We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never a bad meal”
Review of Green Turtle Inn

Green Turtle Inn
Ranked #9 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Islamorada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Great for brunch on Sunday. Have to try the shrimp & grits and the lobster omelette! Delicious! Great hash brown casserole too. Outstanding coffee and service!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    821
    382
    148
    54
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect mealsss”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stopped in for breakfast then again for dinner. Very nice place, great service. Definitely a stop in again place while traveling south.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank brananward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“just okay”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were a little disappointed with this restaurant. It has been in business for a very long time and it's a little on the pricey side, so we were expecting the food to be excellent; however, we felt the food was just okay and thus overpriced. I found the menu descriptions confusing. I will say they are not stingy on their liquor because we ordered the drink special and it had so much hard liquor in the drink that neither my husband or myself could even drink it and left most of our drink when we left. (The drink special was not cheap either)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Reviewing Dessert only”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The main menu was VERY pricey, so we opted for dessert and coffee. Two standard coffees and a small slice of average key lime pie was about $15.00. Enough said.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LBRosenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but pretentious food”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have dined here before and the food is good. We usually are up for trying new things. This time we brought a guest that wasn't into complicated dishes nor seafood. The only chicken dish on the menu was paired with side dishes that we were not familiar with. We asked the wait person and they said the chef had just added it to the menu and they really didn't know what it was either. They tried to explain it and it sounded okay, but was in truth really quite awful and our guest had to reorder a side dish. It was embarrassing as this was supposed to be a very special evening. Maybe they should have at least a few menu options for diners that would actually like to recognize what they are eating.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Turtle Inn also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Green Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing