We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Resort”
Review of Ocean House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean House
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful property. We recently stayed here with our children (over 16) and I can't say enough wonderful things about this small boutique hotel. The rooms were immaculate and overlooked the magnificent lush tropical gardens. The staff could not do enough for us and made our stay very comfortable. Each morning we had a fabulous breakfast of fresh fruit, pastries, etc. served to us on a beautiful tray either on our lanai or poolside under the large chickee. Lunch can also be ordered and served poolside. This resort is quiet, romantic and meticulously maintained - we felt like guests at someone's magnificent tropical villa. The beach was absolutely gorgeous and had the most comfortable chaise lounges. Free use of sea kayaks and snorkel gear was a plus. Regrettably I did not have time to arrange for a massage at one of the private cabanas, but did use the complimentary bicycles with my daughter to ride over to their sister resort Casa Morada to catch a morning beachside yoga class (also complimentary) taught by an exceptional instructor. I highly recommend this quality resort to anyone who looking to decompress from their stressful lives and relax in the beauty of the Keys, a couple looking for a romantic getaway or for a small wedding. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boatlady98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2011

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. All of the staff were extremely helpful and courteous. The fact that there are only 8 suites combined with the lush, beautiful landscaping made this seem like a very private resort. Breakfast of pastries and fruit was served on our patio and was just perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mhlandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We recently stayed here, after loving it's sister property, Casa Morada. The suites are nice, but very far from the ocean. The balcony was hot in the afternoons, and not enjoyable, to sit and read or relax; they are also not private! You can pull a divider curtain between the units, but it is still one long deck. They are under new ownership, and still a work in progress.

Room Tip: The upper floor has better views, but some trees block the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Ocean Dawn is a beautiful place. Very clean, beautiful rooms, beautiful grounds and pool area. We reallly loved how peaceful and quiet it was. The managers, Donna and Steve, were wonderful and went out of their way to be sure you had everything you needed to make your visit wonderful, including printing out a menu for a restaurant we inquired about.
The only thing we would like to see added would be overhead fans on the patios outside our room. Other than that....... perfection.

Room Tip: The web site describes the rooms perfectly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen2440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed in the "Ocean Dawn" suite and it was such a nice surprise. Very spacious with luxury upgrades such as granite counter tops, full size refrigerator, jacuzzi bath tub and more. Our room was on the 1st floor with an open air patio-not very private but there are only 8 total suites so not a lot of people around anyway. The next time we stay there, we'll probably opt for a second floor room: better view of the ocean as well as no sound of foot traffic from the room above.
The grounds behind the rooms have been completely renovated to emulate a feeling of Zen (the staff said that the front entrance will be finished with renovations by the fall).
Overall, a very lovely slice of paradise in the heart of the Village of Islamorada.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the foot traffic from above, pick a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dwestonod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We got married here at the hotel late July 2011 and it was more than I could ask for and even imagine. The property is beautiful!!!! Rooms are exactely what they show on their web site. Pool is finished and a very nice touch being salt-water, was just like being in the ocean. The hotel staff is very polite and shared some good information on what to do and where to go for dinner, fishing, and other activities. You may read reviews that the construction was an "eye sore" but it paid off in a very big way. You forget all about the worries of "normal life" while in the pool and on the property. The rooms are clean, nice size, and very well kept. Although we did not stay in the rooms too long, we were down there for the weather and FL sun, but all comforts of home even while on vacation. We plan on going back as much as we can, if they have open room, for I'm sure this will be the place to be in Islamorada very soon. What else can I say but PERFECT!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BillyStaszak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

just beautiful set up! a very cozy romantic feel. rooms were very nice and clean. bathroom excellent. i felt like i was in paradise while i stayed here. i felt like my boyfriend and i had our own little spot on the island to enjoy eachother at ocean dawn

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greeneyes4927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.9 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
8.7 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
306 reviews
2.1 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
750 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House

Address: 82885 Old Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3658 (Formerly Ocean Dawn Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate, upscale, and adult only hotel and resort houses eight luxurious suites. The right choice for those wanting to getaway and just relax. A perfect location for small weddings and groups. Newly renovated with a pool, beach, spa, cabanas and fire pit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Ocean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean House Hotel Islamorada
Ocean House Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing