We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean House
Nearby Hotels
Casa Morada(Islamorada)
US$404
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$326
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$292
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$325
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$315
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cheeca Lodge & Spa(Islamorada)
US$410
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sands of Islamorada Hotel(Islamorada)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drop Anchor Resort(Islamorada)(Great Value!)
US$220
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina(Islamorada)(Great Value!)
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Islander Resort(Islamorada)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
349
37
7
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
37
7
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pittour of the groundscoral reefsalt water poolyogurtsmall hotelrooms are lovelykey limeprivate resorteach morningpeaceful retreattiki hutbeautiful groundslounge chairshidden treasurebreakfast is servedour night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This review is a bit overdue. My husband and I spent a week here in March. It was our first trip to the Keys and we weren't exactly sure where we should stay. Based on the description and other reviews we took a chance on Ocean House. We chose wisely!

When we go on vacation, we like a quiet, peaceful, relaxing place and pace. The grounds are beautiful, the pool and area around the pool wonderful, nice beach area, and the outdoor fire pit for in the evening was really enjoyable.

The staff were extremely helpful in things to do, places to eat, etc. They were more than happy to make any reservations we needed for us.

We can't say enough good things about the place or the staff. We enjoyed our first trip so much my husband booked a room for next year when he checked us out! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyandJeff2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Ocean House was designed for folks just like you that want to relax in a quiet, peaceful, beautiful atmosphere! The fact that our guests need to be at least 16 years of age helps to maintain the ambiance of our small boutique resort. Star gazing at the fire pit is a perfect way to end the day and we are delighted that you took advantage. We are looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We just returned from an amazing 6 night stay at this special resort. My husband and I recently celebrated our 30th anniversary, so we decided to splurge a little bit on our vacation in celebration of this milestone. Splurge we did -- this resort is on the pricey side, at over $500 per night -- but we were more than happy with what we found at this wonderful, relaxing little spot of heaven!

First, we were greeted at our car, and offered a cold beer (after our long drive, it was such a treat!) Check in occured as we relaxed on the veranda. That set the tone for a pampered stay. The grounds are simply gorgeous -- tropical foliage everywhere, beautifully landscaped. The pool area was scrumptious -- towels, iced lemon water, covered cabanas, magazines, games, whatever you could want.

The room was beautiful and tastefully, and the staff kept us stocked in freshly ground coffee, and complimentary snacks. Breakfast -- fruit, fresh pastries, and yogurt or boiled egg -- was brought to us every morning when we requested it. (complimentary).

The resort itself focuses on relaxation and peace and quiet. The little beach is so nice -- just a reminder for anyone not familiar with the Keys, there aren't any "real" beaches to speak of -- this one is man made but beautifully maintained.

The staff was wonderful, friendly, and helpful, without ever being obtrusive. Treat yourself to this wonderful spot -- you won't regret it!!

Room Tip: Upstairs suites have better views of the ocean, but I can't imagine any of the suites aren't wonderful.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emptynesters59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

All of us at Ocean House want to thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience at Ocean House with other travelers. Potential guests can look at pictures and read about our relaxing resort on our web site but hearing from others that have stayed with us really tells the true story! We are so very glad that you chose Ocean House for your 30th milestone anniversary, we love to pamper and spoil our guests with our complimentary amenities and attentive service! We are so glad that you enjoyed them all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed for week for an escape from the Chicago winter. The property was beautiful, the room was luxurious and the staff was both attentive and friendly. They greeted us at our car when we arrived and pampered us throughout our stay. Felt like our own private resort. The pool and beach were gorgeous.

Room Tip: There are only 8 suites total - can't go wrong with any of them.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Burr! Everyone has complained about the winter that just passed. The cold and snow just would not stop from what all our guests this year have told us. So surprising that our winter was warmer than normal. Usually the cold fronts continue down and nip us in the Keys as well. We are so glad that they did not and that you were able to escape to our unique boutique resort and soak up the warmth! We all hope next winter is not as severe, however, we hope to see you back for a little mid-winter pampering!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had an amazing weekend at Ocean House! From the moment we stepped foot onto the beautiful property to our unfortunate departure we were treated with impeccable service, breathtaking views and complete relaxation. The rooms, pool, and beach were all gorgeous! The pool area was always stocked with clean towels and refreshing water as well as magazines and board games. The property's well kept and blooming landscape paired with the perfect climate resembled a tropical utopia. The aloe outside our room was a clever touch as well, especially when we got a little too much sun! Our over all experience at the Ocean House was impeccable. We could not have picked a better place to stay and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: You can't pick a bad room!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_anderson94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Elated to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your getaway to our boutique resort! Ocean House is all about relaxation with plenty of foliage to easy the eye. Sorry to hear you got a little too much sun but very glad you were privy to the botanical properties of the useful Aloe plant! We look forward to your return! Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a wonderful week at Ocean House. It is a perfect boutique hotel, at a reasonable price, The garden and pool setting is lovely, and there are plenty of options for sitting out in the sun or shade so you often feel you are the only one's there. The staff are friendly, discrete and helpful. They arranged sunset cruise and snorkelling for us. We went kayaking and cycling from the resort and played tennis up the road at Founders park. There are plenty of good places to eat in Islamorada. A great place,

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are more spacious and private but downstairs you feel the garden is you own private oasis
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joda D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the Ocean House kayaks, bicycles and our private niches for relaxation. Islamorada does have a lot to offer the adventurous and you were able to fit in quite a few of the unique offerings of the Keys. We truly appreciate your feedback and your 5 stars! Thank You from all of us at Ocean House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews