We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the privilege of peace and privacy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Moorings Village
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the privilege of peace and privacy”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A few years ago, we discovered this place by accident while vacationing in the keys. When we needed family accommodations early this summer, this was our first call. This is not a place for the budget conscious. This large, ocean-side property is a collection of fully furnished houses and cottages meant for groups or families. Reserve as far in advance as you can, as it can be fully booked a year in advance.
We found every part of our stay superb--and we are very particular. Our cottage was not on the water (they were booked) but the water was steps away. We had a full kitchen, casual but elegantly furnished living/dining area, lav downstairs and 2 BR upstairs and large bath upstairs. It was just like home, if you have a large staff, that is.
The concierge will make a range of spa services available to you, even including a private massage on the beach. Household services are a la carte (maid service, for example, is extra but a very small extra; borrow a fishing pole for nothing). Pool is quite large (watch for raccoons). Most visitors to Islamorada go for its world-class bone fishing, tarpon fishing and deep sea fishing -- but if you seek a very quiet, very private, beachy-elegant stay off the beaten path, and are fortunate enough not to have to focus on cost, try to book a stay here. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: This is a not a hotel, it is a collection of cottages. Book as far in advance as you can. If you dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flicker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed the peace and privacy found at The Moorings. We now offer complimentary daily housekeeping. This service is by request only to ensure ultimate privacy for our guests who wish to not be disturbed. You simply establish a time for housekeeping with a member of the office staff. We look forward to having you back at The Moorings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    26
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
83
159
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at The Moorings from the 16th Sept till 20th, we had only planned on staying till the 19th but was so calm and relaxing stayed an additional night. Beautiful grounds, pool 4ft-6ft deep very nice we had to ourselves, oceans in Keys are more natural so you have to go out a little to enjoy but this is expected in the Keys however I seen several Sting Rays and many fish from the boards and kayaks which are free to guests. Reviews are built on results versus expectations and i read alot of reviews and my expectation was for a quiet, relaxing vacation where we would have ocean frontage with a beautiful location and professional employees and I can say the employees here are what make this place wonderful, they really work to make everything perfect and are engagiing and concerned about your desires. As long as they continue to value their employees and guests they will continue to be a desired vacation destination. Just wanted to also mention my thanks to James and Kelly, you two are fantastic, thanks for your attention and wonderful service.

Room Tip: Farside is great room, one king bed and two twins in second bedroom with full kitchen and great amou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artvan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed The Moorings and the Farside Cottage. Kelly and James are the best and committed to making your stay with us memorable. We really appreciate all of your kind words! Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Spent 5 days at the moorings in mid September. It was off season so there wasn't a soul around. Their beautiful big(biggest one on islamorada) beach has shady palms, hammocks and chairs that won't let you leave! The big pool is a perfect alternative when you get too hot at the beach. We stayed in lodge north, our parents in lodge south, which are two separate areas but share a porch. Perfect for couples traveling together but that would also like privacy. The grounds are lush and perfectly maintained and the staff attentive to every need should you ask. We were given bikes and even a charcoal grill upon request. Each side of our shared cottage had a very usable kitchen, full size fridge and freezer, awesome beds, living room area with tv. Lodge north had bigger living area and kitchen and lodge south bigger bedroom and king size bed. Although both were perfect! I would highly recommend moorings to anyone coming down to the keys!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NalaIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed Lodge South and Lodge North at The Moorings! As you mentioned, the lodges are a nice option for 2 couples to have privacy but be in close proximity to one another. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My boyfriend and I chose this very special place for my 40th birthday getaway...I'm so glad we did! We had booked a regular room but upon arrival we were upgraded to a one bedroom cottage on the beach (Maroni) due to a last minute cancellation. Natasha knew it was my 40th and wanted it to be special. She even left a bottle of wine, flower and note in the fridge for me! She also helped my boyfriend with all his surprises for me, and there were a few. The joke was if he had requested a purple tiger in the house at midnight, Natasha would get it there! The house, view, massage on the beach, paddleboards, hammocks, service and serenity were all amazing. I'm not a fan of big resorts with huge crowds. The Moorings is exactly the opposite and that's what I loved about it. Beautiful, quiet property. Can't wait to return...hopefully before my 50th!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimiv73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
You are so kind! We really appreciate your review on TripAdvisor. Everyone at The Moorings aims to provide first-class service to all of our guests. We are so glad you had a wonderful birthday weekend and enjoyed the beauty and relaxation found at The Moorings. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Moorings Village and Spa is amazing! My girlfriend viewed the Moorings on the travel channel a few years ago and always wanted to go....So we figured what better time then her birthday. This was one of the most romantic and relaxing vacations ever. We stayed at the Meroni cottage and it was more then we could have dreamed. The staff is amazing......Natasha was instrumental in making my girlfriends birthday a huge success. I had a lot of request and she handled them like a real pro. I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for the review! We enjoyed having you and your girlfriend here at The Moorings for her birthday celebration. It was my pleasure assisting you in making her day special! I am so glad you both had a romantic and relaxing time together. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Honeymoon cottage 8/29 to 9/3. Cottage had ocean view and close to pier and little covered sting area I used to get out of the sun. We used kayaks, pad leeboards and bikes. It was if we had the entire place to ourselves. Coffee machine and nespresso machine. No on site food or drinks, which I think is a good thing. Even my wife who likes more a action took advantage of the spa and yoga. We did stay in Farside our last night because of a mistake I made on our flights. The staff made it easy to move out and into new cottage. All in all I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Islamorada.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisbE5799RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are thrilled you had a wonderful time here! Your positive remarks are really appreciated. We enjoyed meeting you and your wife and look forward to seeing you again here very soon. Thanks again for the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Moorings Village is like your very own beach front residence. No busy commercial resort type attraction/distractions. Just sand, and shady palm tress on the beach. And the best part is because it has relatively few accommodations, you rarely see anyone else there. I spent an entire weekend there and saw exactly 5 people on the beach; and 3 of those were from a distance. I also visited the spa for a massage which was fantastic. I stayed in one of the small cottages and it was perfect. The Moorings is a short walk away from plenty of excellent food options so you don't even have to drive anywhere during your stay. I absolutely LOVE this place. I only wish it were more affordable. It's priced for the wealthy which has it's pros for maintaining the charm and keeping it small, but it means I can only visit on special occasions.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for the review on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled you enjoyed your weekend at The Moorings! We were fully booked this weekend, and you're right, it is nice to still feel like you have the beach to yourself! Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
1.6 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.7 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
2.9 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Village

Property: The Moorings Village
Address: 123 Beach Rd, Islamorada, FL 33036-3768
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Moorings Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a coconut plantation, The Moorings Village offers one, two and three bedroom villas, cottages and plantation houses with wraparound verandas, colorful Bahamian-style shutters and cypress interiors, each uniquely decorated. Hidden in delightful seclusion under coconut palms are the resort’s magnificent natural white sand beach, heated pool, tennis court and Island Body and Sol Spa, which offers beachfront massage treatments. The Moorings Village offers guests absolute privacy and tranquility with all the comforts of home, including well-equipped kitchens and laundry in most houses, individual dining rooms and living room areas, air conditioning and ceiling fans. Luxury amenities include large screen televisions, elegant hand-painted tiles, oversized soaking tubs and shower stalls, as well as plantation-style porches overlooking the ocean or views of the lushly landscaped grounds. Guests may enjoy dining at the resort's two Zagat-rated restaurants, Pierre's Restaurant and Morada Bay Beach Cafe, located just across the road. The restaurants share a private beach and are the site of the monthly Full Moon Party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Moorings Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Village Hotel Islamorada
Moorings Islamorada
The Moorings Village Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing