh"--nothing heavy or fried on this menu. The service is also unprecedented. Chef Jose is accessible and Lynny is always there to take care of your every need. While everything is delicious, we especially loved the "Soup of the Day," Peppadew Peppers, Seafood Paella, Zarzuela, Meatballs, Fresh Fish Salad, and Beef Tenderloin Sandwich. The latter three items from the lunch menu are my seven and ten year old boys' favorites. Also, be sure to try the unbelievable Key Lime Pie and Valencia desserts. The Spanish Gardens must be experienced to be fully appreciated. It's unlike any other restaurant in the Keys or anywhere else for that matter. Words fall short of adequately describing this hidden treasure. Unfortunately for us, our favorite place to eat is some 1,200 miles away from home. See you next summer, folks! Until then, would it be possible to get the Sweet Pea Soup recipe? Ours doesn't taste anything like Jose's. LOL!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nechmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnyThompson, Owner at Spanish Gardens, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
WOW!!! What a very nice review...Just as your visit was enjoyable with us we feel the same way about you and your family...So nice to have a guest that enjoys what we do and you and your family are so open to trying everything!! Thank you for your visit and see you next time your in town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
194 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quality food”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Consistently great food, with a Mediterranean setting; the beverages are a great complement.
The weakness is the service, which is not always indulgent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WelllllEnuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnyThompson, Owner at Spanish Gardens, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank You so much for the review and enjoying our place....Look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spanish Gardens also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing