We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Moorings Village
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

You can make what you want from a trip to the Moorings. We rented the Lodge North for 2 nights and to be honest, I would have liked longer. The resort is so peaceful, we hardly saw another soul. Everything is very nicely taken care of and the level of service is upto you. We barely saw the staff but we wanted it that way. You can have your accommodation serviced as you wish, but it's on request.
The pool is absolutely one of the best I have ever seen - I spent most of every day there. The beach is also idyllic although it was quite windy most of the time we were there, which can get a bit much after a few hours.
Pierre's restaurant is a short walk away and is owned by the hotel - that is highly recommended too. Just make sure you are there to see sunset...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Moorings! We are glad you experienced the beautiful sunset from Pierre's Restaurant. One thing unique to The Moorings is being able to wake up and watch the sunrise and go across the street to our restaurants and watch the sunset. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

This resort is absolutely wonderful with separate properties hidden within the trees. It is very secluded and ideal for a romantic break. The beach is beautiful and totally unspoilt. It was rare to see anyone else around. There is a lovely swimming pool and a great range of bars and restaurant across the road. A beautiful venue to unwind and completely relax.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ardy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Moorings. We are pleased you enjoyed our resort! The beautiful surroundings and quiet found here truly make it an unforgettable romantic vacation. Come relax with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have traveled the Keys for years and have come to realize that the Moorings stands alone in accommodation, service and location. The staff are all top shelf and the front desk with Natasha and Kelly could not have made us feel more at home and relaxed if they had poured us our evening beverages themselves. The beach staff was exceptionally personable and helpful at every opportunity to be of assistance. We have stayed at every mid to upper level resort in the Keys and there is no second best. Looking forward to going back soon, very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you very much for the kind words! It is our pleasure to help all of our guests here at The Moorings. We are so happy you enjoyed the property. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

For the second time we stayed in the Morrings Village. Again we enjoyed our little escape from the busy world very much. We lived in the Farside cottage directly on the beach. Beautiful floridian styling and furniture, very comfortabel. Staying at the moorings with its wonderful beach, its marvellous garden, and its café with tables and chairs in the sand means living in paradise for some days. We are looking forward to coming back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mangiarbene2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for the nice review on TripAdvisor! We are lucky to have you as our guests. We are so glad you enjoyed the property and the oceanfront view from the Farside cottage. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Moorings Village will appeal to couples and families looking for a non-commercial, peaceful, romantic retreat far from crowds, high-rise hotels and tequila-toting mariachi bands. My wife and I spent four blissful nights in mid-April in one of the smaller cottages, Orchid, savoring the illusion that we owned a home within sight of a beautiful beach and with only the rustle of palm trees (and daily visits from a gentle grey cat) to remind us that there was a world out there. At $1,100 dollar a night we expected luxury and found it in the cottage’s fine design and comfortable bedding, discrete staff available on request, and the location, which is a stone’s throw from a deserted, breathtaking beach in an area where you don’t often find one. The Key’s ocean side resembles bay water and is typically shallow, muddy and rocky. Here, you get soft sand, raked of seaweed and dotted with beautiful palms, and an ocean that’s swimmable if a bit cloudy and weedy. The website gives an accurate impression of grounds and facilities; and yes, the dockside hammock and kayaks are great. The pool is large, beautifully shaded with palms, and well-maintained. And while staff is mostly invisible, they are apparently available on request; we saw a personal trainer give an outdoor session to a couple of young kids using a rope ladder and hopscotch chalk! As for meals, you can request room service if you really want it. But we preferred to prepare our own breakfast and lunch and stopped on the way down at a Wynn Dixie about twenty miles north on US 1 at mile marker 81. There’s a fresh fish market within a fifteen-minute walk of Moorings. We cooked our own dinner one night, the charcoal grill supplied by management at our request in advance. Affiliated restaurants are reached after a ten-minute stroll through this quiet, residential neighborhood. We now understand the arrangement; it would have been overkill to have a kitchen on-site and it would have spoiled the low-key tone. We preferred dining at Morada Bay, where you can eat on the sand, to the more formal Pierre’s, but you can watch the sun set (bayside) from either one, a blissful evening. Key West is about two hours away since the speed limit is 45 in many stretches of US 1 and local people drive slowly. About Key West: if you’re unfamiliar with it, you can find street parking near Old Town or in a huge public lot near Mallory Square and thereby save $30 vs. private lots. And the Cat Man circus at the Westin appeals to children of all ages! In choosing a cottage here, we found distinctions based on proximity to the beach to be less important than number of bedrooms. For example Honeymoon Cottage is literally ten seconds on foot closer to the sand than Orchid and is a little bigger and has a king bed if you want it, but we preferred the latter’s seclusion and beautiful plantings, namely, orchids (see pics). In short, this is sophistication of a more peaceful kind than club-level Ritz, where staff is discrete and you can really unwind around breathtaking beauty.

Room Tip: Cottages overlooking the pool are a bit less private and farther from the beach, but they are all wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NiceNYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of The Moorings! We appreciate you coming to stay here and are so pleased you enjoyed the Orchid Cottage. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Moorings is peaceful with no crowd. There is no such thing as fighting for optimal space on the beach, lounge chairs, hammocks, paddle boards, or kayaks. There is plenty to go around! Children are permitted to stay on the property so if you are looking for a completely child-free atmosphere, it's not guaranteed. During our stay it was extremely romantic, beautiful and the weather and calm waves couldn't be more perfect. Thank you Natasha and Moorings staff for a wonderful beach experience!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon cottage has a perfect layout and a wrap around porch to snooze on if you've had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chopra1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you were able to relax while here at The Moorings. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Nothing but praises, the place is magic, the staff is incredible and you genuinely feel as if you are part of a wonderful family...

I wish there were more stars to give out.

The added room service with a astonishing delicious selection makes the Moorings go from best to "more best"

Stayed: April 2014
Thank lepilote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you so much for the kind review. We are glad you enjoyed our new room service options! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
1.6 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
0.5 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
2.9 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Village

Address: 123 Beach Rd, Islamorada, FL 33036-3768
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: £462 - £1,260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Moorings Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a coconut plantation, The Moorings Village offers one, two and three bedroom villas, cottages and plantation houses with wraparound verandas, colorful Bahamian-style shutters and cypress interiors, each uniquely decorated. Hidden in delightful seclusion under coconut palms are the resort’s magnificent natural white sand beach, heated pool, tennis court and Island Body and Sol Spa, which offers beachfront massage treatments. The Moorings Village offers guests absolute privacy and tranquility with all the comforts of home, including well-equipped kitchens and laundry in most houses, individual dining rooms and living room areas, air conditioning and ceiling fans. Luxury amenities include large screen televisions, elegant hand-painted tiles, oversized soaking tubs and shower stalls, as well as plantation-style porches overlooking the ocean or views of the lushly landscaped grounds. Guests may enjoy dining at the resort's two Zagat-rated restaurants, Pierre's Restaurant and Morada Bay Beach Cafe, located just across the road. The restaurants share a private beach and are the site of the monthly Full Moon Party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Moorings Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Village Hotel Islamorada
Moorings Islamorada
The Moorings Village Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing