We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Moorings Village
Nearby Hotels
Amara Cay Resort(Islamorada)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Morada(Islamorada)
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$415
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$370
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cheeca Lodge & Spa(Islamorada)
US$356
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sands of Islamorada Hotel(Islamorada)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drop Anchor Resort(Islamorada)(Great Value!)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean House(Islamorada)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
275
27
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
27
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagespalm treesthe parkerbig ebeach cafemango cottageplantation housemorada bayprivate beachfull kitchenour honeymoonpaddle boardsfull moon partylarge poolspa servicesbedroom cottagenurse sharks
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I've waited awhile to write this review. We ended up really loving the Moorings, but initially we had to adjust to how quiet it was...so this review is about knowing what you are getting. This is a serene resort made up of various cottages with a private beach and dock. It's a wonderful place to relax and recharge.

The staff is professional and made us feel totally at home. I absolutely loved the decor of the South Lodge and the peaceful porch under the gorgeous trees. The staff stocked our frig with requested items and delivered two bikes to the lodge before our arrival. Biking around the gorgeous property was a highlight.

Pro/Con - depending on your needs. This is a quiet resort. For example, there is no bar or restaurant on the premises. During the day, there is no music on the beach. But you can go to Pierre's and the Beach Cafe (located on the other side of Highway 1) for a restaurant, bar and music. And if you're staying at the resort, you will be given preferential reservations and most likely a front row table on the sand for a sunset.

Pros: The beach and palm trees are gorgeous. Over the holidays they decorate one leaning palm with lights and it cast a beautiful glow in the evening - great for a safe, romantic stroll on the beach. The hammock at the end of the pier is unique and wonderfully relaxing.

Cons: The water isn't clear - lots of seaweed and rocks, so we never got in the water. We did use the kayaks though, but again, the water isn't the draw here. Much prettier just hanging out on the beach under the palm trees.

Highlights of our stay were the friendly staff, biking around, hanging out on the porch, taking photos of the property, and dinner at The Beach Cafe on the sand. I'd recommend Moorings Village if you're looking for a serene retreat.

Thanks so much for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: We were concerned that the South Lodge being connected to the North Lodge would compromise our privacy. This was not an issue - our lodge felt very private.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank riverrat2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you so much for the review on TripAdvisor! We are pleased you enjoyed your time at The Moorings last December. This is a perfect place to come relax and unwind and we are glad you were able to do just that!
Thank you also for posting the pictures. The picture you posted of the decorated palm tree is getting us anxious for the holidays! Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our five day stay at the Moorings was a fairytale! We celebrated our first anniversary and my 50th birthday in the Honeymoon Cottage and it was perfect. If you are seeking a romantic, private, peaceful, tropical environment with an ocean view...then this is your resort. If you want to spend your day slowly swinging in a hammock, relaxing in one of the chairs on the white sandy beach (glass of wine in hand of course), or enjoying an activity (paddle boards, kayaks, swimming in the beautiful pool) then this is your resort. If you want bikes or a grill waiting for you upon arrival, complimentary housekeeping, a gym and a friendly staff...then book your vacation. Your only worry will be falling coconuts, since it's built on a coconut plantation.

Room Tip: The ocean front cottages were my favorite.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank KimberlyS422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Moorings. We are thrilled you had such a nice stay with us. The Honeymoon Cottage is a favorite for couples who want a nice spacious one bedroom cottage with views of the ocean from the porch. We are glad you enjoyed the cottage and the property!

Thank you for choosing The Moorings to celebrate these special moments in your life. We hope to see you for your 2nd anniversary..if not, sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We celebrated twenty years together and couldn't have picked a better place. We were fortunate to catch two beautiful sunrises while sitting on a paddleboard in the calm waters a couple of hundred yards off the beach. The kayaks and paddleboards are always available and in fine condition. If you are looking for a peaceful beach to soak up the sun look no farther. There are several great restaurants within walking distance and a visit to Bahia-Honda State park is only a short drive. If you are looking to party, go elsewhere. If you are looking for serenity, you've just found it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilbfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Moorings! We are so happy you were pleased with your stay with us. Farside is a great little cottage to wake up and see the sunrise over the ocean from your front porch. We are glad you enjoyed the paddleboards and kayaks provided. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed in the Honeymoon cottage this past week and have never felt so relaxed. We felt like we were the only ones on the resort and this is attributable to there being so much space to roam. From the many hammocks to the pool, the beach, etc..., we had an incredible amount of privacy even though there were other couples on-site. The cottage was beautiful with a full kitchen and high-end appliances. We will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbvign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

We really appreciate your review of The Moorings! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time in the Honeymoon Cottage. We look forward to having you as guests again the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A few years ago, we discovered this place by accident while vacationing in the keys. When we needed family accommodations early this summer, this was our first call. This is not a place for the budget conscious. This large, ocean-side property is a collection of fully furnished houses and cottages meant for groups or families. Reserve as far in advance as you can, as it can be fully booked a year in advance.
We found every part of our stay superb--and we are very particular. Our cottage was not on the water (they were booked) but the water was steps away. We had a full kitchen, casual but elegantly furnished living/dining area, lav downstairs and 2 BR upstairs and large bath upstairs. It was just like home, if you have a large staff, that is.
The concierge will make a range of spa services available to you, even including a private massage on the beach. Household services are a la carte (maid service, for example, is extra but a very small extra; borrow a fishing pole for nothing). Pool is quite large (watch for raccoons). Most visitors to Islamorada go for its world-class bone fishing, tarpon fishing and deep sea fishing -- but if you seek a very quiet, very private, beachy-elegant stay off the beaten path, and are fortunate enough not to have to focus on cost, try to book a stay here. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: This is a not a hotel, it is a collection of cottages. Book as far in advance as you can. If you drive right in, you will be disappointed. Not pet-friendly. Extremely professional and discreet staff, always willing to help in any way they can. Go! But don't take MY cottage!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flicker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed the peace and privacy found at The Moorings. We now offer complimentary daily housekeeping. This service is by request only to ensure ultimate privacy for our guests who wish to not be disturbed. You simply establish a time for housekeeping with a member of the office staff. We look forward to having you back at The Moorings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews