We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh, My God…..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean House
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oh, My God…..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just stayed there five days last week. Loved the hotel grounds so much we didn't want to leave for anything. The staff actually went to two local restaurants and picked up carryout, brought it back to the hotel, plated it and delivered it on trays to our table on the beach!!!!!! While we were there a couple from New York got engaged by the pool. We met a concert pianist by the pool who had just played at Carnegie Hall and came down to relax. And talk about wild life, an amorous Iquana couple just had babies and we watched them walk thru the gardens in the morning. The only negative thing I could say is that the traffic down the Keys from Miami was, at times, frustrating. Also, fly into Ft. Lauderdale, not Miami International. It took an hour to get out of the airport with a rental car.

Love, Love, Love this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael_S1002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Our catering service is enjoyed by so many of our guests, very pleased that you took advantage! Once you arrive at Ocean House, you really don’t need to leave (and deal with traffic) as we will make sure you are not lacking anything you desire. Traffic here, especially due to the current dual construction for widening US 1 and installation of city sewer, can be a bit frustrating. One just needs to slow down, relax and enjoy the scenery while waiting for the draw bridge to close or a construction truck to clear the road and the back-ups in traffic to start moving. Once construction is complete, estimated in November, traffic will move smoother. Something we all are looking forward to!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    37
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
309
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We arrived at Ocean House after a 4 hour drive from Orlando and on arrival in the car park we were greeted and made to feel relaxed and at home straight away! After having a complimentary arrival drink, we were given a tour of the grounds, pool and beach before being shown to our room.

This was to be the final part of our honeymoon - having previously been doing lots of adventurous activities in 3 other destinations; so we had hoped that this would be the place we would be able to relax. How right we were!

Our room was spacious and very wheelchair accessible, with a great wheel-in shower/wet room. The view from the veranda was fabulous; luscious green, flora and fauna. The big fridge and microwave in the room meant we were able to buy some of our own bits and pieces and to warm up leftovers from the huge dinner we had at a local restaurant. Each day we were treated with some tasty snacks too - cheese flavoured popcorn is delicious!

The fact that Ocean House is so small, with only 8 rooms and adults-only, means that it is intimate and quiet; exactly what we wanted for our stay. Each morning we enjoyed our delicious continental style breakfast outside, by the pool. There may not be a restaurant onsite, but that just adds to the relaxed atmosphere and enables more choice; you can order from a menu of a range of items from a variety of nearby restaurants and the staff will order and collect it for you. To celebrate the last evening of our honeymoon, we had a very romantic dinner on the beach - this was set up for us by Pat (one of the staff) and the evening was so lovely and serene, as we looked out to sea over a delicious meal, we felt like we were the only people on Earth!

We loved the fact that Ocean House has offers activities for guests to use. We enjoyed playing an evening game of Scrabble by the pool with a bottle of wine, watching the sun set and the frogs and lizards go about their business. We took the double sea-kayak out one morning and had a very relaxed and enjoyable spin along the coastline. The pool, beach and surroundings are wonderful and perfect for relaxing in. The hot tub looks great, but when we were there, the weather was so hot that sadly it was impossible to use the hot tub for fear of poaching onself!

There are cute little lizards/gekkos of all shapes, colours and sizes who are permanent residents of Ocean House - we loved looking at them - just be careful not to let them sneak into your room!

The staff at Ocean House made every effort to ensure that we were well looked after and wanted for nothing, they really took care of everything and made our stay special.

We wanted to relax and enjoy the last few days of our honeymoon - Ocean House made that dream a reality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilandBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Once again, Congratulations on your marriage! Thank you for your detailed recap of your stay at Ocean House. We strive to create an intimate atmosphere of quiet and relaxation for our guests in a very tropical setting. I also enjoy watching the lizards, geckos, frogs and dragon flies. All are a sign of a healthy environment! We want all of our guests to utilize the amenities we offer and we thoroughly enjoy pampering each and every person. Our small size is part of what makes the individual attention to everyone possible as well as ensuring the feeling of being at your private oasis. Your romantic dinner on the beach topped off your stay – so glad you enjoyed your private dining room on the beach! We hope to see you back on an anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooper City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

What a magical place the service team at this hotel is awesome....was there for hubby bday thry did everything perfect....hubby wanted key lime they found the best...this will be our new place to get away for some fun in the sun;) thanks for taking care of us ;)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melly76x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
I am so glad that you found Ocean House and that we will be the get-away spot for you in the future! Our small boutique atmosphere is perfect for those that want to get away from the everyday hustle and bustle of everyday life, sink their toes into the white sugar sand on the beach, gaze at the ocean and let the rest of the world go by. Thank you for choosing Ocean House, we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I just got home from our second stay at Ocean House, and once again, had an amazing stay. We spent 8 nights there this time, and if we didn't have pets at home, we'd still be there!! Not only does the location, view, gardens, pool, and guest accommodations stand above all, the STAFF truly goes above and beyond to make your stay peaceful, quiet, and absolutely perfect. They're always available for whatever you need, yet unobtrusive enough to make you feel like you have the whole property to yourself.

Our original plan this trip was to stay for 2 nights, and then stay at a house in Marathon. Upon arrival at the rental house and seeing the poor filthy condition, we called Ocean House to see if we could come back and spend the next 6 nights, and they were more than happy to have us back. They didn't have the same suite available for all six nights, but staff moved our things and settled us in each time and it was seamless. We've stayed in 4 of the 8 suites and were happy with each one. We truly feel like we left a group of close friends behind.

For those that haven't been here, Ocean House is a small adults only, oceanfront boutique hotel. There are only 8 suites, 4 to a floor, that overlook a plethora of palm trees and unbelievable gardens and pool, leading to the sugar white sand and ocean. The gardens are a true labor of love, and I could stand and just look at them for days on end and never get sick of the view.

The pool area is stunning, surrounded by private cabanas, a large tiki hut with couches and chairs for relaxing and getting out of the sun, or to play a game of scrabble or chess, or read a magazine while sipping thoughtfully provided chilled water flavored with lemon and lime. Lounge on the travertine pool decking, or take a dip in the hot tub. My favorite spots were the lounges set up by the ocean, enjoying the wonderful morning ocean breezes and listening for splashes of fish in the water.

A light and healthy breakfast is brought to you if you so choose, and they will serve it to you where you wish - in your room, on your private deck, by the pool, by the ocean or at the front garden tables. Want to feel pampered? Call the front the desk for breakfast!

Cool drinks are also available, once again served where you wish. They also will order in food to be served from several trusted local restaurants.

The rooms are clean and fresh and modern. The beds are the MOST comfortable beds I've ever slept on. I believe they are a premium memory foam, topped with luxurious pillows and linens. The upstairs rooms have a bit more space, and several rooms offer modern but small kitchens (but all have refrigerators, microwaves and coffee pots)- just right for two!

If you're still reading - book your room now!! Counting the days until next visit in February!!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed both upstairs and downstairs rooms. For a longer stay, I would suggest Salt Water Taffy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JerseyJulie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear J & D: I do believe that we enjoyed your stay with us as much as you enjoyed your stay at Ocean House! You are a wonderful couple with superb attitudes. We are grateful for the opportunity to get to know you better! Thank you for sharing so much of what Ocean House is all about with other travelers that frequent the Trip Advisor website! We are really delighted to hear that you had good nights of sleep on our new mattresses. Much research went into finding the right mattress system and it appears that the right decisions were made. We look forward to your return in February, it will be like a family reunion for us here at Ocean House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I drove down from Fort Lauderdale for a weekend getaway for my birthday. It was just what the doctor ordered. From the moment we drove onto the property, we knew we were in for a treat. Check-in involves a tour of the property, where you realize quite quickly that it is landscaped beautifully and that you may not see another soul the entire weekend. We stayed in the Ocean Dawn suite and it was perfect. I still don't understand how they made it smell so wonderfully fresh. We brought some wine and snacks, and spent Friday night on the beach with our wine watching the heat lighting under the full moon. We saw one other couple the entire time we were there. The restaurant that they cater from is very good. We had dinner on our porch Friday night....there are also many great restaurants a mile or two away. We will be back--it was a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KPBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Glad to hear that you will be back and that you enjoyed your birthday dinner on property! We have chosen the local restaurants that we cater food from with great care and have not had anyone disappointed with their lunches or dinners! Our small size allows for the intimacy our guests are looking for. Even when we have a full house guests feel like they are the only ones on the property. Check your mail box in the next week or two for our Ocean House Club Card. This card is a special offering for our Floridian guests that visit Ocean House between May and October. Looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Ocean House for five nights in June. It was our first trip to the Keys and we were a little unsure of what to expect as we began to near our destination. The main road through Islamorada is not impressive...and like much of the Keys is gitchy, replete with quirky shops, vintage 50's motels little changed, fishing marinas and a few restaurants. Yes, we're those tourists, used to a little bit more homogenous surroundings in our destinations...but that is the allure of the Keys...you just NEVER know what is behind the next corner, gate or palm tree....Prepare to be surprised.

Turning into the Ocean House property, you immediately sense that you've entered into a different universe. Every square inch of the property is magically and masterfully designed to create intimacy, warmth, calm...in a word... ahhhhh. Palm and other tropical trees create shade in the small parking lot and divide the entry way to the receiving area where a couch and lounge chairs under a thatched roof cabana shade your entrance. Staff quickly and quietly greet you by name, because with a property of only 8 rooms, good chance, they know exactly who you are, checking in today. A glass of wine, a cold beer, an iced tea accompany you on a tour of this property which is designed to provide couples with perfect sized spaced to share whispers, laze in a hammock, slip in for a dip in the pool, dine by the water or sip a glass of wine by the waterside firepit. Each spot, feels like an unexpected discovery...and you're the recipient of its sweet secrets. Truly the grounds of this property are incredible and well thought out.

Many of the rooms at Ocean House have small kitchenettes, as ours did at Ocean Dawn. We appreciated having the option of fixing our own breakfast and lunch throughout our stay and dining out for dinners, All rooms at Ocean Dawn have private terraces that face out towards the water. The four upper rooms probably have a slightly better view but in truth...you'd be picking nits. The lower rooms have private terraces with lovely views of the water and are a bit more protected by foliage, creating a more intimate feel, You'd really have to work hard to pick a favorite.

Rooms at Ocean House come with a continental breakfast...which is far less descriptive that what it truly is....freshly ground Starbucks coffee grounds are provided to you daily, so you are free to make coffee in the morning at your convenience. A call to the front desk for your breakfast illicits a question of where on the property you'd like to be served? Perhaps under a private cabana by the pool, overlooking the water? In your suite to laze in bed? On your private patio on your lounges? Under the thatched hut poolside? It's your pick...Your tray is served with fresh orange juice, a bowl of fresh fruit and your choice of protein, either a hardboiled egg or a yogurt. A pastry or danish tops off the tray. It was far more than the coffee and danish we were expecting.

But that's how it is at Ocean House....more than you were expecting...in so many little ways.

The staff is very intuitive and seems to know when to ask if you'd like a beverage, beer, wine or soda....or just to be left alone...

Ocean House is very good at providing service without being intrusive, and thinking of what you might need, before you ask for it...Beach towels handy poolside, as basket of sunscreens or bug spray, magazines and newspapers to peruse...kayaks and beach bikes for adventures... and lots of local knowledge to hook you up with anything you might want to do off property.

Some things to know....It's a very small property, and this is one of it's strengths but can be a bit too quiet perhaps for some. There's no restaurant on site, but they do offer a full menu of items that they will gladly bring in from nearby establishments that they have trust in. A quiet romantic dinner for two by the water is a special treat. There's no bar, but they do have a limited supply of beers, wines and non-alcoholic beverages to order off their menu and are very attentive at providing them to you. Then again, you can stock up on your beverages of choice and store them in your refrigerator in your suite and fix them to your liking.

Some things you should know if you're new to the Florida Keys. Like most properties, there is truly no 'natural' sandy beach at Ocean House, but you feel as if you are on one. (As on most properties, white sand is imported and maintained to provide the ambiance and view so many desire.) They have done a masterful job of creating a tropical appeal, despite the geographical realities of the Keys. The water is there, but you have to be pretty determined to want to 'swim' in it. It's best to look at, kayak in, boat on, or daydream about. Coral and other less appealing qualities, make its shoreline one of its less appealing attributes.

Ocean House's size makes it ideal for honeymoons, romantic getaways or quiet solitude. It's size establishes that, especially at less crowded times of the year, it may be you and another couple in sight at any given time...and it lends itself well to that. Those couples looking for more interaction or friendly conversation may find it a bit quiet here.

There are a few nice restaurants nearby and were worthy of an evening out. Islamorada is not however a big shopping or dining area. It is for the most part, still quiet, gitchy, eclectic and refuses to be pigeon-holed by any one identity that tourists love to ascribe...and there special places just waiting to be discovered...off the beaten path...in a place you're not expecting...and that will leave you dreaming of coming back...We hope you find Ocean House along the way...it is worth your time...

Room Tip: There really are no bad views. The property is very intimate and all rooms have nearly identical vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cyndi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We are really glad that you found our upscale boutique resort and truly appreciate how you have so willingly shared your first trip to the Keys and to Ocean House with other travelers! Your appreciation for what has been created here really warms our hearts. Since its’ conception Ocean House had been intended for those that want an intimate, serene and relaxing place to spend time away from home and work. Do more than dream about coming back, come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte Sereno, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

My family and I stayed at the Ocean House for a too brief one night stay on our recent visit to the keys. We loved everything about our visit. The rooms are delightful, the pool is wonderful and we took advantage of the kayaks available to all guests. It was a fun and very pleasant stay. We would definitely visit again the next time we are in the area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SJWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
You are absolutely right, one night at Ocean House is not nearly enough to thoroughly experience the ambiance of our unique resort! From what our past guests relay to me, five to seven nights at Ocean House allows for total and complete relaxation and revitalization. We look forward to your return and thank you for sharing your stay with us with other travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.9 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
1.4 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,137 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Moorings Village and Spa
The Moorings Village and Spa
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House

Property: Ocean House
Address: 82885 Old Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3658 (Formerly Ocean Dawn Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate, upscale, and adult only hotel and resort houses eight luxurious suites. The right choice for those wanting to getaway and just relax. A perfect location for small weddings and groups. Newly renovated with a pool, beach, spa, cabanas and fire pit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ocean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean House Hotel Islamorada
Ocean House Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing