We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Romantic Times In My Life!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Moorings Village
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2011

This is Beyond Hotel is Beyond Words. Like Being in Tahiti, but with all the Conveniences and Advantages of the Mainland. Romantic, Quiet, Extremely Clean, Very sexy Cottages, Excellent Service and Definitely Worth the Money. Plus the Full Moon Party at Morada Bar.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevorja008483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2011

Like being on a South Seas Island, and very Private. Great place to Honeymoon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevrja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

The Moorings is such a wonderful place to go to enjoy peace and quiet and the beauty of your surroundings. That doesn't mean you can't find things to do..... just ask Thomas or the staff and they will gladly tell you what is nearby that might be of interest to you and your family. You can be as busy as you want, or just enjoy the Moorings Village & Spa. You should not be disappointed with your choice.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lelee011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We (parents+20 and 22 year old children) stayed at the Moorings for about 10 days in July and had the best time. I will split up my review in different segments to address all different qualities of the moorings village.

The property
The Moorings village is located on an 18 acre piece of former palm tree plantation so it is loaded with beautiful palm trees. Everywhere on the property the scenery is just amazing and could not be more picture worthy. There are nice paths which guide you to all the different houses and through the exotic garden. There is a large beautiful, crystal clear and clean, lap pool (4 to 6 ft deep) located in the middle of the garden. There also is a tennis court (hard court), which is left unused mostly because of the heat and humidity in July (Bugs and mosquitoes weren't a problem during our stay). The whole property is immaculately kept, and the staff is unintrusive which we really appreciated. You hardly notice they are there. The whole point of this place is to relax and not to be disturbed by annoying pool waiters or drunk tiki hut hangers. People who come here understand this. This gives the Moorings a very pleasant atmosphere. Most of the time you will not even see the other guests which gives the feeling of having your own private island. Then there is the beach. This is a beach you normally see on posters, postcards and in luxury travel magazines, it is like paradise: clean white sand (frequently raked), crystal clear water, beautiful palm trees, hammocks a gogo. Beautiful. It isn't a real swimming beach, because the water is shallow and there are some weeds, but you sure can wade in it. Also there are kayaks provided (no cost) which is nice to do too. The best thing to do here is to just throw yourself in a hammock (or one of the nice wooden beach chairs) and just stare at the beautiful palm trees above you.

The house
We had one of the two story houses at the beginning of the property overlooking the garden and pool. The exterior of the house was well kept, the porch is beautiful to sit on and read. The house was super comfortable and loaded with all the amenities you could need: huge fridge with ice machine, stove oven, microwave, blender, coffee machine, toaster (albeit half broken), dishwasher, washer, dryer, internet (wifi), tv/dvd, radio/cd player etc. The works. The house was very clean, and had plenty of beach towels which came in very handy. Housekeeping is not included, but can be requested at minimal cost, which we did once. At the Moorings everything is thought of, they even have an entire dvd collection at the office which you can use, very thoughtful.

The location
Everything we needed was close by. There is a 24h supermarket and a liquor store at walking distance as well as many restaurants such as a good sushi place (Kaiyo) and Morada bay (same owner as the moorings). There is a large supermarket 15 min away. Islamorada and all of the keys exceeded our expectations. There is a lot to do on the Keys: fishing (although costly, private charter is very much recommended), jet ski rental (the wildlife tours are a lot of fun), kayaking, snorkeling, diving etc. Bahia Honda state park is approx an one hour drive and also is beautiful for swimming and snorkeling. The Everglades are approx an hour drive and very much worth a visit, beautiful wildlife. Miami is just 1.5 hours away.

Overall we found the Moorings a great place to stay, and hope to return there soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CoenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed for a week over Christmas at The Moorings in two houses with 7 adults and 3 children. The drive down from Miami was easy. We had two houses rented. The older one on the beach was charming and a new one further back spacious and comfortable. I would recommend planning ahead and getting groceries on the way down. Not much in Islamorada. Restaurants however were plentiful and good. There was no daily maid service and I had trouble keeping the sand swept up with the one beat up broom available. But maybe that was a good thing. Laundry in our house was handy. Kitchen supplies more than adequate.

The setting was just what we wanted. For activities we took advantage of the Cheeca Lodge next door for and went on two of their boat trips. We did lots of outings on our own too. There were lots of photo shoots on the beach which was cool. The kyaks were fun to use. It was much cooler than we expected and so we didn't take as much advantage of the pool or beach as we thought we would.

All and all a very lovely place. Nice/helpful staff in the reception area. Met all our expectations. (and I had a lot for this big family gathering)

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpletreegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I'm always looking for relaxing, quiet, convenient, romantic and again relaxing place. The Mooring Village is the only place i found in the USA that has all of the above. Houses are so cozy, you have everything you need from a huge bathroom to a full kitchen, comfortable over-sized bed and you are right on the ocean.

Food - best is to cook yourself. 5 min walking distance there is a 24 hour store, you can get everything you need there, from fresh vegetables to meats and sea food. Right next to it there is a wine store, they have a huge selection of wine, beer and hard liquor.

If you don't want to cook, there is French, Italian, Brazilian restaurants and a great sushi place, all walking distance. I've been to all 4, very good staff and excellent food.

Stuff to do - Relaaaax. ... But If you really want to do something, rent a boat next door and go island hoping by yourself or with a captain. Get a canoe that's right on the beach and there are a few places away from the beach ( 1 foot of water ) where you can get out of the canoe and walk on the ocean ( so to speak ) , cool feeling and super romantic. There is a historic island a few min away, most of the time there are no people on it, so you can have the whole island to yourself. Get some food and a bottle of champagne and spend an evening there. Just a few ideas.

Aside from all the above, the best thing about this place is the staff, once you get to your house, no one bothers you, they are super respectful of your time there and want you to have complete serenity. But if you need to ask something or get some ideas, feel free to call them, anytime, i get someone to pick up my call from the first ring. Best place ever!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VLADcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

The Moorings is right next to the other only high quality resort in the Keys, except for say Key West's few 5 Star Offerings. I have stayed in the Islamorada for over 30 years, from Washington, D.C. (Georgetown). The Moorings is perfectly beautiful, quiet and expensive. The cottages are second to none though, and the old cococnut plantation with the hammacks is to die for at night with the trade winds blowing you to sleep. Not much to do so don't expect Disney World here. That's why people like it though. Cheeca is better for children - pool's nicer, lots of hot tubs etc. Both are the best in the Keys. If you want a budget holiday try the Islander, built right after WWII, the manager used to walk you around the campus back in 1964 when I first arrived at 10 years old. Scube diving back then was Carl Gages in Key Largo - back when CO2 life vests were used!
No fancy regulators with alligator connections. Lots of Sea Urchins which have strangely dissapeared?

You want 4 Star go to the new Cloister at Sea Island, Georgia - huge private resort built by Henry Ford's counsin in the 1930s. Rebuilt 2001.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank ClassOne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
1.6 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,389 reviews
3.2 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
1.5 mi away
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
#16 of 19 in Islamorada
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
986 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
400 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Village

Address: 123 Beach Rd, Islamorada, FL 33036-3768
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: £750 - £1,217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Moorings Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a coconut plantation, The Moorings Village offers one, two and three bedroom villas, cottages and plantation houses with wraparound verandas, colorful Bahamian-style shutters and cypress interiors, each uniquely decorated. Hidden in delightful seclusion under coconut palms are the resort’s magnificent natural white sand beach, heated pool, tennis court and Island Body and Sol Spa, which offers beachfront massage treatments. The Moorings Village offers guests absolute privacy and tranquility with all the comforts of home, including well-equipped kitchens and laundry in most houses, individual dining rooms and living room areas, air conditioning and ceiling fans. Luxury amenities include large screen televisions, elegant hand-painted tiles, oversized soaking tubs and shower stalls, as well as plantation-style porches overlooking the ocean or views of the lushly landscaped grounds. Guests may enjoy dining at the resort's two Zagat-rated restaurants, Pierre's Restaurant and Morada Bay Beach Cafe, located just across the road. The restaurants share a private beach and are the site of the monthly Full Moon Party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Moorings Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Village Hotel Islamorada
Moorings Islamorada
The Moorings Village Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing